PDA

View Full Version : Another new pc Help me thread

Oddjob187
09-04-07, 08:08 PM
So I'm new to the pc building world, and tweaking. Just trying to squeeze it in and see what I can accomplish with the parts and pieces I have, but oddly enough I can't accomplish much. At least compared to the standards I see in peoples sigs on the forum.

Basically right now I am using said hardware:

Intel Q6600 2.4ghz
EVGA Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Asus P5KC
OCZ Dual Channel 5-5-5-15 2GB (Bought a second set and put them in tonight, turns out their faulty, score)
OCZ 650W PSU
22" Widescreen Samsung 1680x1050 Resolution
Windows Vista 32bit

I've updated my bios, chipset, running 163.44 Forceware beta drivers for the card and after taking my faulty ram out of the case I've actually dropped 100 points according to 3dmark06 to 7700. I've even used Rivatuner to jack my core clock to 700 and memory clock to 900 just to see if I could squeeze anything out. Nothing, nada, zip, zilch. Well at least the GPU didn't explode.

Wether or not a game runs smooth is purely dependent on my use of voodoo magic and sacrifices it seems. Supreme Commander gives me 30fps solid while nuking my opponent into the stone age on my native res with high settings, half life 2 has never looked so good with AA/AF maxed, FEAR runs like a champ maxed to the balls settings. On the other hand World In Conflict chugs running at 1280x1024 res, no aa/af on medium settings and Bioshock needs a low res and medium settings to run smooth also.

I understand 320mb of card power might not be enough to process some of the more painful textures of newer games but at the very least should 3dMark06 not be taunting me so?

Any suggestions, or advice for little ol' me, other then sell the 320 on ebay and buy a GTX. :rolleyes:

Thanks,

Oddjob

buffbiff21
09-04-07, 08:50 PM
For comparison, my dualcore E6600 setup with 8800GTS gets over 9k stock.