PDA

View Full Version : Network Question


ViN86
05-18-07, 10:40 AM
at work, we are going to need to perform high speed file transfer (preferrably gigabit speeds)

if a gigabit switch is used to connect all the computers, and a 100 Mbps router is attached to the switch to administer IP addresses, will the router prevent a bottleneck?

evilghost
05-18-07, 10:55 AM
What? You've got a 1000Mbit layer-2 device connected to a 100mbit layer-3 device so unless the transfers are going across the layer-3 device then they won't be constrained to 100Mbit and should work at 1000Mbit assuming the switch you have is decent and has plenty of aggregate bandwidth per switch port.

ViN86
05-18-07, 11:08 AM
What? You've got a 1000Mbit layer-2 device connected to a 100mbit layer-3 device so unless the transfers are going across the layer-3 device then they won't be constrained to 100Mbit and should work at 1000Mbit assuming the switch you have is decent and has plenty of aggregate bandwidth per switch port.
my question is really, when transferring files, do they even go across the router?

both computers are connected to the switch. in order to "see" each other do they need to transfer files through the router (100 Mbps), or are the files just transferred through the switch (1000 Mbps).

we have an existing 100 Mbps router. we want a gigabit network and plan on getting a gigabit switch. (all computers connected to the switch, the router is also connected to the switch and used to assign IP addresses). when transferring files over the network, would the 100 Mbps router create a bottleneck?

retsam
05-18-07, 11:16 AM
my question is really, when transferring files, do they even go across the router?

both computers are connected to the switch. in order to "see" each other do they need to transfer files through the router (100 Mbps), or are the files just transferred through the switch (1000 Mbps).

we have an existing 100 Mbps router. we want a gigabit network and plan on getting a gigabit switch. (all computers connected to the switch, the router is also connected to the switch and used to assign IP addresses). when transferring files over the network, would the 100 Mbps router create a bottleneck?
if there on two seperate network segments then, yes. you will be limited by the 100meg speeds. if you are going from one workstation to another on the very same ip range( 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0,to 192.168.1.3 255.255.255.0) then you will get gigabit speeds. but if your going to two seperate network sepgements (192.168.1.2 to 192.168.2.2) then you will get 100 meg speeds.

ViN86
05-18-07, 11:17 AM
if there on two seperate network segments then, yes. you will be limited by the 100meg speeds. if you are going from one workstation to another on the very same ip range( 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0,to 192.168.1.3 255.255.255.0) then you will get gigabit speeds. but if your going to two seperate network sepgements (192.168.1.2 to 192.168.2.2) then you will get 100 meg speeds.
k. thx :)

yes, the computers will be on the same range. (like 192.168.1.100 255.255.255.0 transferring files to 192.168.1.101 255.255.255.0)

retsam
05-18-07, 03:53 PM
k. thx :)

yes, the computers will be on the same range. (like 192.168.1.100 255.255.255.0 transferring files to 192.168.1.101 255.255.255.0)
the reason i asked that is because you could have two subnets in the same lan, this is called router on a stick so inorder to go from on lan segment to another it would have to go through the router to get to the other segment...:)