PDA

View Full Version : I had to do it! My new system :o


Pages : [1] 2 3

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 02:43 PM
Yea so if you look away from my outdated system below (i always forget to update my sig :))
I was like "mjaaaa i have a x360 and a PS3 and a pretty nice laptop - i dont need a new system"
But well i guess you all know the feeling (lee63) The RAM prices are REALLY low and the cpus are cheap so what the hell :p

Just wanted to share what i got ::o

1 x Core2 E6420 (will OC to about 3GHZ)
4 x 1GB 6400 DDR2
1 x Asus P5B (i had this board before and i love it, so i got it again :afro: )
1 x Hiper 530watt quality PSU
1 x Zalman 9500
1 x 8800GTS/320
1 x ANTEC-P160W tower

So, what do you guys think? A nice low price system for the year to come?

And now some pics :)

http://www.smtechnologie.com/actualite_informatique_fev2006/antec13.jpg

http://images.tweaktown.com/imagebank/msi8800gts_13s.JPG

http://img.clubic.com/photo/00118728.jpg

http://www.apitcomp.ru/catalog/psu/39540.jpg

http://www.ecomtech.at/cms/multimedia/3609.jpg

http://www.teradata.pt/images/Intel%20Core%202%20Duo.jpg

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 02:45 PM
Please leave a note if i need to change annything :p

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 02:46 PM
and i updatet the sig :)

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 02:49 PM
And i still have my XFI soundcard :) And Raptors :p

Redeemed
05-26-07, 03:00 PM
Nice looking setup. You might actually make it higher than 3Ghz with that proc and that cooler. Though the RAM might be what would hold you back. Not too sure.

Anyhow, enjoy the setup and post pics of the build! :D

ATOJAR
05-26-07, 03:09 PM
Pretty nice, only one thing i would change and thats the 8800 320MB, i would swap if for a 640MB! ..... apart from that ... nice system :D

Great cpu cooler by the way, i have the same one with arctic silver 5 applied! ... keeps my overclocked conroe at 36c-37c idle.

newparad1gm
05-26-07, 03:09 PM
Nice looking case, what other fans and cooling setups are you going to get in there besides the Zalman?

Redeemed
05-26-07, 03:12 PM
Pretty nice, only one thing i would change and thats the 8800 320MB, i would swap if for a 640MB! ..... apart from that ... nice system :D

Great cpu cooler by the way, i have the same one with arctic silver 5 applied! ... keeps my overclocked conroe at 36c-37c idle.

QFT. Hadn't notice he went with the 320MB.

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 03:13 PM
The Antec have a 120mm in the back, and i will put a 80mm in the front :)

Sazar
05-26-07, 03:15 PM
The antec takes a 120mm in the front, don't bother with an 80mm.

Also, please learn to use the edit key.

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 03:17 PM
I might go for a 640MB GTS :)

And OMFG, the RAM prices are so nice right now. 60$ for 1gb PC6400 DDR2 here in Denmark now.

ATOJAR
05-26-07, 03:18 PM
I might go for a 640MB GTS :)

I would if i was you, you will be glad you did when some future games are released!

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 03:18 PM
The antec takes a 120mm in the front, don't bother with an 80mm.

Also, please learn to use the edit key.

huh? I did use the edit key. Annyway, thx for pointing out that i need to get another 120mm :)

NoWayDude
05-26-07, 03:39 PM
Yup, I understand you perfectly. Just got a new C2D 6600 + Geil DDR2 C4 and m'board from OCUK for 285 delivered. Couldn't say no really....

newparad1gm
05-26-07, 03:46 PM
I might go for a 640MB GTS :)

And OMFG, the RAM prices are so nice right now. 60$ for 1gb PC6400 DDR2 here in Denmark now.

Definitely go for the 640MB version. You can get one for around $330 off Newegg, and you'll definitely need the extra VRAM when newer games start rolling around and if you have a high-resolution or HD monitor.

jcrox
05-26-07, 03:53 PM
I don't know about Denmark prices but on newegg right now Corsair xms2 8500 1066mhz memory is only $119 for 2 gig after rebate. I would personally rather have 2 gig of faster memory for oc'ing than 4 gig of slower memory.

Redeemed
05-26-07, 03:56 PM
I don't know about Denmark prices but on newegg right now Corsair xms2 8500 1066mhz memory is only $119 for 2 gig after rebate. I would personally rather have 2 gig of faster memory for oc'ing than 4 gig of slower memory.
QFT.

PeterJensen
05-26-07, 03:56 PM
With the OC i'm doing i dont really need PC8500 DDR2 ....

NoWayDude
05-26-07, 04:14 PM
My 2 gigs of GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC6400C4 800MHz Ultra Low Latency cost me 54 a few days ago. Now going for 63
Happily running at 934mhz, 4-4-4-15 at the moment

john19055
05-26-07, 07:54 PM
I would get just 2gigs of PC 8500 ram and put the extra money on a 8800GTS 640mb.Plus I would go with a power supply that has a single 12v rail or one with four rails like the OCZ
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341010
because sometimes with just two rails ,you end up loseing power becuse one rails is stuck doing your CPU duties and the other rail is doing the other.

Sazar
05-26-07, 08:21 PM
huh? I did use the edit key. Annyway, thx for pointing out that i need to get another 120mm :)

You posted 4 times in like 5 minutes dude :)

Btw, I love my p-160. The front setup, you can either keep the filter or not. I've noticed noise levels are a little less without the filter and it really doesn't keep out THAT much dust :D

Make sure you remove the WHOLE front fascia before working on ANYTHING. Just tug at the handle thinger at the very bottom of the front and it should pop off at an angle.

The instructions that come with the package are woeful at best and you're likely to break something if you go at it with brute force.

OWA
05-26-07, 08:37 PM
Nice upgrade. I need to follow your lead. I have the P160 (without the window though) and a 8800GTX but I've been dragging my feet on upgrading my motherboard, cpu and memory. It seems to be hurting me in the current games.

Anyway, congrats on the upgrade.

$n][pErMan
05-26-07, 09:14 PM
I agree .. if your going the GTS route at least get the 640mb version.

Rummy
05-26-07, 11:56 PM
What happened to your last system? Didn't you have a GTX?

nV`andrew
05-27-07, 12:23 AM
I have the same case. its awesome.

but it came with the 120mm blue led fan in the black and i think a 120mm tri-cool in the front. so i dont think you need another but u could order one incase. its a solid case, easy to move stuff around, room for upgrading, etc.