PDA

View Full Version : G0's @ the Egg


Pages : [1] 2

lee63
07-24-07, 07:01 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115027 :D Not sure about the Q6600's though, but this is a good sign (lee63)

fasedww
07-24-07, 07:34 PM
Just ordered one, Plus a evga 680 A1 edition Motherboard, I have the AR in my sig. That is a must to overclock Quads is to get the A1 edition right? from what I have been reading:)

lee63
07-24-07, 07:48 PM
Yep, the A1 is the one you need (lee63)

nekrosoft13
07-24-07, 08:12 PM
T1 works too

MaUiLoCaL
07-24-07, 08:18 PM
It would be a ton of fun to have a new chip right now, but I think I will hold out as best as I can for Penryn.:D

fasedww
07-24-07, 08:18 PM
T1 works tooYeah I know that. I just went with the better warranty with the A1.:)

MikeC
07-24-07, 09:28 PM
That's a $300 price drop too it looks like. I wonder if tomorrow the price will drop lower?

nV`andrew
07-24-07, 09:46 PM
e6750 went back down to $225. i think ill order tomorrow morning

wollyka
07-25-07, 08:33 AM
@lee63
How can you tell it is a G0 ? (sorry if it is a noob question)
Thanks

jcrox
07-25-07, 10:49 AM
@lee63
How can you tell it is a G0 ? (sorry if it is a noob question)
Thanks

Would be nice if newegg did what so many other sites do and just put in the specifications: "Stepping: xx "

mullet
07-25-07, 11:39 AM
When at newegg just click the manufacturing link under the CPU and it will show all the info at the intel site. Stepping and so on. This is a public service announcement. :D

Example. http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLA9U

wollyka
07-25-07, 04:45 PM
Ah thanks for the info mullet :)

mullet
07-25-07, 11:41 PM
Ah thanks for the info mullet :)


Any time dude.:)

fasedww
07-27-07, 06:19 PM
Yeah I got me a dangerton 480 gtx raditator and I've decided on the new Dtek fuzion water block for the quad, also the dangerden 680I chipset water block, I have the ma
ze modified on this AR motheboard, but would just like one perfect for this new 680I A1 version.:D

$n][pErMan
07-28-07, 11:58 AM
I'm just waiting a month or two now so the G0 Q6600 are in the main stream. Why waste money on a Q6700 when you can get a Q6600 so much cheaper and OC just the same?!?

$n][pErMan
07-28-07, 12:12 PM
To not wait for a month or two, imo that's worth it.
Worth an extra ~$350?!? I got money to burn but im not gonna get ripped off.

fasedww
07-29-07, 07:32 AM
[pErMan']I'm just waiting a month or two now so the G0 Q6600 are in the main stream. Why waste money on a Q6700 when you can get a Q6600 so much cheaper and OC just the same?!?Yeah I should have waited, but it's still wirth it if i can get 4.0ghz out of it. has a 10 multi on it so easier to overclock. I hope.:)

HeavyH20
07-29-07, 03:44 PM
4.0 GHz on a Q6600? Doubt that will happen without phase. And, FSB speed capacities are lower with a quad. I think a decent OC on the Q6600 will be about 3.0 GHz on air. With 1333 FSB, it will do 3.3 GHz. Temps may be hard to control with anything less than good water cooling past that.

Smee
07-30-07, 03:56 AM
To not wait for a month or two, imo that's worth it.


My Q6600 GO arrived from newegg on Friday.
From what I read on the review there, it seems to be somewhat of a crapshoot.

Ncix has been shipping craploads of the q660 Go's but from what I read on other forums.. it can be somewhat of a crapshoot there too.

fasedww
07-30-07, 07:05 AM
4.0 GHz on a Q6600? Doubt that will happen without phase. And, FSB speed capacities are lower with a quad. I think a decent OC on the Q6600 will be about 3.0 GHz on air. With 1333 FSB, it will do 3.3 GHz. Temps may be hard to control with anything less than good water cooling past that.
I'm not talking about a Q6600 I'm getting A Q6700 With a 10 multipilier, Also I have a quad 480gtx radiator from dangerden with D-tek Fuzion GTX cpu block and a dangerden 680I northchipset block, I'm looking to get past my current clock of 3.6 Which I bet I do, How much':D

fasedww
07-30-07, 07:57 AM
Not sure how much cooler the G0s are but don't get your hope too high up fasedww. Kentsfield runs extremely hot over 3.33GHz.(95 watts is what it says on intel specs:) It says 105 watts for the non GO stepping Q6600, Put it this way I bet I'll get 3.6 if I do then I really can't complain, But I have a big case and two 120mm blowing intake also on the sides One out the top, back, front intake Also so my case runs cool Plus I have my 13000 btu airconditioner running in summer cool everyway.

fasedww
07-30-07, 09:31 AM
(95 watts is what it says on intel specs:) It says 105 watts for the non GO stepping Q6600, Put it this way I bet I'll get 3.6 if I do then I really can't complain, But I have a big case and two 120mm blowing intake also on the sides One out the top, back, front intake Also so my case runs cool Plus I have my 13000 btu airconditioner running in summer cool everyway.
Also my 480GTX radiator is mounted on the outside back of the case with a rad box, so it gets all the cool aircondioner air, 4 Yate loon 120mm fans at 88cfm pulling air through it< I have a dual extreme ice on the back right now with this setup works great. My case is huge so the quad radiator will fit on the back of my case, it will just go pretty much from bottom to top, I've got it here right now and it will work great. Just won't be putting this all together tell this saturday 4th. Don't want to start it after a work day. so weekend for me.:D

fasedww
07-30-07, 11:13 AM
Be getting the EVGA A1 motherboard, and Q6700 Quad today from newegg, My D-tek fuzion gtx cpu waterblock tommorrow, Oh yeah getting the dangerden 680i chipset block today also. It's going to be hard to wait tell this weekend for the build But I want to start fresh in the morning, Can't wait:D

HeavyH20
07-30-07, 12:33 PM
Well, to get to 4.0 GHz, you will have to juice the processor to about 1.6V. With that, you are looking at about 180 Watts of heat to dissipate. I have a quad and I am already at 4.0 Ghz. With the new stepping thermal rates, you are looking at about 150 watts.

fasedww
07-30-07, 12:58 PM
Well, to get to 4.0 GHz, you will have to juice the processor to about 1.6V. With that, you are looking at about 180 Watts of heat to dissipate. I have a quad and I am already at 4.0 Ghz. With the new stepping thermal rates, you are looking at about 150 watts.
I have a mach 2 sitting in my hallway closet. But I don't really feel like hooking it up, and see if it's all working right as it's bend sitting for a few years. If I get 3.7mhz I would be glad, I don't see why not because thats only 370mhz bus speed, as this dual core can do 400 to 430 on this AR revision board.:)