PDA

View Full Version : Need LCD scaling help


Stevedroid
08-02-07, 10:23 PM
My display is a 1360x768 HDTV and I'm running the 162.18 drivers.

When I have the LCD scaling option set to "let my display scale" and I output a resolution that my TV supports everything is ok.

The thing is my TV doesn't support very many resolutions so I'd like to tun on nVidia scaling so I can use resolutions the TV doesn't support and have them scaled on the PC side to 1360x768

Problem is that I when I turn scaling on, it changes the output resolution to 1920x1080i - which my TV supports, but it looks terrible and flickers really badly. Now the scaling does work, I can use resolutions my TV doesn't support, but again it scales them to 1920x1080i instead of 1360x768. It's like it thinks the native resolution of my display is 1920x1080, but it says right on the tab that it detects the native resolution as 1360x768 so I have no clue why it's outputting 1080i instead.

Is there any way around this bug?

Amuro
08-02-07, 10:38 PM
I believe nvidia scaling is still bugged with the 162.18 drivers. Anyways, try this trick and see if it works for you:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=34832

BTW, nice SD Gundam avatar.

AthlonXP1800
08-02-07, 10:38 PM
I had the same exactly problem with XP on my LCDTV, it flicked. Here is a workaround by create custom resolutions that stopped flickers. :)

Now I am using Vista, it supported all resolutions and it did not flicked. :D

Stevedroid
08-02-07, 11:13 PM
I believe nvidia scaling is still bugged with the 162.18 drivers. Anyways, try this trick and see if it works for you:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=34832

I saw that, but it's unrelated. This isn't an overscan issue. My HDTV is designed for PC input and doesn't overscan. If I had to guess I'd say the bug is that the scaler want to use whatever it detects as the highest resolution my display supports (1920x1080 in this case) instead of what it detects as the native resolution.

I had the same exactly problem with XP on my LCDTV, it flicked. Here is a workaround by create custom resolutions that stopped flickers. :)
I don't understand what you mean, please elaborate. If I try to create a custom resolution and set scaling on the custom resolution, it still scales and outputs to 1920x1080 instead of 1360x768.

Please note that 1360x768 displays fine for me when I turn off scaling, it's just that anytime scaling is enabled it's using the wrong resolution.