PDA

View Full Version : Questions about E6600


Napoleon_Kane
07-09-07, 12:36 AM
Hello there, i see that lots of people here can OC their E6600 to 3.2mhz easily, but i never do it before, i hope someone here can give me some advise or tell me where can i read something about it :)

The Questions are:
1) I am using ASUS P5B-D, is it a good mobo to OC?
2) Do i need to buy something before OC my system? Hestsink or anything else?
3) How to OC my system? in BIOS? or can be done in Windows? which one is better?
4) I have a 8800GTX,and my PSU is ENERMAX 620W Liberty Power Supply, is my PSU got enough power to support them?

Thank you :)

FastRedPonyCar
07-09-07, 11:20 AM
That board should be fine for overclocking.

A better heatsink would be a pretty much essential purchase. I'm using a Zalman 9500

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835118223

And my load temps never go over 40*C (see system in sig).

I think one of the most important components will be your ram. Seems like that's the big limiting factor for overclocks. The patriot ram I'm using has taken every single overclock I've thrown at it and I can't get the machine to crash so I'm a huge believer in this brand now...and their $50 rebate they had when I bought it.

I stopped at 3.4 becuase anything higher yields no real increases in benchmark scores. I'm sure once I have a better graphics card though, I may see slightly higher scores.

Your PSU should be fine as well.

As far as the actual overclocking process goes, there are countless threads here and over at Oc forums.

like this one.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=518159


don't use any windows based overclocking utilties. 9 times out of 10 they're crap. The Bios is the tried and true method with the most control over the system by FAR.

Napoleon_Kane
07-09-07, 02:55 PM
Thanks for the info FastRedPonyCar, but i have one more question,
i am using the G.Skill memory, it's 2GBPK CL4 pack,
since i never do any OC before so i want to ask you is this ram good enough for me to OC my E6600? :)

FastRedPonyCar
07-09-07, 03:01 PM
which Gskill pack is it? I put some lower end Gskill in my dad's e6400 machine and it got a decent oc.

Napoleon_Kane
07-10-07, 12:20 AM
which Gskill pack is it? I put some lower end Gskill in my dad's e6400 machine and it got a decent oc.

It's 2GBPK CL4 pack, DDR2-800, is it good also? ;)

FastRedPonyCar
07-10-07, 09:30 AM
I'm assuming it's one of these 3 packs.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=50008476+40000147+1052308477+1052416064+10525080 81&Description=gskill&name=4


Which in any of their cases, you should be fine. My dad's machine has the Green heat spreader PC800

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231084

And it wouldn't go past a 700 mhz overclock. I put my sticks in there and it was able to go right up to near where mine was oc'd to.

Napoleon_Kane
07-11-07, 02:38 AM
Thanks for those information, i should put sometime on reading these forums and start a little OC for my system. ;)

buffbiff21
07-11-07, 03:45 AM
It's 2GBPK CL4 pack, DDR2-800, is it good also? ;)

Even the crappiest 800MHz RAM will take your CPU to 3.6GHz.

Madpistol
07-11-07, 09:35 AM
Even the crappiest 800MHz RAM will take your CPU to 3.6GHz.

Agreed. 1600mhz fsb/ 800mhz memory = fun fun fun. :D

Core 2 Duo loves 1:1 fsb/memory ratios.

lduguay
07-11-07, 10:11 AM
Agreed. 1600mhz fsb/ 800mhz memory = fun fun fun. :D

Core 2 Duo loves 1:1 fsb/memory ratios.
3.6Ghz FTW!
But mine craps out after 1500 Fsb. I guess I could try going 1600 at 1:1 directly. Maybe i'm hitting a "dead zone" (not sure if dead zone is the right word ) btw 1500 and 1600 FSB by having bad fsb/memory ratios.

Napoleon_Kane
07-16-07, 03:22 AM
I hope anyone still can give me some suggestion,
since i'm shocked, 2 days ago i started to OC my system,
with the Zalman CNPS9700 NT Cpu cooling fan installed,
i try to set my Cpu Freq to 400, and the multiple Ratio to x8,
didn't change any of the Vcore, and saved the BIOS setting,
but what i got was a "BEEP" and my PC was shut down,
and it can't boot up again, the only thing i can hear is a "BEEP" and the
noise from the fan, actually, is there something i forgot? or do i need to
raise the Vcore? Thank you :)

FastRedPonyCar
07-16-07, 09:49 AM
When the system goes "dead" like that and just beeps at you, you have to reset the bios by pullilng the plug from the back of the power supply and pulling the little battery out of the motherboard and waiting about 10 or so seconds, put the battery back in, plug into the PSU and reboot and try again.

Napoleon_Kane
07-16-07, 10:10 AM
When the system goes "dead" like that and just beeps at you, you have to reset the bios by pullilng the plug from the back of the power supply and pulling the little battery out of the motherboard and waiting about 10 or so seconds, put the battery back in, plug into the PSU and reboot and try again.
Thanks :)
Now i set my FSB to 333, Multiper Ratio is X9, so my cpu is now running at 3.0Ghz, also, i set my DRAM freq to 333 to archive the 1:1 method ( actually my ram is ddr2-800, but at this time i still not dare to raise my FSB to 400 ),
running ORTHOS nearly 20 mintues without any error, but my Cpu temps is raise at 58C, two core's temps are 64C, as i read those information you gave me, the safty temps for my E6600 is 60.1C, so can i still push my FSB? or the heat will cost me so i better stay at 3.0Ghz?
thank you again for the help :)

Napoleon_Kane
07-16-07, 02:42 PM
I want to thanks for all who had help me in this matter :)
finally, I successed to OC my E6600 to 3.2Ghz,
but I got some questions to ask.

1) I'm using ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi/ap mobo, in the BIOS menu, if my FSB is set to default ( 266 ), then the DRAM Freq is set to 800 by default because my Gskill 2GBPK pack is ddr2-800, now, i want to archive the 1:1 method (FSB : DRAM) so i need to raise my FSB to 400, but i found that when i change the FSB to 400, the DRAM freq change to 1200 itself, but I don't think i can boot it up since my ram are only DDR2-800, i try to click the list and i found that i can choose 800 for it, but actually it's 533 right? just because my FSB has been raised so it raise from 533 to 800, so my question is, to archive the 1:1 ratio method, which one do i need to choose? DRAM freq = 800 or DRAM freq = 1200? Thank you :)

2) As all of you can see that my mobo is very hot, yes, it goes up to 50C and made me worry about it, i want to know if the Temp is ok for my mobo or 50C for P5B-D is too hot? if it is too hot, then what should i do to reduce it's temp? What can cause it so hot? thanks .

3) When I try to full load my system by using ORTHOS, the temp of my CPU is 63C, and the 2 core, both of them are 68C, i want to know is it safe or it's a little bit hot for my E6600? the Vcore i set in the BIOS is 1.325V, but from what i saw in ProbII the actual VCore is 1.28V, since my system didn't reboot so i assume that it is enough? or any other suggestions?

Thank you for your time and I'm really happy for all of your help,
please look at my picture for more information :)