PDA

View Full Version : Raptors in Raid 0


Roliath
09-05-07, 12:55 AM
Those of you who have Raptors in Raid Zero could you post some
read, read/write, and Random Seek and Read Write test results?

Thinking of going to something similar to this setup soon, and was wondering what type of results I can expect.

Thanks in Advance!

Wolfhound
09-05-07, 01:26 AM
Ill post some ATTO and sandra benchmarks when I get home, right now Im working, 2 Raptors 36Gigs on RAID0, see sig :p

Roliath
09-05-07, 01:43 AM
Ill post some ATTO and sandra benchmarks when I get home, right now Im working, 2 Raptors 36Gigs on RAID0, see sig :p
thanks!

mullet
09-05-07, 01:50 AM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=27675&stc=1&d=1188975854
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=27673&stc=1&d=1188974986

hokeyplyr48
09-05-07, 05:23 AM
mine:
http://img389.imageshack.us/img389/2225/raptorraid0fj4.jpg

Wolfhound
09-05-07, 11:26 AM
Here you have, Sandra Read performance

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/3986/hddbenchgg3.th.jpg (http://img249.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hddbenchgg3.jpg)

|MaguS|
09-05-07, 01:01 PM
I will post my results once I get Sandra downloaded...

EDIT: Dam, my performance sucks compared to others...

Roliath
09-05-07, 01:11 PM
thanks for the results! i'll post some of mine once I get sandra installed.
Can you guys post write performance, if you don't mind?
EDIT: NEVERMIND about the write performance, i just saw that Sandra errors out when trying to test write speeds.

Here's another question, are you guys using a hardware raid card or motherboard raid?
and what are you using for the stripe size?

hokeyplyr48
09-05-07, 02:16 PM
i'm using motherboard raid. its on my abit IP35 Pro motherboard.
not sure about the stripe size? how do i check that?
tell me how and i'll check it

Roliath
09-05-07, 02:27 PM
i'm using motherboard raid. its on my abit IP35 Pro motherboard.
not sure about the stripe size? how do i check that?
tell me how and i'll check it
I'm not sure how to check it on motherboard raid (never used it), but its something you should have selected (or left at default value) when building the array.

I've been playing around with some pricey hard drives and a dell raid card for a build that my buddies putting together. And the main thing he was worried about was the buffer size on these drives only being 8MB and the raptors being 16MB. Well so far on a Raid0 setup with only two drives (plan is four drives total) we're able to read at 131MB/s using sandra. I'm wondering if alot of speed is lost using Motherboard raid (i assume yes) but we still have alot of testing to do.

licker
09-05-07, 02:43 PM
If you guys truly want the best performance its going to cost $$..

I test new hardware for a living so I may be able to help you out a little

check this stuff out....

HP 4port SAS/SATA Controller at Newegg - I think this one is about 400
(codename Spawn)

HP 72GB 10K SAS - This is going to run about 300 to 400 IDK check the price but we have a little over 8,000 of them here at the lab and the best performance I have seen out of these SAS drives is around 300 + read&write in a raid 0

Also if you want to check your stripe size, when your computer boots there should be an option to edit/view your raid so the stripe size should be in there

Roliath
09-05-07, 03:11 PM
If you guys truly want the best performance its going to cost $$..

I test new hardware for a living so I may be able to help you out a little

check this stuff out....

HP 4port SAS/SATA Controller at Newegg - I think this one is about 400
(codename Spawn)

HP 72GB 10K SAS - This is going to run about 300 to 400 IDK check the price but we have a little over 8,000 of them here at the lab and the best performance I have seen out of these SAS drives is around 300 + read&write in a raid 0

Also if you want to check your stripe size, when your computer boots there should be an option to edit/view your raid so the stripe size should be in there

Please check your PM's :)

licker
09-05-07, 04:13 PM
Please check your PM's :)

You got PM

hokeyplyr48
09-05-07, 10:02 PM
so does motherboard raid dramatically influence preformance than?
if so, whats a good alternative (sorry can't justify 400)

Wolfhound
09-06-07, 12:54 AM
thanks for the results! i'll post some of mine once I get sandra installed.
Can you guys post write performance, if you don't mind?
EDIT: NEVERMIND about the write performance, i just saw that Sandra errors out when trying to test write speeds.

Here's another question, are you guys using a hardware raid card or motherboard raid?
and what are you using for the stripe size?


The problem is that Sandra, to test write speed, needs the HDD to be empty to do the test.

Wolfhound
09-06-07, 01:06 AM
I'm not sure how to check it on motherboard raid (never used it), but its something you should have selected (or left at default value) when building the array.

I've been playing around with some pricey hard drives and a dell raid card for a build that my buddies putting together. And the main thing he was worried about was the buffer size on these drives only being 8MB and the raptors being 16MB. Well so far on a Raid0 setup with only two drives (plan is four drives total) we're able to read at 131MB/s using sandra. I'm wondering if alot of speed is lost using Motherboard raid (i assume yes) but we still have alot of testing to do.


Yes the performance loss can be huge between a true hardware RAID and motherboard RAID, if you want more info go to www.storagereview.com

Here you have a Read comparison between WD raptor drives

http://www.storagereview.com/php/benchmark/suite_v4.php?typeID=10&testbedID=4&osID=6&raidconfigID=1&numDrives=1&devID_0=309&devID_1=308&devID_2=267&devID_3=259&devID_4=312&devID_5=311&devID_6=249&devCnt=7

More info on TCQ,SATA, Hardware RAID, software RAID... here

http://www.storagereview.com/TCQ_RAID_SCSI_SATA.sr

Roliath
09-06-07, 10:22 AM
Thanks for the link.
Did some testing yesterday, and installed Vista 32bit on this Raid i'm working with. Well I found out what I expected and thought to be true and these drives blow Raptors out of the water, course there twice the cost but well worth it in my opinion (after seeing them in action).

licker
09-06-07, 10:46 AM
SAS FTW

XDanger
09-06-07, 06:34 PM
Can I have a purpose built 8gb ram drive please, using pc133 or some junk will be fine thanks.

Damn these spinning disks ,wheres the crystals storage media those sci fi movies promised me !

SOAD
09-08-07, 10:43 AM
Can I have a purpose built 8gb ram drive please, using pc133 or some junk will be fine thanks.

Damn these spinning disks ,wheres the crystals storage media those sci fi movies promised me !


+1