PDA

View Full Version : Power supply for 8800GTS 640mb


illusiv
09-04-07, 06:29 AM
I'm building a computer and basically i'm wondering how big the power supply (watts) needs to be to support this card.

thanks for any answers =)

Jon
09-04-07, 06:44 AM
I think nvidia suggest around 500/600 watts. But its the quality of the psu, not the size thats important.

munwaal
09-04-07, 07:55 AM
I'm running a 550W power supply with mine (a cheap one I picked up here in China). I'm also running 5 harddisks. I have no power-related issues with my system at all.

You're gonna love the card!

|JuiceZ|
09-04-07, 11:43 AM
Quality over quantity, stick with the well known brands.

Dragunov
09-04-07, 11:45 AM
I use an Enermax Galaxy 640W

jcrox
09-04-07, 12:08 PM
I've had no problems with the PSU in my sig (obviously) nor was there any problems with a 700w OCZ or a 500w Ultra.

Luminal
09-04-07, 01:09 PM
I have used a 400w NorthQ, works perfectly. But now i have upgraded to corsair 520w. No reason really, but i upgraded mobo and cpu so why not a new psu...

Bearclaw
09-04-07, 02:15 PM
Quality over quantity, stick with the well known brands.
QFT. Don't buy some no name brand because it is cheap. Put some money into the PSU and get a nie one from a well known company.

Dreamingawake
09-04-07, 02:47 PM
Im currently using a 450watt PSU with said card. Haven't run into a single issue in several months of daily use.

avirox
09-04-07, 03:03 PM
Currently using an antec earthwatts 500W w/ 8800GTS320 OC'd+e6600+2gb ram and 0 problems so far power-wise

illusiv
09-04-07, 06:01 PM
Thanks for the replies guys, I think I might end up going for a 550W Coolermaster Real Power psu.

XDanger
09-06-07, 07:16 PM
My 640mb GTS is powered by what it says in my sig , it nice and cheap.

wildman92
09-06-07, 10:18 PM
I just picked up one of those, install tomorrow!

XDanger
09-09-07, 12:19 PM
I would have thought your pc&c 610 would be enough without it NO?

wildman92
09-09-07, 02:16 PM
610 seems to be enough, but $50 for a new toy..why not:) ! It will give me a safety margin for when I oc.

daforce
09-10-07, 12:40 AM
Im sure you can run it on a lower end PSU such as a 450w, but you will be strainging the PSU which means it wont last as long. If you can afford it got for a good brand PSU and a decent amount of power Check wattage and the amps provided on the 12v rails.

Above all, dont get a dual rail PSU, go for a big single 12v rail PSU or a tri or quad 12v rail PSU.