PDA

View Full Version : GFFX: Can it be powered other than the PS?


Headbust
03-30-03, 07:27 PM
Are there any options of extra hookups on the back to plug it into a wall socket or something>?lol

RobHague
03-30-03, 08:00 PM
Not that im aware of, but why would you want too anyway? :confused:

Headbust
03-31-03, 04:30 AM
Um...if some people have a 250 watt PS they shouldnt have to upgrade to get the work to work.

Lezmaka
03-31-03, 04:55 AM
It might be possible to do a mod for it, but it probably wouldn't be worth it.

If you want to run a card that draws that much power, you should expect to need a good power supply

marqmajere
03-31-03, 06:31 AM
Buy a voodoo 5 6000 if you want to pulg it into the wall. hehe I wouldn't try to mod it though if I were you. ;)

ricercar
04-01-03, 07:27 PM
I plugged my GF FX 5800 Ultra into a separate PSU than the one that powers the motherboard. It worked fine..

The reason is that my Shuttle SFF computer has a paltry 200 W PSU and the GF FX was crapping out on 3D games above 800x600. I attached an external 190 W PSU for only the GF FX and was able to 3DMark and game in 1024x768, the max res of my LCD monitors.

Headbust
04-01-03, 07:30 PM
I never said anything about modding it. I just wanted to know if it included this feature. And if cards dont these days they should.