PDA

View Full Version : Micro-Star International 8800 Ultra


Pages : [1] 2

varrius
05-23-07, 02:19 AM
I just ordered two 8800 Ultra's ( Please don't come in here and rant about how it's a waste of money, etc. That isn't why I started this thread. ) I saw in another thread how "Jakup," I believe, has the two EVGA 8800 Ultras. I will use this thread to post my benchmarks when I receive them using FEAR and Company of Heroes, as he did. We'll get to see the differences between the two brands, though, the MSI model is clocked much higher out of the box for the same price. 660/2300. It will without a doubt be a better performer, but, by how much? My specs will be: 2 MSI 8800 Ultra's 660/2300; 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer at 1066 mhz; QX6800 clocked at 3.4 ghz currently, I can run it higher but there's no point for casual use, I will likely run it at 3.6 - 3.7 for benching, it is cooled by a Gigabyte 3d Galaxy II Water Cooler; Thermaltake Tough Power 850 watt; P5N32-E SLi (680i); 500 GB Internal - 500 GB External (Both WD). All of this is in a Gigabyte 3d Aurora (Larger model) with a front intake fan, two rear exhaust fans. Stay tuned.

MUYA
05-23-07, 02:30 AM
(w/opics)

:D Bring on the benchies dude!!

varrius
05-23-07, 03:03 AM
Pics will come, the cards have to arrive first. I just placed the order.

Bokishi
05-23-07, 03:17 AM
You should have started the thread when the Ultras arrived, that way you can post benchies now!

varrius
05-23-07, 03:30 AM
You should have started the thread when the Ultras arrived, that way you can post benchies now!

I wasn't just going to shell out for a reg ultra, I waited and found this one, pre-overclocked. The overclock on this one from the factory is also higher then what Jakup posted reaching, so it will be interesting.

Toss3
05-23-07, 03:37 AM
I just ordered two 8800 Ultra's ( Please don't come in here and rant about how it's a waste of money, etc. That isn't why I started this thread. ) I saw in another thread how "Jakup," I believe, has the two EVGA 8800 Ultras. I will use this thread to post my benchmarks when I receive them using FEAR and Company of Heroes, as he did. We'll get to see the differences between the two brands, though, the MSI model is clocked much higher out of the box for the same price. 660/2300. It will without a doubt be a better performer, but, by how much? My specs will be: 2 MSI 8800 Ultra's 660/2300; 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer at 1066 mhz; QX6800 clocked at 3.4 ghz currently, I can run it higher but there's no point for casual use, I will likely run it at 3.6 - 3.7 for benching, it is cooled by a Gigabyte 3d Galaxy II Water Cooler; Thermaltake Tough Power 850 watt; P5N32-E SLi (680i); 500 GB Internal - 500 GB External (Both WD). All of this is in a Gigabyte 3d Aurora (Larger model) with a front intake fan, two rear exhaust fans. Stay tuned.

Why not add a second HDD for RAID? :)

Awesome setup man!! What kind of screen are you gonna run it on?

varrius
05-23-07, 03:41 AM
Why not add a second HDD for RAID? :)

Awesome setup man!! What kind of screen are you gonna run it on?

I have one 500 gb external and one 500 gb internal, I prefer it. I've had too many issues with Raid 0 and data loss, I'm not into that. I have a Samsung 27" LCD right now.

Toss3
05-23-07, 03:56 AM
I have one 500 gb external and one 500 gb internal, I prefer it. I've had too many issues with Raid 0 and data loss, I'm not into that. I have a Samsung 27" LCD right now.
27" of gaming goodness... :drooling: You really need to post some pics when you get your stuff! :)

Can't you just use RAID 0 and use the external as a backup? :)

varrius
05-23-07, 05:07 AM
27" of gaming goodness... :drooling: You really need to post some pics when you get your stuff! :)

Can't you just use RAID 0 and use the external as a backup? :)

Yeah, but to me there's not a considerable difference between the 10,000 RPM drives, etc.

Anyway, here's some pics. Right now I have two 8800 GTX ACS3 KO Editions and just 800 mhz Patriot Ram, until the shipment arrives.

http://img479.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pc003ip6.jpg

http://img521.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pc002uj1.jpg

Current 3dmark06 Score: http://img380.imageshack.us/my.php?image=16008ll0.jpg

27":
http://img509.imageshack.us/my.php?image=anoth001uy1.jpg


Side Note: I should note to Jakup, his setup is awesome, but he does need a better monitor to take advantage of those beasts. I got mine on newegg for around 1100, not a bad deal. It has a faster response time then the Dells. Around 6 - 8 ms, versus about 12ms in the Dells. They don't call them SyncMasters for nothing. :D

varrius
05-23-07, 05:09 AM
Here's an even better picture, less blur.
http://img340.imageshack.us/my.php?image=saidanddone001nr3.jpg

Amuro
05-23-07, 05:34 AM
The Dell 2707 and the Samsung 275T uses the exact same panel.

Redeemed
05-23-07, 05:38 AM
Here's an even better picture, less blur.
http://img340.imageshack.us/my.php?image=saidanddone001nr3.jpg
LOL

My camera does that blurring crap to. I have the HP Photosmart M425. It's my first digital camera, and it was a birthday gift- so I am not complaining about it. :D

Though, I did just buy this for a special lady last Saturday:

http://www.staples.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StaplesProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10001&prodCatType=1&catalogId=10051&productId=168270&cmArea=SEARCH

So far I'm very impressed with that Canon I got for her. Infact, I'm thinking my next camera will be the model up from that one.

Anyhow, awesome rig man. I'm waiting to go WC before I put my second GTS in. Otherwise, temps are just way too high.

varrius
05-23-07, 05:46 AM
The Dell 2707 and the Samsung 275T uses the exact same panel.


Ah, you seem to be correct. I just noticed the 30" has a 12ms response time and made that assumption.

Yeah, my camera is an 8 pixel Konica Minolta, it looks good if I set it up right as you can see in some pics, but it hates that blue lighting. You have to fine tune it to get a good snap.

Toss3
05-23-07, 06:31 AM
Wow that looks pretty yummy! :D Can't you set the ISO down a bit(on your camera or to auto)?

A101Sugar
05-23-07, 07:20 PM
nice. If you want to get rid of those GTX's I am interested :)

hirantha
05-23-07, 10:28 PM
i'm saving money no Ultra for me :(

varrius
05-28-07, 10:26 AM
SO FAR, SO GOOD! Wow, I must say Vista 64-bit Makes a BIG difference on 3dmark06. I net better scores by hundreds of points on it. This is a fair comparison, also, since Jakup used it too. Anyway, here's the 3dmark06 results!!!

3dmark06 MSI Ultra's (http://img406.imageshack.us/my.php?image=16945nj8.jpg)

varrius
05-28-07, 10:32 AM
New Pic: [rig] (http://s48.photobucket.com/albums/f231/holliclark/?action=view&current=006.jpg)

iron99
05-28-07, 12:00 PM
Impressive PC specs Varrius! :bugeyes:

Congrats and Enjoy :).

I'm jealous.......:)

stncttr908
05-28-07, 12:21 PM
Good stuff. :thumbsup:

grey_1
05-28-07, 12:51 PM
Very sweet rig Varrius! :thumbsup:

Slammin
05-29-07, 01:20 AM
Score: 16585
Date: 2007-05-05
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 3300 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
108 MHz / 364 MHz
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1280x1024

That is my WinXP highest score.

Score: 15282
Date: 2007-05-24
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 3332 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows Vista
Res: 1280x1024

That is my Vista64 highest score, so far.

Not sure why you are getting better scores in Vista64 but I'd sure like to know more!


Very nice rig btw!

SweetLou
05-29-07, 09:54 AM
Nice rig. Vista x64 gets better scores in 3dmark06 from what I can tell. If you are in the 4GB+ club you NEED to be using Vista x64. I think I should get a quad core, but I think I will hold off until the price drop.

varrius
05-29-07, 01:09 PM
Score: 16585
Date: 2007-05-05
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 3300 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
108 MHz / 364 MHz
OS: Microsoft Windows XP
Res: 1280x1024

That is my WinXP highest score.

Score: 15282
Date: 2007-05-24
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 3332 MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
N/A / N/A
OS: Microsoft Windows Vista
Res: 1280x1024

That is my Vista64 highest score, so far.

Not sure why you are getting better scores in Vista64 but I'd sure like to know more!


Very nice rig btw!

Perhaps I had different drivers then you? Or perhaps it's because my QX6800 is overclocked higher then your quad? Who knows. I was saying x64 vs x86 vista, NOT XP. I think in XP I'd get higher scores. I was just comparing the two Vista builds. However, as time progresses with 64-bit computing becoming mainstream, I think Vista scores will stomp on XP. Microsoft also announced that Server 2008 and Vista will be the last "hurrah" of 32-bit OS's and they will move completely to 64-bit computing.

Slammin
05-30-07, 03:12 PM
Perhaps I had different drivers then you? Or perhaps it's because my QX6800 is overclocked higher then your quad? Who knows. I was saying x64 vs x86 vista, NOT XP. I think in XP I'd get higher scores. I was just comparing the two Vista builds. However, as time progresses with 64-bit computing becoming mainstream, I think Vista scores will stomp on XP. Microsoft also announced that Server 2008 and Vista will be the last "hurrah" of 32-bit OS's and they will move completely to 64-bit computing.


I wasn't comparing your scores to mine. You have better hardware. I was showing how my XP score compares to my Vista64 score. I thought you said your Vista64 scores were higher than your XP score but I was making an assumption that you were comparing your Vista64 scores to x86 XP. Sorry for that confusion, but I agree, it won't be too long!