PDA

View Full Version : 8800 weird artifacts


Alucard
05-16-07, 11:02 AM
About 3 weeks ago i overcloked my 8800 gtx to 621/999 after installing the 158.18 driver and the new rivatuner. Then i started seeing these weird artifacts some times (screenshot below) . I thought this is probably due to overclocking so i started lowering my clocks but no change . Eventually i went all the way down to stock and im still seeing them . They seem to happen mostly in 3D low power and 2D i havent seen them in 3D performance mode.

What do you make of this? Could this be a driver problem and not related to overclocking? Is my card going bad? :( . Please share your thoughts.

http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/6731/image1680x1050pr8.th.jpg (http://img521.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image1680x1050pr8.jpg)

nekrosoft13
05-16-07, 11:05 AM
is that a dreamscene background? or 3d? not sure why it would apear on the globe only.

but if it started after you OC'ed, then yes most likelly you burned some video memory, and its time to replace the card.

Alucard
05-16-07, 11:15 AM
Yes it's dreamscene. The earth has hardware acceleration . I've also seen these artifacts in world of warcraft once and in internet explorer

nekrosoft13
05-16-07, 11:21 AM
ok then, that confirms it, you need to RMA

if going back to stock speed didn't resolve it, you damaged one of the video ram chips

Amuro
05-16-07, 11:23 AM
Before you RMA the card, try use a different driver and see if you still get the artifacts.

Alucard
05-16-07, 11:29 AM
158.18 to 158.42 made no difference . I'll try going back a bit

Mr_LoL
05-16-07, 12:36 PM
Its RMA time

Alucard
05-16-07, 08:19 PM
Didnt think you could break a card so easy by overclocking it . I didnt even go into any extremes here . Well i hope the new card does better , because i am overclocking again :)

andy_nv
05-17-07, 09:19 AM
Have you tried uninstalling riva tuner together with drivers, doing a proper driver cleanup with driver cleaner or XDC and after that reinstalling the drivers ?

Alucard
05-17-07, 10:36 AM
Have you tried uninstalling riva tuner together with drivers, doing a proper driver cleanup with driver cleaner or XDC and after that reinstalling the drivers ?

Well i did do a format a few days ago to setup my new Raid sata config . I installed rivatuner the next day to get my card overclocking again .

Although i doubt software can cause this i was gonna try a few stuff over the weekend just to be sure before replacing the card.

Quick420
05-17-07, 10:44 AM
Although i doubt software can cause this i was gonna try a few stuff over the weekend just to be sure before replacing the card.[/QUOTE]

Bad driver installation can cause a buttload of problems like the one described here,do the artifacts appear in games? Run driver cleaner and install a known working set(known to you and that particular card) See if it persists.If so RMA it.

That is all...