PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on my upgrade


easyrider
07-13-07, 11:37 PM
I'm getting really close to my upgrade time, needed it for awhile now.
My cuirrent setup is:
Abit mainboard single channel mem only (forget the model and all)
P4 3.0ghz prescott (not overclocked)
BFG 7800gs OC "agp" <--- on agp (not overclocked as it's already overlcoked)

My upgrade will be as follows: (keep in mind this is not an massive elite upgrade, but more an above average good, decent upgrade)

EVGA 640-P2-N821-AR GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail = $400
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130071

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail = $186
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115016

GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail = $167
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128048

CORSAIR XMS2 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 675 (PC2 5400) Desktop Memory - Retail - $45 x 3 = $135
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145573

Grand total of $888, so we'll say $900 for a round figure.



So any thoughts on the upgrade?
I'm not really wanting to go top of the line just yet, as I am going to school and soon will have a better job, makeing more money, quite a bit in fact, $8.50 now, to hopefully $15hr - $17hr, as soon as I do that I will be saveing for a REALY nice new build then. Until then, this will do nicely, at least I hope.

Amuro
07-13-07, 11:45 PM
Everything is good except memory. You can get 2GB of PC2-800 memory for less:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145034
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146565

Plus 2GB dual-channel is better than 3GB.

easyrider
07-13-07, 11:50 PM
Everything is good except memory. You can get 2GB of PC2-800 memory for less:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145034
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146565

Plus 2GB dual-channel is better than 3GB.

Yeah but if you'll notice I posted the $45 x 3, wich is 3 gb, I am going with 3 gb instead of 2, wich is why I chose the 1 gb sticks.
I'm not gonna go vista right now, so I won't go 4 gb, because as I understand it xp pro doesn't see 4 gigs, or has issues with seeing it, wich is why I chose 3 gb.
Newegg doesn't seem to have a 3 gig option, wich makes sence because it's in pairs normally, and is an odd number.

Amuro
07-13-07, 11:56 PM
If you're not going to Vista, you really don't need more than 2GB. I don't know how much of the 3GB XP SP2 will see.

easyrider
07-14-07, 12:08 AM
If you're not going to Vista, you really don't need more than 2GB. I don't know how much of the 3GB XP SP2 will see.

Not sure myself, from all I have red and heard it will be fine with 3, just has issues with 4, but I heard something, if I go 3 gig, I was told that it'd be single channel, is that right?

Given that, then 2 gig dual channel I would think would be faster than 3 gig single channel, corse I could be wrong.
If so then yes I'll be going 2 gig dual channel, not 3 gig

Amuro
07-14-07, 12:28 AM
It would be single channel if you use three 1GB sticks. 2x1GB + 2x512MB sticks would make it dual channel, but that would leave you no room for future upgrade when you go Vista eventually.

Madpistol
07-14-07, 01:33 AM
2 x 1GB Dual Channel in Windows XP is plenty fast. There's no doubt about that one. Anything beyond that at this point is overkill.

NaitoSan
07-14-07, 01:52 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel_architecture

and yes, 2gb dual channel is a win beside 3gb is a odd number. :o if you use 4gb, go for windows xp or vista 64bit.

easyrider
07-14-07, 03:01 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel_architecture

and yes, 2gb dual channel is a win beside 3gb is a odd number. :o if you use 4gb, go for windows xp or vista 64bit.

Will xp even see or work with 4 gb (2 x 2gb)?

Amuro
07-14-07, 04:59 AM
Will xp even see or work with 4 gb (2 x 2gb)?
Yeah, but the max it can see is 3GB. My system only sees 2.75GB with two vid cards. My Vista 32-bit sees about 2.87GB.

I'm going to install Vista x64 when I have the time.