PDA

View Full Version : Building a new computer


blitztidus
06-04-07, 04:08 AM
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 2.66GHz / 4MB Cache / 1066MHz FSB / Conroe / Dual-Core / Socket 775 / Processor with Fan (Retail)

-Core 2 Ready EVGA nForce 680i SLI NVIDIA Socket 775 ATX Motherboard (New A1 Version) / Audio / PCI Express / SLI / Dual Gigabit LAN / S/PDIF / USB 2.0 & Firewire / Serial ATA / RAID

- OCZ Reaper Dual Channel 2048MB PC8500 DDR2 1066MHz Memory (2 x 1024MB)

- Western Digital WD1600YS 160GB SATA2 7200rpm 16MB RAID Hard Drive x2

- EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS / 640MB GDDR3 / SLI Ready / PCI Express / Dual DVI / HDTV / HDCP Enabled / Video Card

- OCZ / GameXStream / 850-Watt / ATX / 120mm Fan / SATA-Ready / SLI-Ready / Active PFC / Power Supply

- Apevia Black X-Cruiser Case ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side, Front USB, Audio and Firewire Ports:

- Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit DSP OEM DVD

- Lite-On Super-Multi LH20A1H / 20x DVD±R Burn / 16x DVD±R Read / 8x DVD+RW / 6x DVD-RW / 8x DVD±R DL / 12x DVD-RAM / Internal / Black&Beige / DVD Burner with Lightscribe

- ThinkVision G96 / 19" / .25mm Dot Pitch / SXGA 1280 x 1024 / Black / Off-Lease Refurbished CRT Monitor



Can anyone tell me how good this computer is and if there is anything I should change? ty

MUYA
06-04-07, 04:18 AM
The specs are for a kick ass system it seems except, the monitor. With widescreen LC monitors going down on prices...why not go that route? If I could I would change the monitor to at least a 20" widescreen monitor at 1680 by 1050 native res otherwise that 8800 GTS card is going to be severly under utilized.

zerobeta
06-04-07, 04:26 AM
I assume you will overclock, and use SLi?

You could go with a S-ATA optical drive

nekrosoft13
06-04-07, 07:16 AM
whats up with that crappy monitor.

ccxvi
06-04-07, 10:43 AM
I think we can assume he's not using SLI because he did not specify two graphics boards in the setup. Most good PCUs and motherboards seem to be SLI-ready, anyways.

But I would recommend overclocking the CPU. And the GPU, if you just don't have enough power yet. Then again, you never have enough.

As for the monitor: If a CRT is all you can afford, be my guest. But if you're longing for that blinding sensation of opening a menu in an Oblivion dungeon, you'll have to get an LCD. 1280x1024 LCDs are rather cheap, anyways.

Also about the monitor: Make sure it'll plug into the back of your graphics card! I believe all GeForce 8 cards offer DVI outputs exclusively, and I don't know of a CRT that uses DVI. You may be forced to get an LCD.

DRen72
06-04-07, 11:30 AM
If you are not going SLI then go with a motherboard with an Intel P35 chipset instead. Also, I agree on the monitor comments. Get a nice widescreen display. You will not regret it.

DiscipleDOC
06-04-07, 12:09 PM
whats up with that crappy monitor.
+1

Mr_LoL
06-04-07, 01:56 PM
Get cheaper components to get a more balanced system. If you are not going to go sli you don't really need a 680i board. What about and E6420? You can then use all the money you have saved to buy a decent 22" widescreen tft monitor not that hulking pos.

fasedww
06-04-07, 08:42 PM
whats up with that crappy monitor.
No Kidding:lol2:

newparad1gm
06-04-07, 10:49 PM
Also about the monitor: Make sure it'll plug into the back of your graphics card! I believe all GeForce 8 cards offer DVI outputs exclusively, and I don't know of a CRT that uses DVI. You may be forced to get an LCD.

There are DVI/VGA adapters out there. His 8800GTS may even come with one, I remember my eVGA 6800GT did. But I agree with many of the posters here, go with LCD. A 19in widescreen can be had for $170. You'll get a boost in image quality as well as conserve desk space.

You should also spring for an E6600 instead of the E6700. It's around $90 dollars cheaper on Newegg, and even with a little boost from 2.4 to 2.7 GHz, which probably doesn't even require increasing the CPU voltage, you can attain E6700 speeds.

You also don't need an 850W PSU unless you are planning to go SLI.

XDanger
06-06-07, 07:38 PM
get vista 64 oem , dont worry it will be fine :D
And get a 1tb (500gb at least) drive for storage,
300gb fills up fast.

XDanger
06-06-07, 07:45 PM
a 19 inch tft monitor that does higher than 1280x1024 @ 75hz hmmmm

you need at least a 22" widescreen to get a decent res out of a tft, avoid 19" 3/4's, they are only good for web browsing.
I gave away a 19" tft monitor this weekend ,didnt like it and am back to my crt for now.

was looking at this, very cheap ....
http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Displays/Monitors/TFT+20%22+&+21%22/22''+Cibox+Widescreen+TFT+-+5m+?productId=27029

Mr Bigman
06-06-07, 08:11 PM
Nice Kurt Angle Avitar. Its good seeing him again in TNA now.

Good system but LCD man widescreen for 2 bills now.