PDA

View Full Version : What's with the additional 4-pin molex connector on P35 MB's?


UberRN69
07-26-07, 04:07 PM
I'm looking at an update of my system, especially since I could probably sell my old stuff and almost break even (>$150).

Anyway... Shopping around at some of the new P35 chipset boards, I notice quite a few that have an additional 4-pin molex connector right next to the primary PCI-e slot. But then some MB's don't have this. Anyone know what the additional power connector is all about?

Thanks in advance:p

nekrosoft13
07-26-07, 04:18 PM
its probably just like on SLI board, its for extra power if you run Dual Video cards

jcrox
07-26-07, 04:18 PM
It might be different on the Intel boards but, on my 680i LT there's an extra connection for dedicated power for the graphics card

From my manual:

"Auxiliary Power for Graphics (PWR3)-
The Pwr3 connector is an auxiliary power connection for graphics cards.
Exclusive power for the graphics card provides better graphics performance"

UberRN69
07-26-07, 04:39 PM
Cool... Thanks for the replies. It seems that it's a design choice by the MB mfgr. So if the board has one, then it must be used?

Mr_LoL
07-27-07, 01:43 AM
My P5K doesn't have an extra molex but you can apparently use crossfire on the board. Wierd

CaptNKILL
07-27-07, 07:47 AM
I have 2 or 3 extra power connectors on my board. :o

SLippe
07-27-07, 08:04 PM
I have it also on my mobo. I run the fan on my case's sidepanel from it.
http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/6702/img0904hl3.th.jpg (http://img59.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0904hl3.jpg)

nV`andrew
07-27-07, 09:20 PM
I have it also on my mobo. I run the fan on my case's sidepanel from it.
http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/6702/img0904hl3.th.jpg (http://img59.imageshack.us/my.php?image=img0904hl3.jpg)


wow you genius i have the same motherboard and got the vantec PCI cooler with 2x70mm fans and i had no where to plug in to, i forgot about that. thanks :D

SLippe
07-27-07, 10:16 PM
wow you genius i have the same motherboard and got the vantec PCI cooler with 2x70mm fans and i had no where to plug in to, i forgot about that. thanks :D
LOL No problem. ;)