PDA

View Full Version : Going to Upgrade to Intel Quad Core 6600 with mobo?


Wolfhound
09-03-07, 11:19 AM
Going to Upgrade to Intel Quad Core 6600 wich mobo is the most recommended?

I will have OCZ 4 Gigs Dual Channel kit:

http://www.alternate.es/html/productDetails.html?artno=ICIEM1

and Intel Quad Core 6600

http://www.alternate.es/html/productDetails.html?artno=HPGI49

need advice for a good mobo :p

the rest will remain as my sig ;)

Mojoe
09-03-07, 11:53 AM
I have the Gigabyte P35 Dq6, its a wery good board and it dont undervolt the cpu like many other boards out there. Good thing to think about if you are gonne overclock the Q6600. Also its rock stabel with 4x1 Gig mem.

Wolfhound
09-04-07, 12:54 AM
I have the Gigabyte P35 Dq6, its a wery good board and it dont undervolt the cpu like many other boards out there. Good thing to think about if you are gonne overclock the Q6600. Also its rock stabel with 4x1 Gig mem.

Yes thatīs other thing to have good overclock an stability

john19055
09-04-07, 02:47 AM
You will hear bad things about the Evga 680i SLI ,But I have had one since 11-16-06 and it ran my E6600 great ,I could run the FSB to 2000 very stable and never had any ram problems with my 4gigs Corsair PC8500C5D,I did have to RMA my board because I had the AR version and it would not go past 1200FSB with my new Quad 6600.But the RMA was painless ,had my new A1 Doo board is less then a week and I am now able to do up to 1900 on the FSB if I need to.Evga has a lifetime warranty and they have a great support fourm.

mcolbourn
09-04-07, 10:21 AM
If you don't need SLI go for a P35 board, as Mojoe said Gigabyte seem to be the best bet on these but all brands are good. If you need SLI then go for the EVGA 680i.

----------------------

(On a side note I want EVGA to send me my A1 rev back asap. I want to put my Q6600 GO into it.)

Blacklash
09-04-07, 02:10 PM
Get a mid ranged P35 mobo and thank me later. Below is a nice review that compares quite a few boards across all price ranges:

http://www.techspot.com/article/61-intel-p35-motherboard-roundup/

I got an Abit IP35-E to play with because I was curious about P35 and it was so darn cheap. Scored it from Mwave for 70usd with rebate. It does lack RAID though, so if you want that try the regular IP35. I also may move to X38 if it rocks hard so I didn't want to go crazy with a P35 purchase. I have been pleasantly surprised by this mobo, and I'd almost say shocked, the way it OCs. I understand why they didn't put RAID on it:p

I am stable @ 3.7GHz on air and can boot up to 4.0GHz with a Q6600 G-0 for pi runs. Air can't cooling can't handle 1.65v @ 4.0GHz with a Quad. I will be trying water cooling soon.

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=237448

http://m1.freeshare.us/172fs691352.jpg

My sole complaint with this mobo is it starts twice from a cold boot.

It's voltage options are off the charts. They are way higher than I would ever dare attempt on things like NB, Vcore, and Memory. It also has many detailed memory settings available directly from the BIOS.

You could wait on X38 and it will likely be much more expensive.

JediKnight
09-05-07, 12:14 AM
I went with the ASUS P5K3 Deluxe and its great! Since you wont use DDR3 memory, go with the P5K. The Q6600 is awesome.

Wolfhound
09-05-07, 01:15 AM
I went with the ASUS P5K3 Deluxe and its great! Since you wont use DDR3 memory, go with the P5K. The Q6600 is awesome.

So Asus on Intel mobos is good? because I had 2 Asus A8NSLI32 on AMD64 and had a lot of problems. I saw that this mobo is not very expensive.

JediKnight
09-05-07, 09:59 AM
Are you kidding? ASUS and Intel ROCK! I just built this rig, replacing a ASUS P4C800 Deluxe with a Pentium 4 3.00Gighrtz CPU and it ran FLAWLESS for the past 4 yrs. You are gonna love Asus and Intel together. P35 chipset is the way to go. Trust me, go with the P5K mobo.:headexplode:

nightmare beta
09-05-07, 12:11 PM
Get a gigabyte dq 6 680i or an msi p6n diamond.