PDA

View Full Version : Geforce 8800GTX fan speed?


Eltigre88
07-09-07, 06:32 PM
My card idles at 56C and it feels like the fan is not blowing out the back. I have 2 90mm fans blowing in and a 90 and 80 blowing out plus the powers supply blowing out. Thanks for any help.

corny
07-17-07, 09:41 AM
56 idle is a good temp, sounds like the fan is fine - use a hand! everest, or speedfan to check if you wish!

XFX Support
07-18-07, 12:20 PM
That is a great idle temp, what does it get to under a load?

Eltigre88
07-18-07, 01:47 PM
That is a great idle temp, what does it get to under a load?

65C when I'm playing BF2142.

I'll run 3dmark06 and post the temps tonight.

It got to 72C with 3dmark06 with ambient temp of 47C

Madpistol
07-18-07, 08:55 PM
65C when I'm playing BF2142.

I'll run 3dmark06 and post the temps tonight.

It got to 72C with 3dmark06 with ambient temp of 47C

Temps sound great. Nothing to worry about.

If the temps ever get up to 90C, do this ->:headexplode:

SLippe
07-18-07, 09:39 PM
You can use Rivatuner to have it at 100% or whatever you want it at all the time or just in 3D mode.

breathemetal
07-19-07, 12:41 PM
I have my fan speed at auto, and it idles at 63c
is that bad or good?

i had it at 100% and it was idling at 58/59 but the noise from the fan was a bit too loud for my tastes

also, my Ht Spp-mcp voltage is 1.45, is that too high? nvmonitor is saying it is
it also says my pci-e @ 1.5 is too high as well

Eltigre88
07-19-07, 02:19 PM
btw, stock fan speed for the 8800 series is 60%...to answer your question.

Are you saying it never goes above 60%?

I guess I will setup my rivatuner again so the fan does it's job when I say to. I did a windows restore and have been reinstalling since. Getting ready to reformatt any way to add another drive to the RAID.

$n][pErMan
07-21-07, 12:03 PM
I use RivaTuner or ExperTool for fan speed :)

Eltigre88
07-21-07, 07:48 PM
I'm using Rivatuner. Right now I have the fan at 100% because my central air is on the frits and it is 45F ambient but the card is hanging out at 56C. Not bad just wish I was cooler.:)

$n][pErMan
07-21-07, 09:48 PM
56C is pretty damn cool for the 8800GTX... mine idles at about 65 ~ 66c and full load about 80c. Which from my understanding.. is cool for this card. Keep in mind the GTX runs much hotter than other cards and is designed too.

Eltigre88
07-22-07, 10:02 AM
Here is a quick pick.

This is also with a new suposid source of heat; my Thermaltake PurePower PSU for my GPU which has had no inpact on my temps but plenty on my performance!

Eltigre88
07-23-07, 08:34 AM
Wouldn't the card disperse heat more if the shown slots were cover? This would make the air have to go all the way accross the fins and out of the case. I don't understand the point of having this area open. The pictures are of course from Newegg.

Sir Random
07-24-07, 02:47 PM
Wouldn't the card disperse heat more if the shown slots were cover? This would make the air have to go all the way accross the fins and out of the case. I don't understand the point of having this area open. The pictures are of course from Newegg.
Yeah, it looks like that would work, but in reality it has the opposite effect. If you block those slots, the card temps rise.

I made a cardboard 'duct' which fits underneath my GTX (resting on my sound card) and it guides the hot air from those slots out throught the 3rd and 4th pci card slots at the back of my case. I got the idea from another forum, where some guy made a chute from perspex. This lowered the card temps and ambient temps by a few degrees.

Eltigre88
07-25-07, 07:59 AM
You know with the amount of money these babies cost you would think they could do so much better with the cooling aspect. You use to have options for cooling you could purchase at www.EVGA.com but not any more. They say it is a possability of the products becoming availible again. I don't really see a point to using anything but something that pumps the heat out the back. No clue why Arctic Cooling gave up their design it worked well???

cefurkan
07-25-07, 05:15 PM
my 8800 gts is 87 celcius at load
but using at 660/2140 mhz :D

Eltigre88
07-28-07, 08:59 AM
You can use Rivatuner to have it at 100% or whatever you want it at all the time or just in 3D mode.

Rivatuner is driving me nuts. I set up my fan speeds in accordance with core temps, but I can't get it to run accordingly. If I put fan speed to auto it sits at 60% and that is not even one of my settings. Am I missing something here? Help would be much appreciated.

Eliminator
07-28-07, 11:55 AM
so the fan doesnt automatically speed up under load?... that doesnt sound right...

Eltigre88
07-29-07, 08:39 AM
so the fan doesnt automatically speed up under load?... that doesnt sound right...

Nope! I did everything by the manual but I can't get it to work right. I have it fixed at 80% for now.