PDA

View Full Version : CPU/RAM/Mobo Upgrade


khellandros66
07-24-07, 04:09 PM
I am pondering upgrading for the newer games.

Right now I have

AMD Socket 939 3500+ 64 Single Core
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
2x512MB HyperX PC3200
2x512MB GSkill PC3200
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB (up to 650/1000(2000) Stable on air)
Auzentech Xplosion DTS Connect Soundcard
Maxtor 200GB ATA133 HDD
NEC DVD+/-RW
DD TDX, DD CP1 Pump, 120mm x 1 Rad, T-Line Res.
Antec Neo480 PSU

I am in a position where I want to push more but can't with the current CPU/RAM. Now that the new NV Drivers enable Turbocahce on the 8800. I am thinking I can either get;

AMD S939 4200x2 and 4GB DDR400 OCZ
or
AMD AM2 4400 Brisbane, 2GB Kingston Value, and MSI NF500 SLI. I'd have to redrain my loop and replace the block top, thats only like $22, but alot of effort non the less.

What should I do? Would sticking to the first option be best, then later oon when games need it go 9000GTS? or Go option 2 and grab a second 8800GTS for SLI?

~Bobby

nV`andrew
07-24-07, 04:52 PM
core 2 duo would be the best setup

khellandros66
07-24-07, 05:15 PM
Trying to keep to a $300-350 budget, and I am pondering that if I go AM2, with this board I could go SLI with the AM2 Quad Core.

~Bobby

john19055
07-24-07, 10:22 PM
I would get a core2 Duo ,you can get a E4300 for $119 0r the E6320 for thr extra 2megs of cache fro $165 and a ASUS 650SLI motherboard for $120 and 2gigs of DDR2 800 for as low as $81 and run that E4300 at 3.2gig or higher if you get a good overclocker .and you would have a fast system.Plus you already have a 8800GTS 320mb .The E4300 might just be clocked at 1.8gig but they are great overclockers .I have one that I put together for a guy and it would do 3.5gigs at 1.4v,but it always the luck of the draw but I have not seen one that would'nt do at least 3.2gigs.For around $320 you would have a fast system that would play any game.Even if you go with a 4400 Brisbane,you would need a new motherboard and the Core2Duo is that much better.IMO

MUYA
07-24-07, 10:50 PM
Single to dual core upgrade?

I would 2nd John's suggestion

khellandros66
07-25-07, 08:32 AM
Hmm I am gonna go with the following. The news about the 9800GTX/GTS I don't think I will need SLI, and by the time I do go SLi I am sure there will be a 9800GTS in my range, I can just sell my 8800GTS 320mb to someone who wants SLi.

E6750 4MB C2D
EVGA 650i
A-DATA Value Ram DDR2 800 2x1GB
DD TDX 775 Top, 3/8 OD Fittings, O-Ring, Stainless Mounts

~Bobby

khellandros66
07-27-07, 10:11 AM
Well I made a choice, not all will agree with it but I think in the long run I will be ok.

AMD AM2 6000+
MSI K9N4 SLI-F SLI Mobo
OCZ DDR2 800 2x1GB Gold

Figure sometime next year I will add

550-600w PSU SLi Rated
OCZ DDR2 800 2x1GB Gold
2nd EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Auzentech Prelude (after DTS Connect is enabled)

~Bobby

Daneel Olivaw
07-27-07, 07:16 PM
I would get a core2 Duo ,you can get a E4300 for $119 0r the E6320 for thr extra 2megs of cache fro $165 and a ASUS 650SLI motherboard for $120 and 2gigs of DDR2 800 for as low as $81 and run that E4300 at 3.2gig or higher if you get a good overclocker .and you would have a fast system.Plus you already have a 8800GTS 320mb .The E4300 might just be clocked at 1.8gig but they are great overclockers .I have one that I put together for a guy and it would do 3.5gigs at 1.4v,but it always the luck of the draw but I have not seen one that would'nt do at least 3.2gigs.For around $320 you would have a fast system that would play any game.Even if you go with a 4400 Brisbane,you would need a new motherboard and the Core2Duo is that much better.IMOI agree.

khellandros66
08-02-07, 03:01 PM
MSI K9N4 SLI-F
AM2 6000+
OCZ DDR2 800 Gold 2x1GB

Very happy with my results, I now score over 8600 in 3dmark06 at stock speeds so I very pleased

~Bobby