PDA

View Full Version : Corsair


jcrox
08-13-07, 04:04 PM
So, as I posted in another thread, I recently noticed that my 2 1GB sticks of Corsair dominator PC8500 memory aren't 2 1GB sticks of PC8500 memory. I received 1 stick of 8500C5D memory and 1 stick of 10000C5D memory. Yes, they both work and everything runs great but really..... this pisses me off and customer support isn't going to help me on this either . Sooner or later I'm going to want to sell this stuff and I'm going to have to sell a mismatched set of dual channel 1066/1250 pc memory? I should have never strayed from OCZ :(

|MaguS|
08-13-07, 04:06 PM
Mine aren't running up to spec but their not Corsair... never will buy Corsair anymore considering that they replace high end chips with low end one if the high end are discontinued.

lduguay
08-13-07, 04:54 PM
Got hit once with the Promo chips thingy with a pair of 6400C4D. After complaining to Corsair, they cross-shipped me some 8500C5D for free (with the micron chips). Although customer service was very helpful, i doubt i'll ever buy Corsair memory again. Unfortunately, i had bad experience with OCZ as well. I'll go Crucial next time.

Monolyth
08-13-07, 04:57 PM
Yeah, my Dominator's never performed that well almost felt like I was trying to squeeze 8500 out of 6400 modules. Crucial is pretty nice so far, may stick with them. I haven't had OCZ since the early DDR-I days so I can't say anything about their performance atm.

john19055
08-14-07, 01:26 AM
I have always had good luck with corsair customer support,I had two gigs of PC 3500C3 DDR and one of them went bad ,I sent them in and they sent me back two gigs of PC 3200XLL and I told them that I had two more sticks of 512k of PC 3500C3 and I told them it did'nt match the set they send me and I ran 3gigs ,so they told me to send them in and they sent me two 512k of PC 3200XLL. I got two sets of PC26400C4Dominator DDR2 ,So I sent them in but had to pay $50 extra to get the 4gigs of PC2 8500C5 Dominator that had the micron Ic chips in them.One set will do 1250 at 5-5-5-15 and the other will do 1200 at 5-5-5-15 at 2.2v,but i run them at 4-3-3-8-1T 800mhz.So I can't complain about Corsair.

BlobdusaColoXus
08-14-07, 01:51 AM
Why does it matter? Micron RAM chips are rated @533 CAS7 1.8vdimm straight out of production... All Corsair does is bin them and determine their SPD. You can edit memory SPD (http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=57), by the way.
If you're worried about SPD, don't be. RAM will always be set to the lowest common denominator, so to speak.

stncttr908
08-14-07, 01:09 PM
They would definitely replace the other stick if you contacted them. Corsair support has always been great for me.

BTW, I just bought one of those Corsair fan things too. :D

a12ctic
08-14-07, 01:19 PM
Always liked their budget ram, but for performance ram I always stick with OCZ.

SH0DAN
08-19-07, 10:16 PM
Corsair has the BEST customer service of any ram company I have dealt with over the years.By far,hands down,NO contest.

But right now I am rocking some really juicy Tracers,PC2 6400's I got for 134.99 bucks Cdn !! with a 25 dollar mail in rebate.These will do upto 594 @ 5-6-6-16

The check showed up on Thursday for the 25$ :)

Saintster
08-20-07, 12:43 AM
I used corsair way back in the day athlon xp era. I use Mushkin ram never had a problem and the always perform beyond the rated spec.

Trademark
08-20-07, 10:31 AM
There's a reaosn I have G.E.I.L. memory in my pc, first of all if geil = horny in my language (dutch), secondly when my first pair were bad G.E.I.L. replaced them for me and I was a happy bugger again and still am ;)

Corsair just never did it for me. Don't like them anymore. Never owned any OCZ ram, not planning too either, overpriced dimms..