PDA

View Full Version : Ultra-120 Extreme what paste


nekrosoft13
06-01-07, 07:08 AM
those that have the Ultra-120 Extreme, what paste did you use? Artic Silver 5 or that paste that Thermalright included?

they make one hell of heatsink, so maybe they did include some good paste?

Rummy
06-01-07, 08:37 AM
Did you order one?

nekrosoft13
06-01-07, 08:41 AM
i have one ;)

will install it maybe today or tomorrow

got this
http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/productimage/35-109-140-02.jpg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835109140

this
http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/productimage/35-202-003-02.jpg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835202003

and finally, a fan for Ultra-120
http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/productimage/35-220-014-02.jpg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835220014
Air Flow: Max 110.03 CFM

Rummy
06-01-07, 09:23 AM
Sweet:D

Looking at the pictures on Newegg it looks like it comes with paste, but I would use either as5 or stg1. They perform just about the same. Not sure of the thermalright stuff.

I ordered a tuniq tower 120 maybe we can compare temps.

This is what I ordered
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835154002

nekrosoft13
06-01-07, 09:27 AM
i would have installed it yesterday, but i have to remove the board

from all the reviews i seen Ultra-120 extreme performs better then tuniq

i will post my temps, but to get accurate comparisons it would have to be same system at same location.

room temps make a hugge difference.

XDanger
06-01-07, 12:48 PM
I like Ceramique, Thats a nice fan as well probably cant get one over here:( ,The Ultra-120 extreme is the best air cooling going at the moment and the only big cooler that will allow me to fit my ocz memory cooler because its very slim, there just isnt enough clearance with any other heatpipe tower cooler on a p5b.

Tr1cK
06-01-07, 02:18 PM
I used AS5 on my Tuniq.

jcniest5
06-01-07, 03:37 PM
I found this cooler at Puget Custom Computer for $56.95 and that's where I purchased mine. Should be here on Monday. Does anyone know how much improvement I should see going from Thermaltake Big Typhoon to the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme? Did I make a wise decision in acquiring it to replace my Typhoon?

CainSyris
06-01-07, 07:15 PM
Definitely, the Ultra 120 Extreme has worked well for me. Edit: AS5. Btw, on the Newegg reviews for that fan, it says the fan holes are incompatible for the Ultra 120 Extreme. Just something to note.

I don't know if it's true or not.

XDanger
06-08-07, 08:49 PM
Theres always a way, Whats the problem ,are they closed?

Rytr
06-08-07, 09:25 PM
I finally broke down and got one. Thermalright has always produced the best coolers overall for me. However, I was a little disappointed this time. For $60 you do get one BIG cooler. But I found the contact plate not up to their usual standards as it was not totally flat. It took some block sanding with 220, 400, 800, and 1000 to get it right. I don't require a mirror finish but I do want the contact area flat so to be able to transfer as much heat as possible.

Oh, I will be using AS5!

sammy sung
06-09-07, 02:56 AM
I finally broke down and got one. Thermalright has always produced the best coolers overall for me. However, I was a little disappointed this time. For $60 you do get one BIG cooler. But I found the contact plate not up to their usual standards as it was not totally flat. It took some block sanding with 220, 400, 800, and 1000 to get it right. I don't require a mirror finish but I do want the contact area flat so to be able to transfer as much heat as possible.

Oh, I will be using AS5!

I've ordered one aswell as i find my 9500 lacking,strange that the base wasnt flat,was it warped or something ?

jcniest5
06-09-07, 03:02 AM
Yeap, the HS is convex and I had to lap mine as well.

XDanger
06-11-07, 05:37 PM
is the ultra-120 extreme still a bit loose on a 775 socket or have they fixed that,
if not ,does lapping make it worse??

Maybe the looseness is due to the warped sink??

Rytr
06-11-07, 07:08 PM
As big as it is I was skeptical about how stable it would be with the mount. But it seems to be very stable but I would not want to tote it around to lan parties. :D

Lapping should not make any difference other than make it more stable as by lapping you are increasing the contact surface area of the sink and Core2's contact area. That is if it was uneven, concave/convex, to begin with. Mine was rough toward one corner which 30-35 minutes of lapping (block sanding) through 4 grits of wet/dry sanding paper took out to nice and level. :)

Edit: I should have taken some pics but I figured there were some up on the net somewhere. Anyway, on looseness I have read somewhere complaints about that and I did check after installation for any looseness and found none. Yes, you can twist the sink CW or CCW to some degree but it is a large sink with mass. Overall, I found the installation acceptable for such a large heatsink and the cooling results are very good which they should be for the price.

crainger
07-10-07, 08:27 PM
Just got my Ultra-120 Extreme. Bought the heatsink combo from pccasegear. Comes with the Ultra-120 and a silent scythe 120mm fan. Just installed it on my Quaddy. Idle temps went from 50c down to 25. Load went from 60ish to 35max. It's an amazing cooler. Equal to the reserator it seems. Although the reserator is cooler under load.

Better update the sig. Nice to move back to air and have a case I can move around. The Reserator made taking my PC to Moms for holidays or LANs impossible.

On a side note. I <3 my budget quad core setup. It's been so stable and easy to manage. Glad I went with Abit again... Even though I now have a fata1ity branded board (Not my bag baby). the nforce650 boards are really nice and 1/2 the price of the 680is!

Rytr
07-10-07, 09:38 PM
Seems the price turned some off but that was their mistake. The one in my sig is the slowest of the 3 I have running on the chipset and that's because I have had no need to push it. I use e6600's on all 3 and all run stable at about any speed I need for now. I was wondering about the Quads and I see you using one so I don't have to wonder any more. :D

CaptNKILL
07-10-07, 09:52 PM
I have an Ultra 120 extreme but I don't have the system to put it in yet. :p

I have a tube of AS5 i'll be using though.

Rytr
07-10-07, 10:12 PM
Doing some reverse engineering, huh?

randsom
07-10-07, 10:13 PM
got one sitting on a q6600 right @3450 using AS5, i could be going higher but my rams stopping me, and i dont wanna get into the whole divider thing, and kill my performance