PDA

View Full Version : Best sound card for Vista?


rabblerouser
06-29-07, 07:56 PM
I recently bought a new system with vista.

Currently I'm using the onboard audio (Asus P5K Deluxe mobo).

I'm using the same 2.1 speakers that I used with my old XP system, but I have these issues:

1. For some reason the volume seems way lower on the new system, even though the speakers are the same. I mean, it still can go high, but I have to turn the volume knob way higher for equivalent volume compared to my old system.

2. The onboard sound quality doesn't come close to the sound quality of the audigy 2 on my older XP system - games and music. I can't adjust things like base and treble or adjust the equalizer with the onboard audio in Vista in the new system - apparently you need more than 2.1 setup. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, but I can't seem to adjust those at all on vista with the onboard audio.

I'm considering two things:

1. Putting my Audigy 2 into my new system and buying a crappy sound card for the old one, which I only use for work now. But I don't know how compatible the Audigy 2 is with Vista - some people seem to have probs with it in Vista.

2. If there is an issue with Audigy 2 and Vista, then I need to buy a new sound card. But it seems people have issues with other Creative cards in Vista as well (XiFi).

So I'm not sure what to do at the moment. Any advice/experience appreciated.

breathemetal
06-30-07, 12:07 PM
I have an Xfi Platinum
http://www.mrgadget.com.au/catalog/images/Creative_Sound_Blaster_X_Fi_Platinum_Sound_Card2.j pg

And I am using the YouP-PAX drivers, they are great, and I have not encountered any issues so far!

http://www.youp-pax.org/viewthread.php?tid=362&extra=page%3D1

^^ some more info on the drivers ^^
-and no they arent in japanese, you select which language you want to install them in

There is also this one, which is 1 step up from my soundcard:
http://images.creative.com/iss/images/products/headers/prod14064_hdr_1_6_1.jpghttp://www.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=209&subcategory=669&product=14064

Asus is also releasing a soundcard too:
http://www.trustedreviews.com/images/article/inline/4721-xonar.jpg

But I can't speak for this one. Its definitely prettier, but thats a very small pro when it comes to soundcards

nekrosoft13
06-30-07, 12:34 PM
if you want to play some of the current/older games then x-fi is the logical choice.

But now i would wait for Auzentech Prelude to be released, its a new card based on x-fi with superior audio quality.

That Asus card won't last long, its basically very simular to Razer released. Which also pretty much failed when almost no one bought it.

$n][pErMan
06-30-07, 05:40 PM
My X-Fi Fatal1ty works great on Vista... also using the YouP-PAX software :)

breathemetal
06-30-07, 09:34 PM
Best bet would be:

1) Dont by the Xonar
2) Get a XFI or wait for the Auzentech
3) Get a front panel (they are handy :captnkill: )

rabblerouser
06-30-07, 09:48 PM
Thanks for the replies. There are a lot of options for the X-Fi it seems. Prices range from Australian $95 to $629. I read somewhere to avoid the extreme audio, so I guess the next one up is the xtreme Gamer. There's an OEM version for A$139, maybe I'll pick that up.

jass
06-30-07, 09:56 PM
Putting my Audigy 2 into my new system and buying a crappy sound card for the old one, which I only use for work now. But I don't know how compatible the Audigy 2 is with Vista - some people seem to have probs with it in Vista.


Using X-Fi Fatality with latest Creative driver on Vista and have no problems.
As for Audigy the only problem that I heard about was that ALchemy (http://www.soundblaster.com/alchemy) would not work with anything but X-Fi cards. Apparently that has changed and there is ALchemy version for Audigy, but only X-Fi version is free.
I would steer away from Asus card, from what I read it uses the same C-Media chip that is on many older boards (that's why it's got this massive cover I guess) This won't give any hardware acceleration for sound

j0j081
07-02-07, 06:39 AM
make sure all your sound sliders are up all the way under sound in the control panel. mine seem to get lowered a lot by various applications.