PDA

View Full Version : Aug 16th Lost Planet DX10 Update problem :(


jdspinna
08-16-07, 06:08 PM
After updating today I get a user authentication failed at the first in-game menu, then it kicks me out. Anyone else having a problem?

Update: Just checked capcom and Steam forums. It's happening to everyone that downloaded the patch. Suxxorz!!!

LT.Schaffer
08-16-07, 06:33 PM
Yep same here....:( that does suck!!!

JasonPC
08-16-07, 06:34 PM
Yup it's nice and broken.

nekrosoft13
08-16-07, 06:45 PM
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=587798

more
http://www.capcom.com/BBS/showthread.php?t=17410

LT.Schaffer
08-16-07, 06:48 PM
Thanks for the link nekro:)

Well just have to sit and do more waiting:(

nekrosoft13
08-16-07, 06:55 PM
everyone is affected

LordJuanlo
08-17-07, 02:47 AM
It seems to be fixed

JaylumX
08-17-07, 04:31 AM
Just tested. Problem solved. New GFX options under DX10 mode.............Sweeeeeetnessss :D

EDIT: I can now use the highest shadow quality setting (named DX10). Rather than all the new features have high, it its now refered to as DX10. One certainly notice the fur shader :D

SH64
08-17-07, 06:03 AM
Yeah i'm interested to see how the fur shader turn out to look , is it any good ?

nekrosoft13
08-17-07, 06:23 AM
It seems to be fixed

did they say what was the cause?

jdspinna
08-17-07, 06:38 AM
The fur shader looks pretty sweet. Better in action than it looked in the preview images. If you jam your camera right up into the fur it kills your frames :) Actually the game seems to be running a little smoother than it did before. Anyone else notice a performance improvement? BTW I have all my graphic settings as high as they go.

nekrosoft13
08-17-07, 06:40 AM
at what res?

JaylumX
08-17-07, 06:53 AM
While i have maxed every single setting (including shadows) i have had to disable AA copmpletely. That doesn't bother me that much as i run the game at 1920x1200 anyway.

jdspinna
08-17-07, 08:31 AM
at what res?

1680x1050 Framerate seems to have smoothed out.

agentkay
08-17-07, 08:40 AM
Actually yes, the game is suppose to run 10-20% faster even with the new visuals enabled. Great work by Capcom and Nvidia. :)

spaceigg
08-17-07, 09:13 AM
that's good to hear.

nekrosoft13
08-17-07, 09:50 AM
problem was caused by Steam, they authentication servers acting up

JaylumX
08-17-07, 10:03 AM
Doing a quick performance test on Lost Planet, here are my results

Resolution at 1920x1200

All settings maxed (DX10 where applicable), medium HDR, 0xAA
Snow=31.9
Cave=42.3

All Settings maxed (DX10 where applicable), High HDR, 0xAA
Snow=29.7
Cave=38.9

All settings on high (fur quality to none), High HDR, 0xAA
Snow=44.8
Cave=57.9

All settings High (fur quality to none), Medium HDR, 4xAA (my play settings before patch)
Snow=40.1
Cave=54.1

I doubt there is a 10-20% increase even with all the DX10 features enabled. I had to turn of AA completely to get near to how i played original.

jdspinna
08-17-07, 10:04 AM
problem was caused by Steam, they authentication servers acting up

If it was a server side issue why do you think they patched the client again?

JaylumX
08-17-07, 11:09 AM
For people who claim they yield a 10-20% increase in performance. Have you guys set some of the options to DX10 like the example shows below?

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/marc.okunnujnr3/My%20Pictures/Gameshots/lostplanet.jpg

3DBrad
08-17-07, 11:17 AM
I think a 10-20% increase in performance would be from the settings before the update.

DX10 gives developers more headroom to add in more effects at the same performance of a DX9 game without the effects.

JaylumX
08-17-07, 11:30 AM
I've lost performance actually according to the test i made earlier which is understandable. I remember a perfiormace decrease during the initial settling in of DX9 hardware where there was a DX8 vs DX9 games comparison. Splinter Cell Chaos Theory SM1.1 vs SM3.0 comes to mind.

agentkay
08-17-07, 11:39 AM
I donīt even have the game yet, Iīm just reporting what I have heard from a japanese tech site. Itīs possible that Nvidia will release a newly optimized driver for the new motion blur, DoF and fur shaders. Still, thanks for the benchmarks, seems quite playable consindering the resolution and settings. By the way JaylumX, does the game use all four cores or just two on your PC?

JaylumX
08-17-07, 12:15 PM
I did some more test and concluded the the biggest performance killer of the new DX10 effects was Motion blur.

All settings maxed (DX10 where applicable except motion blur on high....bloody hog :D ), Medium HDR, 4xAA

Snow=30
Cave=43

All settings maxed (DX10 where applicable except motion blur on high....bloody hog :D ), Medium HDR, 2xAA
Snow=32.9
Cave=47.2

Interesting......