PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading from ultimate 32 to 64


SOAD
05-18-07, 10:54 AM
Hello all. I have seen someone selling 32bit Ultimate, and I am looking for 64bit.


Can you upgrade from 32bit to 64bit?


cheers

Digital_Trans
05-18-07, 11:03 AM
Yes, but from what I understand you will need to reformat and reinstall everything when moving from 32-Bit to x64-Bit. And you must have a supported x64 processor. In this case it looks like you do. (nana2)
I use Vista Ultimate Edition x64 and love it!

Amuro
05-18-07, 11:06 AM
You'll have to reinstall all of your programs/apps afterwards, so no.

j0j081
05-18-07, 05:36 PM
they keys/licenses are the same. you only need to buy or obtain a dvd with the 64 bit software on it. I think it cost about 10 bucks from MS. then you install with the key you already have and it's yours.

grey_1
05-18-07, 05:38 PM
they keys/licenses are the same. you only need to buy or obtain a dvd with the 64 bit software on it. I think it cost about 10 bucks from MS. then you install with the key you already have and it's yours.
Yup. Only thing is they are bound to the one key. You can't install the 64 on one machine and the 32 on another.

radekhulan
05-18-07, 08:15 PM
they keys/licenses are the same. you only need to buy or obtain a dvd with the 64 bit software on it. I think it cost about 10 bucks from MS. then you install with the key you already have and it's yours.

Ultimate ships with 2 DVDs (32/64) in its retail box..