PDA

View Full Version : Please help recommend a 600w+ PSU with 30amp on the 12V rail!!


kimono
09-05-07, 07:33 AM
guys after your helpand advice please!!

need to source a PSU that will run my new AGP X1950 Pro but I've been told I need a PSU that will run 30 amps on the 12v rail. Looked at my existing PSU and it's only 18 amps

Can you please recommend me one that's pretty quiet but more importantly not too pricey. Was looking at not spending much more than ?50-?70 tops.

Really appreciate your input, nothing worse than having a new upgrade and not being able to fit it 'cos your dependant on another part and you don't know which one to get!!

Cheers

XDanger
09-07-07, 03:48 PM
If your current psu powers the rest of your stuff ok then Id recomend getting whats powering my 640mb GTS
THERMALTAKE W0099 PUREPOWER POWER EXPRESS 250W VGA POWER SUPPLY
Unless the power consumption of an x1950 pro is up in the clouds.

buffbiff21
09-07-07, 04:14 PM
Here you go!

http://www.buy.com/prod/corsair-vx-450w-power-supply/q/loc/101/205466485.html

Corsair VX450. 33A on the +12V line.

Review. (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article751-page1.html)

No need for 600+ watts.


EDIT: look at that asshole OP's sig. :ban:

SOAD
09-07-07, 05:30 PM
thermaltake purepower 680w ftw!

Silent but does everything

Airbrushkid
09-07-07, 05:47 PM
I'm lost on how you can use this THERMALTAKE W0099 PUREPOWER POWER EXPRESS 250W VGA POWER SUPPLY It's rated for 21 amps. Your video card requires 26 amps.

If your current psu powers the rest of your stuff ok then Id recomend getting whats powering my 640mb GTS
THERMALTAKE W0099 PUREPOWER POWER EXPRESS 250W VGA POWER SUPPLY
Unless the power consumption of an x1950 pro is up in the clouds.

wolfgar
09-07-07, 06:23 PM
I swapped to a 'PC Power and Cooling' 610 for similar reasons for my 8800GTX

XDanger
09-07-07, 07:01 PM
I'm lost on how you can use this THERMALTAKE W0099 PUREPOWER POWER EXPRESS 250W VGA POWER SUPPLY It's rated for 21 amps. Your video card requires 26 amps.
And oveclocked too and its fine and stable , :)
Im no expert but probably as all its powering is a single card and not a whole pc or even an sli card setup its ok ,Would be no good for a gtx though.

Im hoping the new cards are easy on the psu ,otherwise im going for a PCP&C PSU, then ill do some PCP

Airbrushkid
09-07-07, 07:15 PM
I a bit lost. I have a 650 watt power supply. It has 3 - 12 v rails and all 3 supply 19 amps each. I plan on getting a EVGA 8800 GTS 320 or the 640 card. They both require 26 amps. I was told on another forum that my power supply would do fine. But I thought it would be under powered. So I don't know what to think..

buffbiff21
09-07-07, 07:20 PM
guys....

OP IS A SPAMBOT

XDanger
09-07-07, 07:24 PM
pc p&c silencer 750w looks nice ,Its has all the connectors I need for my rig.

XDanger
09-07-07, 07:27 PM
guys....

OP IS A SPAMBOT
I prefer the fembots
but not femputers ,they sound like that man from "The Golden Girls"

Airbrushkid
09-07-07, 07:36 PM
So whos OP?

Mercilesssyrus
09-07-07, 10:13 PM
ocz gamestream 18a on each 12v rail 74a total

shteve
09-08-07, 07:52 AM
And oveclocked too and its fine and stable , :)
Im no expert but probably as all its powering is a single card and not a whole pc or even an sli card setup its ok ,Would be no good for a gtx though.

Im hoping the new cards are easy on the psu ,otherwise im going for a PCP&C PSU, then ill do some PCP

Actually, I'm powering my GTX with one of those with no probs. If it'll power SLI 7950GX2, it should be ok for 1 GTX. Ironically, I'm also using a hiper 580 too ;)

Joe Public
09-08-07, 08:41 AM
So whos OP?

Apparently someone who's in need of pen0s enlargement if you go by his sig. (nana2) (lee63)

radekhulan
09-08-07, 06:49 PM
Recommended reading:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/other/display/atx-psu7.html

buffbiff21
09-09-07, 04:46 PM
So whos OP?

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=OP

THE PERSON WHO STARTED THIS THREAD IS A SPAMBOT

XDanger
09-10-07, 03:28 PM
Actually, I'm powering my GTX with one of those with no probs. If it'll power SLI 7950GX2, it should be ok for 1 GTX. Ironically, I'm also using a hiper 580 too ;)
ORLY?
more ironic ,my name is also steve !!!