PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try Duke3D with HD pack..


Pages : [1] 2

flukester
06-24-07, 03:38 PM
Has anyone tried loading up Duke and installing the HD pack (http://hrp.duke4.net/download.php)?

I don't know but for me it's pretty wicked. I am playing Atomic version and playing it all over. Would like to start playing some MP as well. For those like me that just loved Duke3D this HD pack will make you blink your eyes twice. Everything is 3D including maps, switches on walls etc. Once you have Duke3D installed, just install this HD pack somewhere else, specify in the install where your original Duke3D is and presto, your Duke3D has much better gfx and sound and it works on XP..I think it's pretty cool!!! :cool3:

Left side = Old Duke3D - Right Side is Duke3D with HD pack.
http://hrp.duke4.net/screens/hrp_screen04.jpg

Here's a few I took.


http://www.mypicshare.com/thumbs/20070624/m2nwq3c8.jpg (http://www.mypicshare.com/m2nwq3c8pic.html)http://www.mypicshare.com/thumbs/20070624/n9aipae7.jpg (http://www.mypicshare.com/n9aipae7pic.html)http://www.mypicshare.com/thumbs/20070624/31w7syyg.jpg (http://www.mypicshare.com/31w7syygpic.html)

|MaguS|
06-24-07, 03:56 PM
Interesting, Now to find my Duke3D.

crainger
06-24-07, 07:08 PM
Wow. Looks great. Thanks for the headsup Flukester.

AthlonXP1800
06-24-07, 07:32 PM
I played Duke3D with previous HD pack version last year, not all models were done in HD. Now I have to download the latest version and get Duke3D CD insert to have Duke3D HD installing on Vista to play all over again to see what has changed. :D

Bman212121
06-24-07, 09:10 PM
Does the HD pack also bump the res way up? If it is still 640 x 480 nothing will be able to help it enough.

flukester
06-24-07, 09:29 PM
I am playing @ 1280x960 and full AF

I like it! been glued to it. The maps really come alive with this HD pack. I love it. MP would be a blast!

|MaguS|
06-24-07, 09:30 PM
I am playing @ 1280x960 and full AF

I like it! been glued to it. The maps really come alive with this HD pack. I love it. MP would be a blast!

Hows the frame rate? Can you keep a steady 60FPS?

flukester
06-24-07, 09:42 PM
Hows the frame rate? Can you keep a steady 60FPS?

Honestly, it feels like I got a million fps, I haven't turned that on but there is an option for fps so I'll take a quick look.

I forgot to mention this link... you guys might want to check it out..
http://hrpupdate.duke4.net/downloads.html

I believe we are using 3.0 and you will see there is already an update as well as additional maps.

I also read that there is Duke3D Arena and CTF, DM and TDM mods floating around but I haven't found them exactly and no idea how to get a server going yet.

|MaguS|
06-24-07, 09:47 PM
Honestly, it feels like I got a million fps, I haven't turned that on but there is an option for fps so I'll take a quick look.

I forgot to mention this link... you guys might want to check it out..
http://hrpupdate.duke4.net/downloads.html

I believe we are using 3.0 and you will see there is already an update as well as additional maps.

I also read that there is Duke3D Arena and CTF, DM and TDM mods floating around but I haven't found them exactly and no idea how to get a server going yet.

It was a joke :p

breathemetal
06-24-07, 09:57 PM
Hmm. Now only if i could find Duke3D!

|MaguS|
06-24-07, 10:00 PM
This is really smooth, plays fast as hell but looks great!

CDE_1246
06-24-07, 10:04 PM
hmmmmmmmm..... now if only they could make something like this for Doom 95

flukester
06-24-07, 10:14 PM
It was a joke :p

:) Oh well, vsync appears forced on but I get 60fps solid @ 1280x960 16AF.

CaptNKILL
06-24-07, 11:01 PM
hmmmmmmmm..... now if only they could make something like this for Doom 95
There have been a few packs to replace the sprites with models but I haven't seen any in a while, and none of them looked even close to good (definitely worse than the original sprites, they just had sharp edges :p).

EDIT: This looks pretty good...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-vpdCKl6Tw

sniggle
06-24-07, 11:55 PM
hmmmmmmmm..... now if only they could make something like this for Doom 95

http://www.doomsdayhq.com/

CaptNKILL
06-25-07, 04:21 AM
http://www.doomsdayhq.com/
The models in those screen shots are horrible. It sucks that the site with all of the good model and texture packs is gone.

flukester
06-25-07, 08:13 AM
The models in those screen shots are horrible. It sucks that the site with all of the good model and texture packs is gone.

Ya those are horrible models.. The levels appear pretty decent though.. Overall, no comparison to Duke in HD. Long Live the King Baby!

Bman212121
06-25-07, 09:11 AM
Ya those are horrible models.. The levels appear pretty decent though.. Overall, no comparison to Duke in HD. Long Live the King Baby!

Pff... Long live the king eh?

It's "Hail to the King Baby!" :p

flukester
06-25-07, 10:55 AM
Ha, oops.. (sofahide)

Gimme a break it's been like 10 years I even touched the game.

What are you? Some bottom-feeding, scum sucking algae eater?

Bman212121
06-25-07, 01:12 PM
Ha, oops.. (sofahide)

Gimme a break it's been like 10 years I even touched the game.

What are you? Some bottom-feeding, scum sucking algae eater?

:lol2:

You're an inspiration for birth control.

Dragunov
06-25-07, 01:17 PM
Would try it, if I had Duke Nukem 3D :)

MowTin
06-25-07, 01:27 PM
:lol2:

You're an inspiration for birth control.

Damn, you're ugly

Bman212121
06-25-07, 02:34 PM
Damn, you're ugly

I'll rip off your head and **** down your neck. :p

CaptNKILL
06-25-07, 02:56 PM
I'll rip off your head and **** down your neck. :p
:lol2:

flukester
06-25-07, 08:07 PM
:lol2:

You're an inspiration for birth control.

Looks like it's time for me to go POSTAL! :headexplode: :firedevil