PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing new CPU


Zapablast05
08-30-07, 12:56 AM
I've heard alot of good things about Opterons and I'm thinking of getting one to replace my AMD 64 X2 3800+. The problem is that I don't know whether I should get the Opteron 1216 2.4GHz or the AMD 64 X2 5000+ 2.6GHz. Which would you suggest? I'm looking into high overclocking, too. A teacher of mine told me that it doesn't really matter how high the Opteron's frequency is because they are measured in MIPS and other processors rely solely on processor speed. Now, I don't know if that's true or not, but this nut makes servers for fun.

Rytr
08-30-07, 01:57 AM
If I was going AMD I would go with the X2 and whichever one I could get the highest potential stable clock speed.

DRen72
08-30-07, 08:45 AM
I'd get one of those new X2 6400 chips...the Black Editions.
http://www.techpowerup.com/?37376

Zapablast05
08-30-07, 10:18 AM
I would get a 6400+ but I'm on a budget for my computer. I was thinking cheap but still good in performance, so I looked at Opty's.

john19055
09-04-07, 08:50 AM
there is no difference in a opteron and a AMD 64 x2 with the same amount of L2 cache and working at the same speed.

Bman212121
09-04-07, 09:23 PM
I've heard alot of good things about Opterons and I'm thinking of getting one to replace my AMD 64 X2 3800+. The problem is that I don't know whether I should get the Opteron 1216 2.4GHz or the AMD 64 X2 5000+ 2.6GHz. Which would you suggest? I'm looking into high overclocking, too. A teacher of mine told me that it doesn't really matter how high the Opteron's frequency is because they are measured in MIPS and other processors rely solely on processor speed. Now, I don't know if that's true or not, but this nut makes servers for fun.

Even if you were able to pull out a 3GHZ OC on an Opty, it isn't going to be much faster than your current processor. You'll have another meg of cache depending upon the model, but your clock speed is already pretty high and a lot of the Optys and X2's seem to hit a wall around 3GHZ.

jcossin
09-05-07, 01:06 PM
I'd definitely go for an Intel Core Duo over the Opteron. I just sold my Opteron and upgraded and it's about 50% faster (new rig in sig).