PDA

View Full Version : FSX SP1 is Live!


sillyeagle
05-15-07, 10:54 PM
FSX Service Pack 1 is now Live for downlaoding!

Check the fsinsider website at http://www.fsinsider.com

This update gives an estimated performance boost of 20-40%, and adds FULL support for muticore, the more cores the better. Personally I am seeing as much as a 75%-95% increase on minimum frate rates.

Enjoy.

nekrosoft13
05-15-07, 11:37 PM
sounds good, maybe i will get the game sooner or later, but first need a stick

sillyeagle
05-16-07, 12:34 AM
Please see the Official FSX thread for lots of additional information from the developers.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=78216&page=20

Single Player
05-16-07, 01:22 AM
woohoo!!! yeah baby!!(nana2)

Bearclaw
05-16-07, 01:32 AM
Sounds good. When I upgrade to a q6600 when the prices drop I would hope my performance would be vastly increased.

OWA
05-16-07, 01:01 PM
Nice, thanks for the link and info.

Namrok
05-16-07, 01:38 PM
Man, even Microsoft's games are unusable until they've gotten a service pack or two?

What is the world coming to :(

Dragunov
05-16-07, 03:13 PM
So, with this version comes the final version of DX10?

agentkay
05-16-07, 03:18 PM
So, with this version comes the final version of DX10?

No with this version done they are fully focusing on the DX10 version.

einstein_314
05-16-07, 04:27 PM
FSX Service Pack 1 is now Live for downlaoding!

Check the fsinsider website at http://www.fsinsider.com

This update gives an estimated performance boost of 20-40%, and adds FULL support for muticore, the more cores the better. Personally I am seeing as much as a 75%-95% increase on minimum frate rates.

Enjoy.

75-95%?!? That's awesome!! This will be awesome with my Q6600!!! :D

sillyeagle
05-16-07, 04:28 PM
So, with this version comes the final version of DX10?

DX10 will come out this fall some time, righ before the expansion pack. The expansion will focus on Air Racing, and will include a 4,000hp P-51 Mustang and a Reno Air Races course.

The DX10 update will add enhanced visuals and increased efficiency.

SH0DAN
05-17-07, 02:39 AM
DX10 will come out this fall some time, righ before the expansion pack. The expansion will focus on Air Racing, and will include a 4,000hp P-51 Mustang and a Reno Air Races course.

The DX10 update will add enhanced visuals and increased efficiency.



Sounds great,I will have to tell my dad about it,as he likes flight sims,and wants to get back into them (he has not played any in at least 3 years)
Thanks for the heads up ! :)

MaXThReAT
05-17-07, 02:48 AM
I'm pretty impressed with the dual core performance jump with this patch so far. I'm running vista, ultra high settings for all but traffic on min, unplayable before and I'm getting a solid 20-25fps where it was 5-8 before.
http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/1579/29031726zc4.th.jpg (http://img90.imageshack.us/my.php?image=29031726zc4.jpg)http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/8424/24396711ci6.th.jpg (http://img222.imageshack.us/my.php?image=24396711ci6.jpg)

OWA
05-17-07, 01:14 PM
That sounds really promising since we have similar systems.

MaXThReAT
05-20-07, 03:57 PM
So why is nobody commenting on this. It's a pretty good patch, like a 50-80% increase for dualcore users, makes me want to go C2D. I honestly can't wait for the DX10 patch. I’m having a great time flying around NY and CA and Europe now.

methimpikehoses
05-20-07, 05:09 PM
So why is nobody commenting on this. It's a pretty good patch, like a 50-80% increase for dualcore users, makes me want to go C2D. I honestly can't wait for the DX10 patch. I’m having a great time flying around NY and CA and Europe now.

I've been addicted to STALKER lately so I haven't had much flight time recently...

I did install the SP1 though and like everyone has said, it is MUCH better than the vanilla. I'm also looking forward to the DX10, hopefully it will improve the FPS even more.

Still getting shimmering effects on the water and sometimes on buildings... anyone know if that's the mipmap or AA/AF optimization settings??

sillyeagle
05-21-07, 05:47 PM
So why is nobody commenting on this. It's a pretty good patch, like a 50-80% increase for dualcore users, makes me want to go C2D. I honestly can't wait for the DX10 patch. I’m having a great time flying around NY and CA and Europe now.

Unfortunatly I'm unable to use SP1. I get horrible blurries with it, which many people are getting. There's a few threads about it at avsim.com, lots and lots of complaints with SP1, despite the awesome performance. People getting blurries, out of mem errors, and a few other issues.

When I load a game or make changes to my graphics the textures are sharp in the first area thats loads around the aircraft, but once I move to a new area the texture no longer load, at all. So I had to uninstall SP1.

http://sio.midco.net/FTP5/blurry.jpg


Of course, this is what is looked like Pre-SP1:

http://sio.midco.net/111lll/fsx%202007-01-13%2005-56-25-68.jpg

agentkay
05-22-07, 06:12 PM
Didnīt notice any blurry textures here. :confused:

sillyeagle
05-22-07, 06:53 PM
Yeah it works fine for some people. I uninstalled FSX, deleted all remnants, reinstalled FSX, installed SP1, then fired it up and activated it for the first time, and I still had the same issue.

agentkay
05-22-07, 06:58 PM
Yeah it works fine for some people. I uninstalled FSX, deleted all remnants, reinstalled FSX, installed SP1, then fired it up and activated it for the first time, and I still had the same issue.

I did notice one thing. I flew one of the missions where I had to fly a VFR approach and landing in Austria at winter time and then I flew the Red Bull Air Race which is also set in Austria and I noticed that quite a few winter textures were still there and didnīt totally disappear until like 5 minutes later.

Bman212121
05-22-07, 07:14 PM
Is anyone playing this on a 2407 with a single GTX? (Or anything else running at 1920 x 1200) I'm kind of interesed in trying it as I have tried the demo a long time ago, but I want to keep good frames cause I'm going to crash enough without having game probs. :o

$n][pErMan
05-22-07, 09:52 PM
I keep getting those damn physical memory errors too with SP1 and its pissing me off. I decided to manually set my pagefile size (instead of Vista controlling it which had it set at 2465mb) and set it to 3gigs. I was able to fly from L.A. to Las Vegas with everything set to Ultra High with no crash! :D Hope to do more testing tomorrow evening and see if my little trick really worked. I also noticed the blurry ****... if you hit pause and wait 10 seconds or so it will load everything back up. Damned odd... hopefully MS releases a patch for all these bugs.

BTW... flight over the desert in the evening... :D