PDA

View Full Version : The Classic is it worth upgrading question


Riplayne
09-04-07, 09:20 PM
I game at a higher resolution 1920*1080. Currently my setup is running an AMD X2 4400 939 with Corsair PC3500 DDR Ram and an 8800 GTX (768). Now when Crysis comes out I want to be able to run it at the full resolution. Would it be worth upgrading to a E6850 and DDR2 ram or would I not see much of a difference since I would be gaming at such a high resolution?

buffbiff21
09-04-07, 09:22 PM
It would be quite a jump.

However you're at the point where you should just wait for the next big CPU.

Technoholic
09-04-07, 09:46 PM
It would be quite a jump.

However you're at the point where you should just wait for the next big CPU.
And when would that be?

Riplayne, it will be a great jump if you switch...

jeffmd
09-04-07, 11:40 PM
tech, I think the cpu should be "fine", its a fast dual core so you are probably in the "suggested cpu" range for the game. You can't go to much higher in graphics yet, yet you MAY have to lower the resolution in a beast like crysis, I'm not sure yet of course. However since no video upgrade solution is available yet, I would just wait it out.

CaptNKILL
09-04-07, 11:44 PM
I'd do it.

In fact... I did. :p

I was in almost the same exact situation as you and I went with an E6750.

jcossin
09-05-07, 01:05 PM
I just upgraded from a 2.4GHz Opteron 170 to the rig in my sig and I'm getting about a 50% boost in benchmarks (kept my vid card the same) so I'd definitely say GO FOR IT!

I got my mobo for $95, ram for $61 and CPU for $204 at NewEgg. I sold my old mobo/RAM/CPU on eBay and so the upgrade only cost me $100 for a 50% speedup! Well worth it!!

wysiwyg
09-06-07, 03:59 AM
tech, I think the cpu should be "fine", its a fast dual core so you are probably in the "suggested cpu" range for the game. You can't go to much higher in graphics yet, yet you MAY have to lower the resolution in a beast like crysis, I'm not sure yet of course. However since no video upgrade solution is available yet, I would just wait it out.


i dont think crysis will actually be that demanding i bet it will fly on the 8800 GTX

nekrosoft13
09-06-07, 06:46 AM
another vote for go for it

SH0DAN
09-12-07, 05:31 PM
Go for it,going from a 3800 X2 @ 2.59Ghz to my sig system was a massive jump performance wise !

nekrosoft13
09-12-07, 05:54 PM
SH0DAN

what ever happened to Danny Boy?

Everlast went solo, DJ Leathal went to Limp Bizkit, did Danny Boy quit the business?

Gorion
09-13-07, 10:04 AM
I'm gritting my teeth and fighting the upgrade bug and waiting too see how Penryn and AMD's offering plays out. Right now I am playing all of my current games at max settings and I play at 1920X1200. I am so tempted to upgrade right now but I don't really need to so am holding off.

DRen72
09-13-07, 03:12 PM
I've patiently waited too and plan to going with the Yorkfield Quad Extreme processors after November 11th. I'll likely match that with DD3 on an X38 Asus board.

With an 8800GTX already, I think this CPU upgrade will be like lifting the sagging end of a see-saw to the level with the high end. That brings the middle up to par.

MowTin
09-15-07, 01:19 PM
I just upgraded from a 2.4GHz Opteron 170 to the rig in my sig and I'm getting about a 50% boost in benchmarks (kept my vid card the same) so I'd definitely say GO FOR IT!

I got my mobo for $95, ram for $61 and CPU for $204 at NewEgg. I sold my old mobo/RAM/CPU on eBay and so the upgrade only cost me $100 for a 50% speedup! Well worth it!!

Wow! $100. That's great.

The only thing is I'm so lazy about selling stuff on E-Bay. I still have my x800 and bunch of CPU's just sitting here :D

But I definitely need more power. I'm also in the 939/DDR1 boat. Your conversion story gives me hope.

P.S. What about the E2160? I read this story on Tom's and the benchmarks were amazing http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/09/12/pentium_dual_core/

DMA
09-28-07, 05:59 AM
I love my good old 939 system, but I need to upgrade soon. It still plays the newest games, but I wouldn't mind a little more OMPHH! :)

Say I keep my 939 setup for another year, would an Opteron 185 (2.6 GHz) be enough? I plan to OC it of course. 3 GHz maybe? 2MB cache in this baby too. Better in games no?

DRen72
09-28-07, 07:59 AM
I love my good old 939 system, but I need to upgrade soon. It still plays the newest games, but I wouldn't mind a little more OMPHH! :)

Say I keep my 939 setup for another year, would an Opteron 185 (2.6 GHz) be enough? I plan to OC it of course. 3 GHz maybe? 2MB cache in this baby too. Better in games no?Another year? I kinda' doubt it since I'm running something similar and I'm starting to see it slow down in the latest games. Granted, its not bad in most games, but just not quite fast enough in the latest ones.

DMA
09-28-07, 09:03 AM
Another year? I kinda' doubt it since I'm running something similar and I'm starting to see it slow down in the latest games. Granted, its not bad in most games, but just not quite fast enough in the latest ones.

You evil man! :p

An Optie@3 GHz is close to an X2 6000+, and that should be enough for a while right?

Upcomning games will probably push the video card more than the CPU. DX10 and all the yadadada? :D