PDA

View Full Version : Which should I get 32bit or 64bit Vista?


flukester
06-11-07, 08:11 AM
Just wondering if it's worth getting the 64bit? Most of what I do is a little photo editing stuff, Web page design, SQL development and naturally games!

My XP install is looking like it needs to be refreshed so I'll grab an OEM copy of Vista (32/64) and install that instead.

Hopefully I wont be making a mistake. 64bit seems does almost seem pointless for gaming.

Hopefully my XFi will still continue to sound like an XFi as well..

I'd be getting Home Premium, see no sense in Ultimate...

SwedX
06-11-07, 09:38 AM
32 bit for now IMO if you dont have/planning to get 4GB ram.
Many threads about 32 vs 64 here so just do a search ;)

DiscipleDOC
06-11-07, 09:57 AM
I would say get the 64. If you're doing a lot of photo editing, then that extra RAM will come in handy! ;)

flukester
06-11-07, 10:02 AM
Actually I 'had' 4GB(sig) but I got rid of 2 cuz I didn't really see a difference in XP... I get both ur advice, but isn't 64bit slower for gaming? I'd be running in compatibility mode no? Are all drivers out too for nVidia and Creative.. I don't want to be without sound in 64bit...I did the beta but it stunk cuz I had no sound card drivers and didn't feel like enabling onboard audio...

I'm planning on holding onto my 7600 for a bit too cuz I can't/wont pay what nVidia is asking for their cards..

DiscipleDOC
06-11-07, 11:16 AM
Actually I 'had' 4GB(sig) but I got rid of 2 cuz I didn't really see a difference in XP... I get both ur advice, but isn't 64bit slower for gaming? I'd be running in compatibility mode no? Are all drivers out too for nVidia and Creative.. I don't want to be without sound in 64bit...I did the beta but it stunk cuz I had no sound card drivers and didn't feel like enabling onboard audio...

I'm planning on holding onto my 7600 for a bit too cuz I can't/wont pay what nVidia is asking for their cards..
I'm using 64bit XP...and it's not slow at all....

flukester
06-11-07, 11:27 AM
K well I think I'll get 64bit then... Seems for long term at least I will be better off. Thanks!

edit: Just ordered Home Premium (64bit), don't need Ultimate.

SwedX
06-11-07, 12:59 PM
okey good luck with all that Signed driver crap I say and yes Vista X64 takes up a he.. of a lot more mem just so you know.
Annyway home premium is a good choise, dont need Ultimate it just got some more security stuff and drive encryption what I have read.

Redeemed
06-11-07, 01:19 PM
I'm running only Vista Ultimate x64 on the rig in my sig. No problems so far. I love it 10x more than XP- if not more. :D You won't regret going 64-bit. ;)

flukester
06-11-07, 01:24 PM
I'm running only Vista Ultimate x64 on the rig in my sig. No problems so far. I love it 10x more than XP- if not more. :D You won't regret going 64-bit. ;)

Ya I hope not. Hopefully 2 gig will be ok. Not biggie if I have to get extra 2 gig... Have to test it out. I just figured my XP install is going to hell as son plays his racing games and they crash and stuff. Next time I refresh, I'll throw on Vista and enter the bloated OS fanfair.. Hehehe!


SwedX okey good luck with all that Signed driver crap

Ya I know... but one way or another you'll have to deal with it. Don't forget XP kinda does the same thing when it's not a WHQL signed driver.

Redeemed
06-11-07, 01:29 PM
Ya I hope not. Hopefully 2 gig will be ok. Not biggie if I have to get extra 2 gig... Have to test it out. I just figured my XP install is going to hell as son plays his racing games and they crash and stuff. Next time I refresh, I'll throw on Vista and enter the bloated OS fanfair.. Hehehe!


SwedX okey good luck with all that Signed driver crap

Ya I know... but one way or another you'll have to deal with it. Don't forget XP kinda does the same thing when it's not a WHQL signed driver.

I'm only running 2Gigs and haven't had any problems yet. I'm sure 4Gigs would really help out... but 2Gigs works well enough.

As for the signed driver comment... hasn't posed any problems for me. I'm not using an X-Fi, so I can't comment there. But in all other regards Vista x64 pwns XP in every way possible. Atleast, from my experience it does. ;)

evilchris
06-11-07, 02:01 PM
32bit is all that is needed for a home PC. It's hilarious how many people are out there that think they're taking advantage of 64.

$n][pErMan
06-11-07, 02:10 PM
32 bit for now IMO if you dont have/planning to get 4GB ram.
Many threads about 32 vs 64 here so just do a search ;)
Im using 4gigs of ram just fine in 32-bit Vista. Granted it only see's 2.93GB but I was surprised how much more fluid and fast Vista became with the extra memory.

flukester
06-11-07, 02:21 PM
32bit is all that is needed for a home PC. It's hilarious how many people are out there that think they're taking advantage of 64.

You could be right, but you never know what's coming. Plus if I can find 64bit applications you can be darned tootin I'll try em...

(me thinks, oh oh should I have gotten 32 bit instead.. DOh!)

Ok, just checked. 64bit nVidia and XFi drivers... whewwww! Might just dual-boot for first little while, just in case.

SwedX
06-11-07, 03:41 PM
Of course I will go Vista 64 ones games actually start getting use from it but as I only got 2 GB now I see no reason.

I know one have to deal with all these signed driver sooner or later hehe.
I tested 64 bit earlier and okey I can live with the signed stuff allready but I for now prefer not to.

As I have an 64 bit CPU I really hope that 64 bit games will be standard but until then or 2 more GB men I will wait.

thor1182
06-15-07, 02:28 PM
Vista 64 is like XP 64. Most of the time there is no real benefit, only more driver headaches from time to time.

There have been a few cases in XP's lifetime where games and apps (Far Cry) did have updates that took advantage of the 64bit platform. I can certainly see when physics engines in games improve, the extra cycles you can buy back with a 64bit math paths in the CPU for number crunching will speed up games for the 64bit version over the 32bit.

Redeemed
06-15-07, 03:19 PM
Vista 64 is like XP 64. Most of the time there is no real benefit, only more driver headaches from time to time.

There have been a few cases in XP's lifetime where games and apps (Far Cry) did have updates that took advantage of the 64bit platform. I can certainly see when physics engines in games improve, the extra cycles you can buy back with a 64bit math paths in the CPU for number crunching will speed up games for the 64bit version over the 32bit.
I've not tried XP Pro x64 nor Vista 32-bit, but from what I've seen with Vista x64 it is leaps and bounds better than XP 32bit. Now, the same might apply to the 32bit version of Vista, not sure. All I know is that from the limited use I have with 32 bit Vista it seems slower and more "sluggish" than Vista x64.

My only recommendation- stay away with SLi if you're going to be using Vista. It really does not cope well right now. :( BSODs left and right. And simply disabling SLi in the driver CP is not sufficient. You have to actually remove the second card.

I was hoping to do a dual boot of XP and Vista x64- I'd run single card in Vista and SLi in XP. But so far it doesn't seem like I have that option as just having both cards in can cause Vista to crash even if SLi is disabled. Go figure. :rolleyes:

Outside of that Vista is rock-solid stable.

Amuro
06-15-07, 09:11 PM
I have Vista 32 and SLI but not crashed/BSOD once, wierd. But then again, I load into Vista only about twice or three times a month.