PDA

View Full Version : eVGA 8800 GTS 320MB not enough memory?


Maverickman
06-04-07, 09:32 AM
I put an eVGA 8800 GTS 320 MB in one of my systems. My main system still has an 8800 GTS 640MB in it. In the 320MB system, the Adrianne demo runs really slow compared to my other system. The Froggy demo also runs slow while the Cascades demo runs slightly slower. I'm guessing that the problem here is the 320MB of memory. The Adrianne and Froogy demos are most likely memory hogs and will really slow down a 320MB card. The system with the 320MB 8800 is running with an Athlon 64 X2 4800+ @ 2.7GHz with 3GB system RAM. The sig. for my main system is below. Both systems are running Vista Home Premium. My games seem to run O.K. on both systems. This demo problem made me think about getting another 640MB 8800 and taking back the 320MB card. I'm sure there will be DX10 games that will take advantage of the extra memory. Any ideas here?

Trademark
06-04-07, 10:05 AM
CPU is probably the bottleneck, my guess atleast

Jon
06-04-07, 10:44 AM
I had the same problem with my 8800GTS... you need to go into the settings for the nvidia demos and reduce the AA. Then it will run fine. To be honest, I just bought Company of Heroes and in the notes it says that 320mb 8800 users should use Medium textures not high as we don't have enough video memory. So if you have the chance to take it back, I would take it back and get the 640mb.

I'll just wait here for my told ya so from Redeemed!

hapooh
06-04-07, 12:05 PM
I put an eVGA 8800 GTS 320 MB in one of my systems. My main system still has an 8800 GTS 640MB in it. In the 320MB system, the Adrianne demo runs really slow compared to my other system. The Froggy demo also runs slow while the Cascades demo runs slightly slower. I'm guessing that the problem here is the 320MB of memory. The Adrianne and Froogy demos are most likely memory hogs and will really slow down a 320MB card. The system with the 320MB 8800 is running with an Athlon 64 X2 4800+ @ 2.7GHz with 3GB system RAM. The sig. for my main system is below. Both systems are running Vista Home Premium. My games seem to run O.K. on both systems. This demo problem made me think about getting another 640MB 8800 and taking back the 320MB card. I'm sure there will be DX10 games that will take advantage of the extra memory. Any ideas here?

I had the exact same problems back in Feb. I first bought an EVGA 320 OC, and noticed slow downs in FEAR, Dark Messiah (came with the GTS package), ran the Adrianne and Cascades demos...
I was happy with it, but the slowdowns kind of weighed on me, so for peace of mind, I returned it and got the 640 version and my suspicions were right... no more slow downs and demos played much smoother and higher frame rates...
The 320's are cheaper by $80, but I think it's $80 well spent getting the 640...

Eltigre88
06-04-07, 02:22 PM
Ummm is anyone else amazed that a card so advance has slow downs? I know it is the bottom of the pile for the 8800's but come on it is a little rediculous. Where can I get the demo you were running? I want to put my 7800 to the test. www.nvidia.com got it.

Eltigre88
06-04-07, 02:27 PM
I guess seing how you have to have an 8800 card to run it; I can't. So how well does the 8600 run the demo. Can anyone post their results?

Redeemed
06-04-07, 03:10 PM
I had the same problem with my 8800GTS... you need to go into the settings for the nvidia demos and reduce the AA. Then it will run fine. To be honest, I just bought Company of Heroes and in the notes it says that 320mb 8800 users should use Medium textures not high as we don't have enough video memory. So if you have the chance to take it back, I would take it back and get the 640mb.

I'll just wait here for my told ya so from Redeemed!

:lol: I'm not gonna' rub it in your face, that would be wrong.

But to the OP, yes your performance is being hindered by the (lack of) framebuffer. For future titles 320MB is not gonna' be enough when combined with any even semi-high resolution and some AA if you're also wanting to run with all in-game settings maxed. It just wont work. You're experiencing this limitation already. If you want the chance to play any future title with all in-game options maxed, at a decent resolution, with some AA- then you'll have to return that 320MB GTS and get the 640MB one.

Maverickman
06-04-07, 07:38 PM
This is an 8800 for my backup computer. It had a 7900 GTO which I took out and replaced with the 8800 20MB. It's a much bettr performer and offers DX 10. I thought it would be better than an 8600 GTS which is about the same price and only has 256MB of RAM. I got the 8800 320MB for $259 after rebate. My main computer still has an 8800 GTS 640MB, so I'm covered in DX10 games.

We are starting to see limitations of the 320MB cards. The 8600GTS will be worthless in DX10 games as it isn't fast enough and has too little memory to play future games with any settings turned up.

john19055
06-05-07, 12:21 AM
Nvidia should at lest made the 8600GTS with a 256bit bus instead of 128.

Slammin
06-05-07, 12:43 AM
Ummm is anyone else amazed that a card so advance has slow downs? I know it is the bottom of the pile for the 8800's but come on it is a little rediculous. Where can I get the demo you were running? I want to put my 7800 to the test. www.nvidia.com got it.


If you game at 1024x768, the card has plenty of memory for that, even adding AA.

I would advise anyone not to get the 320MB version if they are going to want higher resolutions and eye candy enabled.