PDA

View Full Version : Time to upgrade


Pages : [1] 2 3

nV`andrew
07-07-07, 12:57 PM
Well, i wanna make the plunge to C2D. I love AMD but man i did a clean install and it still feels like my computer is running slower, so i want to start somewhat fresh. I have about $500 to spend. Not sure if it would be good to upgrade now or not, but i really want to get something.

Specs are in sig, but here they are again:
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ ~2.2ghz
eVGA nForce 4 SLi s939 mobo
2GB corsair (4x512mb) DDR400
eVGA 7900GT CO SuperClocked
OCZ GameXStream 700W SLi (i believe its DOA though, gotta rma it)
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Antec P-160WF
2x Seagate Barracuda 120GB SATA


i was thinking of getting:
e6400
Gigabyte 650i SLi (im going to go SLi eventually, suggestions welcome)
2GB of RAM (not sure which i should get for this, hoping to spend under $120)

for now im sticking with the 7900gt, although im gonna try to see if i can rma it and maybe spend a little more for a GTS possibly


thanks for any help, suggestions are welcome.

EDIT: just remembered, i have a few things i will be selling once i upgrade. the mobo, ram, processor, and a 17" LCD. i figure i could get almost $200 for that combo so that putting me to nearly $700

CaptNKILL
07-07-07, 01:42 PM
I wouldn't get the E6400. You'd have to spend more on ram to get a decent overclock out of it, and it probably wouldn't overclock much more than an E4300.

I plan on going for a P35 board, 2 gigs of DDR2-1066 or 1000 and one of the new E6750s when they come out in a couple weeks. I already have the best air cooler money can buy (thanks Mullet!!!!) so I'm shooting for 4Ghz. :D

If you really need to get something right now and you can't wait for the price drops or the the new CPUs, I'd recommend either getting an E6600 or an E4300 and some good DDR2-800. Anything else isn't really worth it.

I'd put any extra money into a good cooling. If you have room in your case, the Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (with a good fan) is easily the best cooler on the market.

Its no secret that the Core 2s Duos have a ton of overclocking head room (especially the new ones that are coming out) so if you get a board that can take a high FSB, a good cooler and ram that can handle the FSB you're shooting for, you'll have a monster of a CPU.

SH64
07-07-07, 01:51 PM
I'd wait a little further for the C2Q price cuts/reduction & get a quady!
new games are definitly making good use of it.

nV`andrew
07-07-07, 02:29 PM
thanks for the replies, i havent been following intel enough, when abouts are the price drops?

CaptNKILL
07-07-07, 02:50 PM
July 22nd the prices come down significantly for higher end models and a few other models are being added.

You should be able to get a quad core for under $300, but honestly I dont think its worth it yet. You get more heat and less overclockability, which means it'll be slower most of the time since few games make use of multiple cores right now. That could change with Crysis, but its bit too much of a gamble right now. I'd take the possibility of an extra 800Mhz of overclocking headroom.

The E6750 is the sweet spot in the new lineup IMO. It should be around or just under $200, and a few review sites have got it to nearly 4Ghz (!) on air cooling.

nV`andrew
07-07-07, 02:56 PM
July 22nd the prices come down significantly for higher end models and a few other models are being added.

You should be able to get a quad core for under $300, but honestly I dont think its worth it yet. You get more heat and less overclockability, which means it'll be slower most of the time since few games make use of multiple cores right now.

The E6750 is the sweet spot in the new lineup IMO. It should be around or just under $200.

yeah, quad core is nice and all, but i dont think for what we have out now and whats coming in the future, it isnt really worth it. my brother bitches to me everyday that its so good and he hardly knows much about computers. plus this pc is mostly for gaming and editing, and like i said, nothing out there really takes advantage, and im not running a server either. That processor will definitely be in my range, thanks for that.

Now my case is pretty big imo, and im gonna do a bit more modding so i can fit a fan or two up top and one on the side window. Has anyone put a G80 in this case and still had OK room? (Antec P160). if not, i could always sell it to a friend (a couple of them need new pc's). it has pretty good airflow too. but i may need something a bit bigger because i completely agree, cooling is extremely important and i do want to overclock some

EDIT: captnkill, you are putting these parts (including cooling) in to your p180, correct? that case is only an inch taller than mine, the other dimensions are the same, so i should be good to go

SH64
07-07-07, 04:01 PM
yeah, quad core is nice and all, but i dont think for what we have out now and whats coming in the future, it isnt really worth it. my brother bitches to me everyday that its so good and he hardly knows much about computers. plus this pc is mostly for gaming and editing, and like i said, nothing out there really takes advantage, and im not running a server either. That processor will definitely be in my range, thanks for that.

Dirt & Lost Planet are already using Quad-core if you have one & i bet the upcoming big games will do the same.
personally i'd take a quad-core CPU with lower clocks over any higher clocked dualy , whatever floats your boat though!

crainger
07-07-07, 04:44 PM
I'd wait a little further for the C2Q price cuts/reduction & get a quady!
new games are definitly making good use of it.

I agree. My 'Quaddy' destroys SupCom! Which is good, because if there was a game that needed putting in it's place, it was SupCom.

Also removed all the micro hitches from STALKER and Oblivion. My poor new PS3 does nothing, except play movies right now :(

Bman212121
07-07-07, 05:11 PM
Dirt & Lost Planet are already using Quad-core if you have one & i bet the upcoming big games will do the same.
personally i'd take a quad-core CPU with lower clocks over any higher clocked dualy , whatever floats your boat though!

+1 It goes back to the same debate as when the dual core first started rolling out. There aren't many apps designed to multithread, (now even more threads) but my pc tends to be running more than one thing, so I'm sure it helps even though it would be hard to show. You can look at the benchmarks all day long but IMO they still won't really show the advantages because they weren't designed to. When you see a benchmark they usually have the OS running, and anything that could mess with the results is disabled for the best comparision. (Remove as many variables as possible.) But unless you are really that hardcore about tweaking your gaming rig, chances are you have several other things turned on still in the background. I usually have Teamspeak, xfire, MSN messenger, Antivirus, and a few other things that are still running. They might not be taking a whole lot of processing power, but they can still take away from your game if they need to do something. Having an extra two cores sitting idle isn't going to hurt anything, and will usually help smooth things out if all of the sudden your AV decides it wants to run a scan or something.

nV`andrew
07-07-07, 05:19 PM
true, sometimes i get a big slow down and i wonder why, well my anti virus likes to run its sneaky little scans. lol. well once the price cuts come, i will take a second look at quad core. the e6750 is quite tempting, but i wont rule out quad yet.

CaptNKILL
07-07-07, 09:03 PM
well once the price cuts come, i will take a second look at quad core. the e6750 is quite tempting, but i wont rule out quad yet.
I think I will too.

Its just too damn cheap to totally count out.

If the quads ran a little cooler and overclocked better I'd be all over them, its just a bit of a hard sell right now with the possibility of a 4Ghz Core 2 Duo for $200.

buffbiff21
07-07-07, 09:13 PM
Q6600 for my pr0n-to-DVD encoding comp, E6600 for my game comp :D

crainger
07-08-07, 02:31 AM
Q6600 for my pr0n comp. I f'ing live for PORN!!!! :D

Now you're talking.

Amuro
07-08-07, 02:34 AM
Q6600 for my pr0n-to-DVD encoding comp, E6600 for my game comp :D
My not use the Q for both?

nV`andrew
07-08-07, 11:05 AM
The other Q would be angered that he isnt handling teh pr0nz

buffbiff21
07-08-07, 01:38 PM
My not use the Q for both?

Heat limitations? http://dinosaurrockguitar.com/forum/Smileys/DRGsmiles/jerkitsmiley.gif

CaptNKILL
07-08-07, 03:12 PM
I agree. My 'Quaddy' destroys SupCom! Which is good, because if there was a game that needed putting in it's place, it was SupCom.

Also removed all the micro hitches from STALKER and Oblivion. My poor new PS3 does nothing, except play movies right now :(
What CPU did you have before the Quad? One of the reasons I'm upgrading is to smooth of Oblivion and STALKER. If a Quad will help them more than a higher clocked Core 2, then I'll go for it.

It really isn't any cheaper if you factor in RAM costs. $140 ddr2-1066 + E6750 (for high FSB overclocking) will cost almost as much as $80 ddr2-800 + Q6600.

BTW, what kind of overclocks are people getting with Q6600s and good, high end coolers?

buffbiff21
07-08-07, 03:14 PM
BTW, what kind of overclocks are people getting with Q6600s and good, high end coolers?
1.4 vcore maximum from what I see.

Beyond that (max clock speed you can get off that voltage) it's up to each individual chip.

CaptNKILL
07-08-07, 03:24 PM
I think I might go with the Quad actually. :o

With a big fat ass cooler like the Ultra Extreme and a SilenX I don't think heat will be too much of a problem.

I'd love to get more clock speed out of it (a 4Ghz dual core is mouth watering) but Crysis is my other big reason for upgrading and I can see it taking advantage of the extra cores.

I have to say though, I'll be pissed if Crysis, Bioshock, UT3 and other high profile titles only benefit slightly from quad cores in CPU heavy situations. There is a lot of hype around the multicore crap these days and so far it hasn't amounted to much. There's a lot riding on this year's cutting edge titles.

nV`andrew
07-08-07, 04:04 PM
ughhh decisions decisions. damn i kinda want quad as well..i wanna see how low the prices will drop on the egg

and you are right, they always say things are taking advantage of multiple cores, but in reality, you may be gaining one more frame

CaptNKILL
07-08-07, 06:05 PM
ughhh decisions decisions. damn i kinda want quad as well..i wanna see how low the prices will drop on the egg

and you are right, they always say things are taking advantage of multiple cores, but in reality, you may be gaining one more frame
Yeah, Oblivion was a good example.

In a heavily CPU bound area I went from 14fps on a single core to 18fps on a dual core (both at 2.5Ghz). Woohoo. :headexplode:

Its really a tough decision right now. If could definitely hit 3.4Ghz or more with a Quad I'd be all over it. But there's a chance I might not get it over 3 or 3.2 and that'd just suck. The core 2s are fast but I'm looking for a massive jump in CPU speed. The new 6750 seems to be getting between 3.6 and 3.95, which is INSANE.

I wish we could get some solid numbers on multicore performance for Crysis and other games currently in development.

I was planning on getting a P35 so that I could get a dual core now and then get a Yorkfield quad later when they were faster and cooler, but thats a long ways off I think...

nV`andrew
07-08-07, 07:19 PM
Yeah, i am expecting to see something insane as well, over my 3800. im not set on any motherboard, but now im kinda thinking about getting a p35 also. i have never gone SLi, but it is nice to have the option there. but the more i think about it, im not gonna save up money later on and buy a second, dated card, i'd go with the something new and better (which most likely i wouldn't be able to afford two of)


And at this time it sucks, all the games that are really going to push our newest gaming technology wont be out for a little while, and with all the price drops, we still dont have benchmarks (like you said) that will furthermore justify the means of going quad, etc.

EDIT: which brand is currently offering the best p35 board, asus?

CaptNKILL
07-08-07, 07:30 PM
I think the Gigabyte and Asus P35 boards are the best. They are both pretty popular and they seem to be getting great overclocks.

Also, check this out:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1306819&postcount=7

If you want--Wait for the Q6600 with the GO stepping (highly overclockable) to become available for between $266 and $300. If you want a quadcore. E6850 if just dual.
If next week is it--e6600 then upgrade to the Q6600 and sell the 6600. :)
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=517039
Wow, thanks for the tip. This is the first I've heard of the G0 stepping.

I found this thread though:
http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=28&threadid=2068371

Sounds awesome.

They say the G0 will be available on the 22nd, but thats pretty speculative.

Anyone know whats really going on with these? It sounds like exactly what I want. Quad cores with less power consumption, lower temps and higher overclockability.

EDIT: Oh man... tankguys.com has preorder spots for them. You pay $5 and they will reserve a spot for you when the CPU comes out. The price is expected to be between $275 and $300. If its over $300, you can cancel and get your $5 back.

Sounds like a pretty sweet deal... but $300 for a CPU is getting pretty high up there for me. I normally spend less than $200. My current X2 is the most expensive CPU (by FAR) that I've owned in 7 years and that cost me $190.

I think this might be the ticket.

http://www.tankguys.biz/product_info.php?cPath=29_181&products_id=1712&osCsid=50b07f4a497059427b956fd933c6cfc4

nV`andrew
07-08-07, 07:36 PM
Thanks for that. $300 is getting up there for me too, i'd like to save a little money for cooling besides getting my mobo, ram, and cpu. Plus, i dont even have a G80 yet :o

CaptNKILL
07-09-07, 02:59 PM
I'm really considering that Q6600 preorder.

I was wondering though... what would be the best board for a Q6600? Should I still get a P35? Or would a P965 be better?

It doesn't really matter too much to me, I just want the best performance and reliability. Penryn\Yorkfield compatibility is nice too though...