PDA

View Full Version : FRAPS broken in Vista?


Redeemed
06-01-07, 03:35 AM
When I go to record a game using FRAPS (as in make a movie from my game) there is no audio. Also, the playback is extremely choppy. What's up with this? It was not like this in XP. In XP, it'd be choppy while I was recording, but in the playback it'd look smooth as butter- and the sound would work.

Is there a known issue with FRAPS doing this under Vista? Vista x64? I'll post some videos of what I'm talking about if you'd like- photobucket is taking forever to upload them though. :(

grey_1
06-01-07, 04:16 AM
What version you using? I have reg. 2.8.1 and seems to be fine.

Redeemed
06-01-07, 04:18 AM
What version you using? I have reg. 2.8.1 and seems to be fine.

I'm running 2.8.2 here... Can I get 2.8.1 from the FRAPS website still? Maybe the newer version is borked.

Redeemed
06-01-07, 04:20 AM
Nope. Can only download the version I have. :( My copy isn't registered, but like I said it recorded the sound perfectly, and it played the movies back perfectly as well. This sucks. :(

grey_1
06-01-07, 04:46 AM
http://www.filehippo.com/download_fraps/?1760

Not sure about filehippo bro, I think they're clean. They're showing it as shareware though

Hope it works for ya!

nekrosoft13
06-01-07, 06:11 AM
to get sound you have to choose "what i hear" in recorder tab

Redeemed
06-01-07, 01:58 PM
to get sound you have to choose "what i hear" in recorder tab

Where's this "recorder" tab, and where's the option for "what I hear"?

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/Sir_Farts_A_Lot/Misc/Untitleda.jpg

nekrosoft13
06-01-07, 02:07 PM
Where's this "recorder" tab, and where's the option for "what I hear"?

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/Sir_Farts_A_Lot/Misc/Untitleda.jpg

sorry got the names mixed up ;)

its the Movies tab

you need to change the microphone, it should be the main sound card, not microphone

and underneath, change the sound input from defualt to "What I hear" or "what you hear" something like that, forgot the techical term

Redeemed
06-01-07, 02:21 PM
sorry got the names mixed up ;)

its the Movies tab

you need to change the microphone, it should be the main sound card, not microphone

and underneath, change the sound input from defualt to "What I hear" or "what you hear" something like that, forgot the techical term

Okay, so I have to go into the control panel in Vista and change my recording device to my soundcard then? I can't change it within FRAPS- I've tried. Also, you would imply I need to select "Use Windows Input" instead of "Detect best device"? I'll try that.

radekhulan
06-01-07, 02:57 PM
This works fine for me:

http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/7396/frapsjq2.png

Redeemed
06-01-07, 03:32 PM
This works fine for me:

http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/7396/frapsjq2.png

:lol:

"What U Hear" huh?

wollyka
06-01-07, 05:36 PM
i think "what u hear" is only a "term" used for X-fi :)
i don't remember what it is for other sound cards