PDA

View Full Version : Go Bob the Builder on your PC?

Zapablast05
07-02-07, 05:33 PM
So there I was, just staring at Speedfan, hoping my CPU would drop below 40 and my HDD drop below 30. All of a sudden... it dawned on me. More fans! BUT, you will never guess how I did it without spending a dime. You could call it "modding" but let's just say, I'm not a certified electrician.

I remember I had 2 old PSU with a 90mm fan and the other with an 80mm fan. I know it's not safe to open up PSU's because it still retains electricity and it will "void the warranty." I didn't care what happened to the warranty because the one with the 90mm was a 230 watt Powerman and the 80mm was a super old AT power supply. So they were really old and out of the game for good so I took them out of their misery; I stole the fans!

Now, the 90mm didn't have a pin connector but the 80mm did. I remember I had a 50mm under my computer desk along with my tool kit and my electrical tape (the bottom of my desk is a tool box :p). I took it out and took out my trusty razor. I sliced and diced away.

I took the molex connector off of the 50mm and took the 2 pin connector off the 80mm, stripped about 1 inch of the plastic coating away and I twined the copper wire together and taped it up. So, when I was finished with the 80mm, it had the molex connector and I had myself a really great HDD fan. I have no clue how fast it is and I don't have a rpm meter.

Next was the 90mm fan. My 260mm fan broke and I took it out. I removed the fan magnets and the fan blades so that I have a small circuit board with a molex connector and a 3 pin fan controller. I cut off the molex connecter, stripped the plastic coating and twined it together with the 90mm fan and taped it up. I now have a dandy 90mm exhaust fan :p.

I know it wasn't smart or it was; opinions are noted, lol, but it was a fun project/boredom killer/computer benefit. My HDD is now at 26c and my CPU is now at 37c on full load.