PDA

View Full Version : What hardware do I need to run 1600x1200 with 3 monitors ?


fireant007
07-08-07, 08:52 PM
I am kinda new at all this so please forgive me if these questions are a little umm.. noob :D

Thought this would be the best forum to ask in here as I am yet to buy the graphics cards.

I would really like to run 3 monitors at 1600 x 1200. This will be for gaming and normal desktop use ..

Matrox make a box that is almost right
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gxm/products/th2go/digital/home.php
that will do DVI at 1280x1024. Its almost exactly what I want .. but not at the right resolution.

I don't expect to run SLI and would be prepared to buy 3 top end cards if it will do the job.

The question is though .. can it be done ?

Would games run in this mode ?

Would the bezels line up correctly ? ... like this http://www.matrox.com/graphics/media/common/th2go/Digital/media/TH2Go_ecransbezel_with.jpg

and not like this http://www.matrox.com/graphics/media/common/th2go/Digital/media/TH2Go_ecransbezel_without.jpg

What about the normal desktop .. can XP or Vista handle 3 monitors without extra software ?

Any advice appreciated guys ... thanks

fireant007
07-08-07, 10:51 PM
Even a yes or no answer would help :afro2:

MUYA
07-08-07, 11:18 PM
Matrox triple head ...goto their website and search dude!

cyrik
07-09-07, 12:01 AM
Matrox triple head ...goto their website and search dude!

10/10 for reading & comprehension skills :D


fireant007:

i got the very same problem. bought 2x 22" widescreens & a 8800 and would like one more monitor & graphic card. i have sought google thin and read page up and down everywhere for weeks but as of now the only thing i've found out is that nv cant be bothered to write the code to expand 3d acceleration across 3 monitors :/ (afaik)

guess they don't play games on their own cards :P if they did i'm sure they would have noticed the frame between the two screens make it damn hard to aim in fps games ><

so only option i know of so far is the quadro.. which cost an arm & leg for a version you can actually play HL2 etc on

**edit**

please drop a line if you figure out how to span across 2 cards, i reeeally want that last screen :)

MUYA
07-09-07, 12:50 AM
10/10 for reading & comprehension skills :D


Bwahahaha :p

(pb)

MUYA
07-09-07, 12:53 AM
I am kinda new at all this so please forgive me if these questions are a little umm.. noob :D

Thought this would be the best forum to ask in here as I am yet to buy the graphics cards.

I would really like to run 3 monitors at 1600 x 1200. This will be for gaming and normal desktop use ..

Matrox make a box that is almost right
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gxm/products/th2go/digital/home.php
that will do DVI at 1280x1024. Its almost exactly what I want .. but not at the right resolution.

I don't expect to run SLI and would be prepared to buy 3 top end cards if it will do the job.

The question is though .. can it be done ?

Would games run in this mode ?

Would the bezels line up correctly ? ... like this http://www.matrox.com/graphics/media/common/th2go/Digital/media/TH2Go_ecransbezel_with.jpg

and not like this http://www.matrox.com/graphics/media/common/th2go/Digital/media/TH2Go_ecransbezel_without.jpg

What about the normal desktop .. can XP or Vista handle 3 monitors without extra software ?

Any advice appreciated guys ... thanks
I think SLi and Triple head are compatible dude.

widescreengaming.com

I thnk that is the website where they might be able to help you.

cyrik
07-09-07, 01:21 AM
Triplehead is for people with 17" monitors ^^ you cant really do much with 1280x1024 on todays cheap 20-22"+ wide screens, thats the problem- and scaling down looks darn fugly on lcd :S

heck i can almost fit all 3x1280 width on my two monitors

there is a limitation of 3840x1024 for the nv graphics cards with the 400 dac (not sure if they can increase if if you only run 60hz) which is why the Tripplehead tops out at 3x 1280x1024- its simply the cards that set the limit.

so we need nv to write something brilliant so we can have 2 cards to smalltalk and share the load over 3 monitors (or 4,5,6 what ever :) )

and yea, sli works fine with tripplehead- but all it does is make two cards work on one big screen.. which unfortunately isnt big enough ><

more spanking! :P

**edit**
typos
http://www.digitaltigers.com/displays-arena.shtml <3

cyrik
07-09-07, 01:50 AM
There is a list here of resolutions supported, and a nice read too which might be useful in case i got some of the info the wrong way around :P

http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/04/can_matroxs_triplehead2go_span_fun_across_three_di splays/page4.html

fireant007
07-09-07, 06:09 AM
Thanks for the reply guys ...

Thanks to some of you for actually reading the post ;)

Cyrik .. you mentioned Quatro cards ?

If I buy them and a triple head will that do the trick do you think ?

I don't know much about graphics cards. I will go and read up on the quatro though.

Would there be an ATI solution do you think ?

Do I have to use a triple head ? .. could I buy 3 cards and get them to work ?



MUYA ...
the site widescreengaming.com is just a junk click harvester as far as I can tell.

But thanks for your ...... interest anyway.

Toss3
07-09-07, 06:22 AM
Thanks for the reply guys ...

Thanks to some of you for actually reading the post ;)

Cyrik .. you mentioned Quatro cards ?

If I buy them and a triple head will that do the trick do you think ?

I don't know much about graphics cards. I will go and read up on the quatro though.

Would there be an ATI solution do you think ?

Do I have to use a triple head ? .. could I buy 3 cards and get them to work ?



MUYA ...
the site widescreengaming.com is just a junk click harvester as far as I can tell.

But thanks for your ...... interest anyway.

widescreengamingforum.com (http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page)

And I really don't think there's any current solution available for what you want. Matrox Triplehead2go is the closest you'll get. :)

cyrik
07-09-07, 03:01 PM
yes the quadro can do it- some of the quadro versions support up to 4 monitors connected to the card itself and can span over 2-4 monitors. they use 2x y cables to each port on the card it self. only problem is if you want a highend chip & lots of mem the cards seems to cost alot more then 8800gtx in sli

in theory you could buy 3 card and get em to work yes, or two. but nv havnt written the software so afaik were stuck looking at a plastic frame in the middle of our screen until they get their finger out and actually try playing on their own hardware :S

cr0ft
07-10-07, 08:31 AM
Getting three monitors to work on a machine is not that hard. I'm doing that on two old 6600GT's, at 1600x1200 per screen. Virtually all graphics cards have two outputs these days.

If one is content to do gaming on just one screen, then switching the two outermost screens off for gaming on the center one is simplicity itself - as long as one gets UltraMon (shareware, fantastic for managing multiple "real" separate monitors as opposed to the Matrox triplehead.) It's just a right-click on the taskbar icon and selecting a display profile (that you've prepared beforehand ;) ) for running just the central monitor. To get back to three monitors for any non-gaming purposes, just do that in reverse and select another profile that has all three screens activated.

Well, possibly you could game across two screen for one game, Supreme Commander, which supports using two screens - assuming they are connected to just one card, the primary which would have to be an 8800GTX or something for it to work well... going to try that as soon as I've replaced one of my 6600's with an 8800. But obviously that is very much an exception.

Anyway; if multiscreen gaming is the thing one is explicitly after with other multiscreen stuff fairly unimportant, then the triplehead2go is pretty much the only option (and three 17-19 inchers at 1280x1024), as you are in truth gaming on just one monitor then as far as the computer goes - the external box just splits the signal.

That gives drawbacks as well as benefits. With three screens connected to actual graphics card ports, you can mazimize programs to one screen, not just to the entire desktop. Meaning, you can for instance have a browser maximized on the left screen, a file browser centered on the middle screen and even run fullscreen video on the rightmost screen, and you don't need to do any manual moving of windows, they snap into place just as they do when maximized on a "normal" single screen.