PDA

View Full Version : vista standalone or dual boot


tornadog
05-16-07, 08:50 AM
I am considering installing vista once my 8800 gets here. What do you suggest, install vista over my XP professional or do a dual boot??

I want to try out the Directx 10 demos and everythng, but the one game I am playing right now, LOTRO is supposed to have issues with vista...

Amuro
05-16-07, 10:28 AM
Do dual boot.

einstein_314
05-16-07, 03:34 PM
I'd go with dual boot. That's what I'm running currently. XP with Vista x64. So far I haven't actually had to resort to XP for any games. I only need it for 3D CAD programs that don't work in Vista yet.

hirantha
05-16-07, 04:09 PM
i'm planing on upgrading to Vista ultimate 64bit, i will go with a clean install no dual boot. :afro:

|MaguS|
05-16-07, 04:12 PM
Im running a single OS, Vista 32 Ultimate. Its stable and the only game that has given me issues so far is System Shock 2.... its completly unplayable now. :(

kevJ420
05-16-07, 05:08 PM
Im running a single OS, Vista 32 Ultimate. Its stable and the only game that has given me issues so far is System Shock 2.... its completly unplayable now. :(

How do you play system shock 2 now?

I was just curious.

It always disturbs me when something doesn't work.

grey_1
05-16-07, 05:09 PM
I'm running Vista Home premium 64bit stand alone.

Absolutely zero regrets.

kevJ420
05-16-07, 05:10 PM
Dual boot. I think a good combo would be xp32 and vista ult. 64.

One for compatibility and one for the future.

DoomUK
05-16-07, 05:42 PM
Dual boot.

einstein_314
05-16-07, 05:55 PM
I should also point out that if I didn't have to use 3D CAD programs (solidworks and inventor) then I would not be dual booting. I would be running Vista x64 by itself. So if you don't need XP....I would go just Vista.

tornadog
05-16-07, 06:36 PM
looks like 8800 and Vista is not the best combo for LOTRO, so I guess I will keep XP for now. Only reason I am even considering Vista is for Halo 2 and Lost Planet Demo that came out yesterday. Otherwise, I am just happy with XP.

|MaguS|
05-16-07, 06:38 PM
How do you play system shock 2 now?

I was just curious.

It always disturbs me when something doesn't work.

I don't. :(

Wish they would have released the Dreamcast version, then I would have an option to play the game still. Gonna build a Windows 98 rig I think...