PDA

View Full Version : How much space does an 8800GTX take up?


Elegy
07-30-07, 06:32 PM
It turns out I'll be building my own computer and I'll be getting the XFX 680i LT (http://www.xfxforce.com/web/product/listConfigurations.jspa?series=NVIDIA+nForce+680i&seriesId=989302&productId=989544) motherboard (which has 2 PCI and 2 PCI x1 slots) to slot my dual 8800GTXs into. My question is this - how many PCI and PCIe x1 slots will I have left after the GPUs are in? It's looking unlikely I'll be able to fit in a sound card, TV tuner and wireless card but would I be able to fit in two out of those three? The wireless is really more of a luxury than a necessity so would I be able to fit in a PCI sound card and a PCI/PCIe x1 TV tuner?

Madpistol
07-30-07, 11:25 PM
Based on the pic I'm seeing on XFX's site, you get 1 PCI slot (between the 2 PCIe x16 slots) and one PCIe x1 slot (above the top PCIe x16 slot). That's it. If you can get a Sound card into the PCI slot and a TV tuner into the PCIe x1 slot, you can use a USB wireless adapter to make your computer wireless. That's the way to go if you can pull it off.

http://www.xfxforce.com/media/product_configuration_large_icon/c8a0fc571176fe6701117b2727670022/2.jpg

Elegy
07-30-07, 11:39 PM
Okay, thank you. That's pretty much what I expected. Speaking of space, will this case (http://www.jeantech.com/phong1.htm) be large enough to comfortably hold the GTX's (clicking the Internal View link will show a picture of the inside if necessary)? I really like this case, it's fairly cheap but has a 140mm and a 120mm fan which should allow for some good airflow.

Madpistol
07-30-07, 11:57 PM
The case looks fine.

Elegy
07-31-07, 12:27 AM
The case looks fine.

It did to me at first too but then I found this:

i know the feeling i have a jeantech phong 2 case and want to fit a 8800gtx now heres the problem a 27cm card will fit and a 27.5cm card wont but depending which site i try to find out the correct size of the card i keep reading different sizes ie 27&27.5 cm i know it sounds silly but if the measurment includes the dvi port that sticks outside of the rear of the case it would make alot of difference, i've tried phoning different retailers without sucsess and i dont want to spend 350 and find out it wont fit by a poxy .5cm

Source (http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=131956)

I don't think I want to take the risk, especially when I can spend just a few pounds more and get a slightly bigger case from a more well known manufacturer with better cooling and better looks:

Thermaltake Soprano VB1000SWS (http://www.thermaltake.com/product/chassis/midtower/soprano/vb1000sws.asp)

I'm thinking this one will definitely be able to house two GTXs but can anyone with more experience please confirm?

http://www.thermaltake.com/product/chassis/midtower/soprano/+sop_image/silverShare/internal.jpg

jcrox
07-31-07, 12:45 AM
If you end up short .5cm..... that's what hammers are for.

Elegy
07-31-07, 12:48 AM
If you end up short .5cm..... that's what hammers are for.

Much as I would love to bash something with a hammer, I can't this time. This is my first ever build - usually my father puts my computers together but I need to learn how to do it from scratch myself.

Besides, the Thermaltake case only costs 5 ($9) more but has better cooling and looks far more attractive.

SLippe
07-31-07, 01:04 AM
That case should be fine, as long as you don't have the 8800GTX ACS3 version. Just space your HDDs. Good luck on your first build.

Madpistol
07-31-07, 01:05 AM
If you end up short .5cm..... that's what hammers are for.

QFT.

Brute force > Efficiency any day of the week. :D