PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTS 640M or 320M?


glObalist
05-24-07, 04:55 PM
Hi,

now that ATi's lost it, I'm almost set on buying an MSI NX8800GTS-T2D320E-HD-OC Over Clock Edition but for a little more I could get the 640M version of the same card, OC edition too. But as always I'm a little hesitant to pay the outrageous price these new cards always go for where I live. Even the 320M one will have me reaching deep into my pocket.

So I'm wondering, is 320M gonna be enough for games such as Crysis/Hellgate London with my gaming resolution of 22" (1680x1050)?

Thanks for your input!

Redeemed
05-24-07, 05:09 PM
Hi,

now that ATi's lost it, I'm almost set on buying an MSI NX8800GTS-T2D320E-HD-OC Over Clock Edition but for a little more I could get the 640M version of the same card, OC edition too. But as always I'm a little hesitant to pay the outrageous price these new cards always go for where I live. Even the 320M one will have me reaching deep into my pocket.

So I'm wondering, is 320M gonna be enough for games such as Crysis/Hellgate London with my gaming resolution of 22" (1680x1050)?

Thanks for your input!

Without any AA, possibly. With any decent level of AA, I guarantee you the card will crawl. The framebuffer (or lack thereof) will be a major limiting factor for the 320MB GTS in future titles.

If you can, get that 640MB version. Right now there is not much difference between the two- but you will be thankful once DX10 titles start coming out. ;)

Dreamingawake
05-24-07, 06:23 PM
Yeah go for the 640 version.

I upgraded my 320 to the 640 GTS, and there was a noticable difference in current games. -It'll be even greater in the future.

Enjoy your new card !!!!!!!!! (nana2)

mynakedrat
05-24-07, 08:26 PM
jsut get a less preced 320, no ko or acs, then get another one and sli. no more worries and about a 100- 150$ difference if you shop around(google, then prodiucts, or ebazzle)

spaceigg
05-24-07, 08:47 PM
go for the 640, you will regret it if you for the 320

mynakedrat
05-24-07, 08:59 PM
just save the cash, get a sli board for rally cheap, and get another 320. sli these waaaaaay faster than 640 , and like i sadi , around 100-150 more plus motherboard(or less :))
and if you want crysis at thos resolutions, and want to keep up with the gtx's , then one 640 wont suffice, well at least with no aa and medium quality image. they will be intense. get the sli and not have to worr about new cards for a very long time. have you seen the specs of sli 8800 32omb? besides the price being very nice, they scream ahead of most setups, and almost into the ultra territory( and more with oc'ing)

thegrommit
05-24-07, 11:13 PM
I'm with redeemed on this. A 320 will be OK without AA, but you'll need the extra memory for AA.

Of course with so many games not supporting AA with everything else enabled, this may not be an issue :headexplode:

Blacklash
05-25-07, 12:49 AM
I vote 640mb. :afro:

glObalist
05-25-07, 01:27 AM
640M it is then! And no, I'll never go SLI/Crossfire, I'm just not that type of person, call me oldschool, LOL. :D

Redeemed
05-25-07, 02:24 AM
640M it is then! And no, I'll never go SLI/Crossfire, I'm just not that type of person, call me oldschool, LOL. :D
You wont regret it.

And in regards to dual 320MB GTS pwning the GTX... um, not ever gonna' happen. Sorry. Secondly, you can also run the 640MB GTS in SLi, as with the GTX, and as with the Ultra.

Dual 320MB GTSs is a complete waste of money. They will always be framebuffer limited- something SLi cannot fix. Therefore, I can almost guarantee that the 640MB will pwn the 320MB GTS like a red-headed-step-child in DX10 games. You'll need that extra framebuffer for the high-res textures, AA, and other nice "goodies" we'll see in games like Crysis.

mynakedrat
05-25-07, 01:46 PM
Dual 320MB GTSs is a complete waste of money. They will always be framebuffer limited- something SLi cannot fix.


have you seen the bench's????? then you must ahve seen somehting untrue, becaseu 320 sli totally pwnx the one gtx any day. come on, check you facts and dont say something with no idea why. it may be your opinion, but the science of it proves beyond anything you may just"like"


and , if fe is using native 1280x 1024 res,,,then the 320 PWNS the 640 every time. :):):):):):)

Redeemed
05-25-07, 02:40 PM
Dual 320MB GTSs is a complete waste of money. They will always be framebuffer limited- something SLi cannot fix.


have you seen the bench's????? then you must ahve seen somehting untrue, becaseu 320 sli totally pwnx the one gtx any day. come on, check you facts and dont say something with no idea why. it may be your opinion, but the science of it proves beyond anything you may just"like"


and , if fe is using native 1280x 1024 res,,,then the 320 PWNS the 640 every time. :):):):):):)

You have any of the 320MB GTS SLi running the DX10 Lost Planet demo? Cause I'm speaking about DX10 performance. Let me know what you can come up with. ;)

mynakedrat
05-26-07, 01:19 AM
no, and i have only one 320 gts running 1280x96 and all maxed on all settings, and 4x aa. runs at 45-45 fps. just fine for me. but this is an unoptimized demo 360 port, and will never be utilizing the 8800 architechure to its fullest anyway. bad comparison there for you. check the difference on cascades demo with dual 320 compared to one 640..SPanked its @$$

mynakedrat
05-26-07, 01:23 AM
and last time i looked my total video memory available for use was 1096. thats not a limited frame buffer my friend

Redeemed
05-26-07, 01:46 AM
and last time i looked my total video memory available for use was 1096. thats not a limited frame buffer my friend

Wow- you're joking right? You do not have a framebuffer of just over a giggabyte. You only have 320 megabytes for a framebuffer. Once you fill that up, the data goes into the system RAM, and once you fill that up, the data goes to your hard drive. That is why the more onboard memory, the better.

And, 1280x960 is far from high res. Try playing FEAR at 1920x1440 with 8xAA, 16xAF, Gamma corrected AA, Multisampling Transparency AA, and all in-game options maxed. Let me know what your frame raters are- and we'll compare 'em to my card. Deal? :D

Auswak
05-26-07, 07:57 AM
Yes the 640MB has advantages over the 320MB 8800GTS when it comes to higher resolution above the 1600x1200 level.

My experience with a 8800GTS 320MB at 1600x1200 resolution is great.

:)

ATOJAR
05-26-07, 08:17 AM
It don't matter what anybody says the fact is that a 640MB GTS will give a 320MB GTS a high res whoopass! ..... simple as that! ..... im just sooooo glad i chose the 640MB version! .... 320MB wasn't even a option for me! ... going from a evga 7950GT 512MB and dropping down to 320MB, a BIG no no.