PDA

View Full Version : Help me with PSU


ppeccin
06-04-07, 09:39 PM
What would be the PSU requirements for:

P5B Premium
Q6600 (somehow overclocked)
EVGA 8800GTX Superclocked (single, no SLI)
4 gigs of Ram
2 WD500 HDs

How many 12V rails should it have and how many amperes (A) each?

Then, could you point me to good PSU's for that setup?
(I want as little noise as possible, but dont want to spend $300 on a PSU :) )

Thanks!

ppeccin
06-05-07, 02:00 PM
Pleeeease!!! :o

hirantha
06-05-07, 02:18 PM
you can get away with 520W PSU for that set-up, chose from OCZ, antec or anyother major brand

ppeccin
06-05-07, 02:22 PM
you can get away with 520W PSU for that set-up, chose from OCZ, antec or anyother major brand

520W only?
I had one Antec 550W PSU (look at my sig), but it has only 24A on the 12V rail.
Will this one work with the new setup?

Thanks!

hirantha
06-05-07, 02:32 PM
buy the one that is in my sig it comes with 2 12v which you gonna need for that board.. but if you wanna be smart and do a smart upgrade dont worry about the money (well maybe lil over $300) just go for a SLI ready PSU

lduguay
06-05-07, 02:40 PM
Try a Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF 850W for 225$. You could probably keep it for your next build.

Tr1cK
06-05-07, 02:43 PM
PSU Calculator (http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp)

Calculating what you have and figuring in a little extra, it shows around 500 watts peak. I would still play on the safe side and invest in a 700 watt minimum of a good brand.

ynnek
06-05-07, 04:25 PM
Seasonic S12 PSU's get good reviews..