PDA

View Full Version : X-Fi Audio Console in Vista ?


SwedX
05-16-07, 03:31 PM
Hello guys!
Just got my X-Fi Xtremegamer today and d/l the audio drivers for Vista on their site but how do I get the beutiful program that you do all the settings in ?

All a get is the creatvie audio console who looks really simple and you cant change mutch at all in there, maybe thats all you get for Vista or am I a total moron who cant find the right program for it ?

Dr.Nick
05-16-07, 03:41 PM
None of those apps work on Vista yet:(

SwedX
05-16-07, 04:01 PM
Okey I see, was afraid of that but the simple console have to do for now then atleast it works and finaly surround in Vista :)

Thanks for the reply BTW!

Dr.Nick
05-16-07, 04:13 PM
np:) If you really want those apps you can try the Youp Pax package which includes the latest driver and working apps for Vista. It is not official but a lot of people have had good luck with it.

Their Forum (http://www.youp-pax.org/)
Download Link (http://files.filefront.com/YouP_PAX_X_FI2007_Rev2/;7148043;/fileinfo.html)

SwedX
05-16-07, 06:48 PM
Yeah I heard something about them, will check em out. have you tested them yourself ?

buffbiff21
05-16-07, 07:07 PM
PFFF. The applications hardly work in XP man.

I get tons of buggy stuff happen when I switch modes etc.. (I do a lot of audio recording..)

BTW these are the newest drivers, from Oct 06.

$n][pErMan
05-16-07, 07:14 PM
np:) If you really want those apps you can try the Youp Pax package which includes the latest driver and working apps for Vista. It is not official but a lot of people have had good luck with it.

Their Forum (http://www.youp-pax.org/)
Download Link (http://files.filefront.com/YouP_PAX_X_FI2007_Rev2/;7148043;/fileinfo.html)
These work GREAT! I have been using them for about 2 months now. All of the features (including the remote) work :D

SwedX
05-17-07, 05:54 AM
PFFF. The applications hardly work in XP man.

I get tons of buggy stuff happen when I switch modes etc.. (I do a lot of audio recording..)

BTW these are the newest drivers, from Oct 06.

Why shoud you use them in XP for? ..its just for Vista as you may know that MS has removed the HAL so for XP you never have any problems.

SwedX
05-17-07, 05:55 AM
[pErMan']These work GREAT! I have been using them for about 2 months now. All of the features (including the remote) work :D

Thanks for the link I will test em out :D

Dr.Nick
05-17-07, 07:05 PM
Yeah I heard something about them, will check em out. have you tested them yourself ?

Nope, not yet but I've been thinking about it. Also if you game at all don't forget about ALchemy (http://preview.creativelabs.com/alchemy/default.aspx).

SwedX
05-19-07, 01:33 PM
Nope, not yet but I've been thinking about it. Also if you game at all don't forget about ALchemy (http://preview.creativelabs.com/alchemy/default.aspx).
Oh yes hardcore Pc gamer I am what else can one be :D
The first thing I did was install Alchemy.

I upgraded from an old Audigy 2 and man is this X-Fi card great.
Creative is the only way to go if you are a serious pc gamer ;)
The only thing I wait for is the damn digital live as they only support analog, heres hoping for their next upcoming card!

breathemetal
05-19-07, 08:59 PM
Running 2 pc's here.

1'st with Audigy 2ZS, these "unofficial" drivers are great

2nd with Xfi Platinum, unofficial drivers are great as well!

Highly recommended until Creative fixes this:D

Amuro
05-19-07, 09:50 PM
You don't need to download the Pax. You can still install software from your XP CD with a trick. I'll post the instructions later.

gulizard
05-19-07, 10:08 PM
You don't need to download the Pax. You can still install software from your XP CD with a trick. I'll post the instructions later.


Post now.

Digital_Trans
05-19-07, 10:13 PM
You don't need to download the Pax. You can still install software from your XP CD with a trick. I'll post the instructions later.


Yes, please post now!

Amuro
05-19-07, 10:20 PM
I can't find the thread in the Creative forums, but here's what you do...

Pop in the XP CD, and run the setup file manually, and choose what apps you want. Most of the apps work under Vista, with exception of a few, maybe 5 or so that don't. Just remember do not install the driver from the CD.

$n][pErMan
05-19-07, 11:05 PM
I can't find the thread in the Creative forums, but here's what you do...

Pop in the XP CD, and run the setup file manually, and choose what apps you want. Most of the apps work under Vista, with exception of a few, maybe 5 or so that don't. Just remember do not install the driver from the CD.
NO NO NO!!!! DONT DO THIS!!!!!!!! IT WILL NOT WORK AND WILL F*$& THINGS UP!!!

Sorry for the all caps but I made this mistake awhile back and it does not work and really messes up things. You need the leaked software.
*edit*
Here is the link to the thread :)
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=87928