PDA

View Full Version : Vista Desktop Resolution issue


ShadowFX
07-05-07, 06:20 PM
Hi anyone know how to increse the resolution on a monitor passed what the display options give you. because on Win Xp my HDTV mon (1080p) can go up to 1920 x 1080 but on Vista it only lets me go to 1600 x1200. Any help plz


Comp Specs:
Video Card- 8800 GTS
Chip - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600
Ram - 2GBs
OS - Vista Ultimate

crainger
07-05-07, 09:04 PM
This might help... In display settings, properties, advanced settings, in monitor you can untick hide modes this monitor can't display, might reqire a reboot.

Just becareful what you select after doing this.

ShadowFX
07-05-07, 10:41 PM
This might help... In display settings, properties, advanced settings, in monitor you can untick hide modes this monitor can't display, might reqire a reboot.

Just becareful what you select after doing this.

I tried it still doesn't let me go to 1920 x1080, The only thing I can think of is that it says its using a Generic PnP Monitor driver but I've never seen drivers for a HDTV monitor :(

crainger
07-05-07, 10:46 PM
Yeah, might be worth having a look for the matching drivers, my Philips HDTV has drivers for download. Either that or try adding a custom resolution in the Nvidia control panel...

ShadowFX
07-06-07, 03:23 PM
Yeah, might be worth having a look for the matching drivers, my Philips HDTV has drivers for download. Either that or try adding a custom resolution in the Nvidia control panel...

Yeah couldn't find any drivers, I didn't have any issues with the Generic drivers on XP. Also there isn't an option to put your own custom Resolution on the nvidia panel in vista

ShadowFX
07-08-07, 04:02 PM
It looks like its just crappy Forceware Drivers for Vista :thumbdwn: , going to have to wait for some better drivers then. Atleast its not one of my main Monitors just one I like to watch videos from my computer on. Oh well thx for the help anyway.

einstein_314
07-08-07, 04:29 PM
Hi anyone know how to increse the resolution on a monitor passed what the display options give you. because on Win Xp my HDTV mon (1080p) can go up to 1920 x 1080 but on Vista it only lets me go to 1600 x1200. Any help plz


Comp Specs:
Video Card- 8800 GTS
Chip - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600
Ram - 2GBs
OS - Vista Ultimate
What kind of a connection are you using? DVI? VGA? Component?

I have a 1080p HDTV hooked up to my 7800GTX using a DVI to HDMI cable and it works fine at 1080p. I'm using Vista Ultimate with 158.24 drivers. Which drivers are you using?

ShadowFX
07-09-07, 09:54 PM
Hey Einstein I'm using a VGA to DVI Converter. Also I'm using the same drivers 158.24. I didn't have any issues on XP just a couple of weeks ago with the same setup. Thats why I think its a Vista Issue.