PDA

View Full Version : evga 680i TR or something else?


mcintyre1
07-08-07, 10:36 PM
I'm looking to get a new motherboard which will overclock well. I was set on the 680i until I started reading this forum. I don't want SLI, I just liked the features that came with the 680i (Sound, LAN stuff). Is there another kind of board I should be looking at? I'm going to be putting in 4x1GB sticks of A-data DDR2 800.

Slobs
07-08-07, 11:02 PM
I'm looking to get a new motherboard which will overclock well. I was set on the 680i until I started reading this forum. I don't want SLI, I just liked the features that came with the 680i (Sound, LAN stuff). Is there another kind of board I should be looking at? I'm going to be putting in 4x1GB sticks of A-data DDR2 800.


Dude seriously, unless you are going to go SLI their are so many other far better choices out there than the buggy nvidia 680I platform.

mcintyre1
07-09-07, 12:13 AM
Dude seriously, unless you are going to go SLI their are so many other far better choices out there than the buggy nvidia 680I platform.

Like what? I figured as much, after reading the 680i thread, but I haven't been keeping up on hardware like I used to.

Badboy_12345
07-09-07, 03:14 AM
nothing buggy about the 680i I have a asus striker extreme and havent had a singel problem with the board..

it was just some little problem with the sata on the reference designs of 680i boards and people have taken it out of proportion. Any 680i board you buy now will not have any problems.

Im just sick of people talking crap without checking out the facts and never owning a 680i board.

Mine asus striker extreme is one of the best boards I have ever owned in my life, its just perfect and packed with features.

mcintyre1
07-09-07, 10:09 AM
680? Something else!

Get a good 965 or the new P35 board. ASUS or Gigabyte.

I used 4x1GB DDR2 800 with different EVGA 680i board... each time after 3 days one stick of the 4 started to show errors.

Would you recommend the Asus P5B P965 based board, or the Gigabyte P35-DS3 board?

mcolbourn
07-09-07, 10:23 AM
I would go for the P35-DS3 for a bit of future profing. and as said before if you don't need SLI then you don't need a 680i. (I know I have one and no SLI but I wasn't sure if I was going for SLI but I have not)

Slobs
07-09-07, 10:27 AM
nothing buggy about the 680i I have a asus striker extreme and havent had a singel problem with the board..

it was just some little problem with the sata on the reference designs of 680i boards and people have taken it out of proportion. Any 680i board you buy now will not have any problems.

Im just sick of people talking crap without checking out the facts and never owning a 680i board.

Mine asus striker extreme is one of the best boards I have ever owned in my life, its just perfect and packed with features.


You are hilarious:rolleyes2 anyone with half a brain can do a search or look around the net and see the issues that plague the 680I platform. Its not a big secret that the platform has more than its share of issues.

Good grief the number of RMA's etc....for the 680I's speak for themselves.

Granted there are actually some that are good but that number is very very few compared to the ones that are POS'S.

Going back to a P5B deluxe was the best move I ever made.

buffbiff21
07-09-07, 11:00 AM
I don't want SLI

Don't buy a 680i.

mcintyre1
07-09-07, 11:11 AM
I've gotten my mind off of the 680i, but now I'm reading that Windows XP doesn't really function well with 4GB of RAM installed. Is it not worth getting the two extra sticks on an XP system? I'm also reading that the limitation isn't there for 64 bit CPU's and OS's. If I used the 64-bit edition of XP, would I not have any problems?

Slobs
07-09-07, 11:20 AM
I've gotten my mind off of the 680i, but now I'm reading that Windows XP doesn't really function well with 4GB of RAM installed. Is it not worth getting the two extra sticks on an XP system? I'm also reading that the limitation isn't there for 64 bit CPU's and OS's. If I used the 64-bit edition of XP, would I not have any problems?


You will not have any problems either way you go its just that the 32bit OS will not recognize all 4 gigs of memory. It will read up to something like 2.9gigs.

I have 4gigs of memory currently myself under windows xp and once vista 64 becomes a reliable OS I will upgrade to it.

mcintyre1
07-09-07, 12:07 PM
Both are very nice. The Gigabyte is new and has lots of potential via upcoming BIOS updates. I would say the Gigabyte...

Alright. Sorry to keep asking questions, but would you recommend the P5K or the P35-DS3?