PDA

View Full Version : is DDR3 worth it?


Riplayne
09-01-07, 02:45 AM
Didnt know it was out already, I noticed the new Corsair XMS DDR3 on Newegg. Is it worth getting, does it work on the newest 680i mobos?

nightmare beta
09-01-07, 02:50 AM
it's not really worth getting at all, IMO. The price is too high for DDR3 and the price is very low for DDR2, plus you'll get almost as good of performance, if not equal performance.

XDanger
09-01-07, 07:00 AM
Nahhhhh, Not till the price and latency comes down.

walterman
09-01-07, 07:03 AM
+2GHz on DDR3 is very attractive, but, performance isn't much higher atm, and the price is 2-3x times higher, so, it's better to spend that extra money in other parts of the system.

Also, remember that the latency is relative to the memory speed, so, a DDR1 chip at CAS2 400MHz & DDR2 chip at CAS4 800MHz, have the same latency (2 clock cycles / 400 MHz = 4 clock cycles / 800 MHz). A DDR3 chip at CAS8 1600MHz has the same latency on the paper too.

jeffmd
09-01-07, 01:02 PM
yea with the premium price, and the little performance gains that high up, its just plain better to load up on ddr2, its all still plenty fast.

nekrosoft13
09-01-07, 02:09 PM
same story with DDR2 when it first came out.

for the first 1-2 years is not really worth it. wait a bit

jeffmd
09-01-07, 04:34 PM
nekro, hmm, my recollection of ddr2 was that it was the "bees knees" when it first came out. It did have a markedly faster increase in performance and that it DIDN'T cost that much more then ddr1. ddr1 practically died that day. Before I knew it, my computer had ddr2 in it.

SOAD
09-01-07, 06:04 PM
nekro, hmm, my recollection of ddr2 was that it was the "bees knees" when it first came out. It did have a markedly faster increase in performance and that it DIDN'T cost that much more then ddr1. ddr1 practically died that day. Before I knew it, my computer had ddr2 in it.


QFT!


Mate stick with DDR2. Its great stuff and tbh dosent affect the pc that much.

JaxMacFL
09-02-07, 08:37 AM
Didnt know it was out already, I noticed the new Corsair XMS DDR3 on Newegg. Is it worth getting, does it work on the newest 680i mobos?

If you are in the same situation as I was, (with a 939 socket + ddr), and looking to upgrade, then bypass ddr2 altogether and go with ddr3 memory and mb. If you already have a ddr2 system then yes, upgrade your ddr2 memory.

ViN86
09-02-07, 12:02 PM
to answer the OP quickly...

atm, no.

mullet
09-02-07, 12:26 PM
DDR3 at the end of 2008 will be good most likely.

BTW BUZZ FTW.

john19055
09-04-07, 08:33 AM
No ,good DDR2 is just as fast and a lot cheaper .