PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a new camera... advice?

Tuork
07-18-07, 03:23 PM
Hey guys...
So I'm in the US right now, and I'm thinking of buying a new digital camera. The only one I've ever owned before is a piece of crap not even worth mentioning, so let's say I'm new at this.

I don't need anything fancy, just your basic point and shoot for when I'm travelling, but I do want the following:
-Quick to turn on
-Does NOT take long between pictures (as in being able to take a shot, and then a second one quickly)
-Good image quality (no-brainer)
-Good battery life
-Preferrably SD memory card

My budget is around $200, but I can spend a bit more if need be. So far I've eyed the Canon SD1000, which looks pretty good, although it's a bit above my budget.

I'll keep reading reviews and checking up on sites, but does anyone have any advice on something that will suit my needs?

Danke!

nV`andrew
07-18-07, 03:37 PM
I'd go with the a630. I had the a610 when they were like $350, such an amazing camera for the price they are now. Takes awesome video too, the zoom is better than the SD1000 as well. comes with a free 1gb card from newegg.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830120069

Tuork
07-18-07, 08:03 PM
Hmm... that looks like a nice option, and the 1GB free card sounds sweet... however, it looks a bit boulky (sp?), and it doesn't have a rechargeable battery (not the end of the world, but it would be nice).

Thanks for the input, greatly appreciated.

Anyone else?

EDIT: just checked and it turns out the SD1000 comes with a free 2GB SD card :)
What do you guys think about other brands?
Say:
-FUJIFILM A800 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830122099)
-Nikon COOLPIX L12 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830113047)
-OLYMPUS FE-230 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16830111069)

nV`andrew
07-18-07, 08:09 PM
its a little bulky but will definitely fit in your pocket.