PDA

View Full Version : Quick overclocking question(s)


Zapablast05
07-12-07, 10:48 PM
I crash at 590core/850memory after 5 seconds of game time on my 8600GT. What's more important, the core clock or the memory clock? And could the crashing be caused by another component or PCI-E bus or is it just overheating? I get a BSOD saying that the error occured with the nv4_disp.dll.

Zapablast05
07-12-07, 10:58 PM
Sorry about this but I need quick feed back as I'm doing this for my friend right now.

beardstroke
07-12-07, 11:15 PM
I crash at 590core/850memory after 5 seconds of game time on my 8600GT. What's more important, the core clock or the memory clock? And could the crashing be caused by another component or PCI-E bus or is it just overheating? I get a BSOD saying that the error occured with the nv4_disp.dll.

Well if you could tell us your temps it would be useful in diagnosing the problem.

I would be willing to bet not enough voltage though.

buffbiff21
07-12-07, 11:18 PM
First, be absolutely sure to run the most recent drivers. The nvdisp BSOD is a driver issue IIRC...

Core clock is more important. I'm not sure where the latencies change along the lines of the v-RAM overclock; possibly one of the video card gurus can elaborate on this. (jakup?)

To test a video card overclock, run 3dmark06.

Also, try upping the southbridge voltage or upping the PCI-e lane frequency to 125. (I'm not sure about your mainboard but you should be able to do this.

Zapablast05
07-12-07, 11:35 PM
The temps on load are 54 celsius. I don't have 3DMark06 but I have 03 and I get a black screen right after the Proxycon test (test 2). I have the 32-Bit beta driver from nvidia. As for the motherboard, it can handle up to 120 (3Ghz) that I know of and it's at 117 right now. My voltages are as followed: VCore1: 1.30, VCore2: 2.08, +3.3V: 3.30V, +5V: 4.89V, +12V: 12.03V, -12V: -12.20V, -5V: -6.31V, +5V: 4.92V, Vbat: 3.07V. Those are off of Speedfan. nTune doesn't read out my voltages. I can go into the BIOS and get all the voltages if that helps?

Zapablast05
07-12-07, 11:46 PM
Ok, I cranked the PCI-E Bus to 125 (3.15Ghz) and I'm not crashing. This is what I have on my BIOS performance page: PCIE Clock-125, CPU Clock Ratio- x10, Robust Graphics Booster- Turbo, DDR2 Voltage Control- +0.250V, Chipset/PCIE Voltage- +0.325V, HT-Link Voltage- +0.200, CPU HT-Link Voltage- +0.200V, CPU Voltage Control- 1.3250V. As for the GPU driver, its 162.18.

SLippe
07-13-07, 03:48 AM
Core is more important than Memory clock. Set your Core Clock first, then the Memory Clock. Besides 3DMark06, Rainbow Six:Vegas is also a good way to test your overclocks, if you have it. For example, when attempting to find my max overclocks on my card, I could make it thru '06 just fine, but I'd get artifacts (blinking black boxes) in Rainbow Six:Vegas. I've never upped my PCI-e Bus. Just be careful when doing so.

Zapablast05
07-13-07, 03:22 PM
I don't have Rainbow Six either: Vegas either. I check my clocks with 3DMark03 and Source SDK Base on max settings and I get by with an average of 63.2 FPS if I set the clock to 560/830. The PCI-E Bus is at 135 and I'm going to set the 590/880 clock now and run Source SDK Base first. If I make it through with even minimal artifacts or image noise, I'll check with '03. I'll run ORTHOS too, because I tightened the RAM timings to 5-4-3-5-11 CL5.

Zapablast05
07-13-07, 07:05 PM
Man, I don't get it. If I set it to 580/880, Nvidia Monitor gives me green on both, that it's stable. But when I start a game or Source SDK Base, I freeze after about 10 seconds and I start seeing artifacts and noise. I have absolutely no clue..