PDA

View Full Version : Crysis Beta Feedback Thread


Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 [78] 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93

Blade
10-02-07, 11:21 AM
Check out the crysis Beta Forums to turn off blur, i did it but cant remember how as i'm at work & my brain is on fire!

mcbacker
10-02-07, 11:55 AM
took me like 30 minutes to get in a game... crashed twice to desktop and once it actually crashed my entire PC requiring a hard reboot:thumbdwn: while trying to join a server

im getting average 30-40FPS outdoors at 1920x1200... turned off motion blur since i cant stand it... really gotta crank some AF

What happened when it crashed entire PC? Something on screen?

MC

LORD-eX-Bu
10-02-07, 11:55 AM
its been running great for me, I'm addicted to this now:D

Eliminator
10-02-07, 12:01 PM
What happened when it crashed entire PC? Something on screen?

MC
nope... just lost display.... the other time it crashed to desktop it gave some error message which i couldnt see.... maybe its because i kept trying to log in like 10 times

|JuiceZ|
10-02-07, 12:06 PM
The SP will likely run mega-tons better allowing for much higher settings. I mean really, go fire up CSS and join a 32 person server and play aztec @ 1600x1200 w/8xaa and 16xAF and look at the frame rates then compare keeping in mind this is a BETA not a game thats been out for 5 years.

Exactly, Crytek designed this game to push PC hardware to the limit and be scalable into the future. Everyone has known this from the beginning but yet ppl still complain that it runs like crap. The purpose of this beta is to debug the game across various hardware specs. The best thing we can do as beta testers is provide bug reports back to Crytek so they can optimize this thing to run better. On my pc I've noticed the performance has gotten slightly better with each beta release. We're still several weeks out from 11/16. If it still runs like crap when the game is released, then let 'em have it but for now, let's try to keep things in perspective folks ;)

Zeus666
10-02-07, 12:23 PM
http://stage6.divx.com/user/CYANure/video/1700664/Crysis---Exclu-beta

"Asynchronous shader compiling defaulted to 1"

Dragunov
10-02-07, 12:26 PM
I didn't know all of u can talk about the beta without breaking the NDA

mojoman0
10-02-07, 12:39 PM
I get an average of 50-60 fps at 1024x768 with all low with my 6800gt. This allowed me to bump up the textures to medium and a couple other settings to average around 37 fps with drops a tiny bit below 30. I'm impressed, but no AA kinda ruins everything and I'm sure I'll have to sacrifice some medium settings for it.

Destroy
10-02-07, 12:40 PM
Exactly, Crytek designed this game to push PC hardware to the limit and be scalable into the future. Everyone has known this from the beginning but yet ppl still complain that it runs like crap.


Here, here!!! All you whiners quit bitching about the performance. What do you expect when a game looks this good? No other game has these visuals with this decent performance.

I want better gfx. I'm hoping they give us TONS more improved closer up textures in Very High mode. As it stands now, very minimal textures are jaw dropping.

Turn the gfx down if your rig can't handle it, that's what the options are for. :afro2:

jcrox
10-02-07, 01:00 PM
I didn't know all of u can talk about the beta without breaking the NDA

Not talking about the beta, just the people complaining about it ;)

Katana
10-02-07, 02:01 PM
Very first problem
Why you might add? Because of this....http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3469/crysis2007100206532517li3.th.jpg (http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=crysis2007100206532517li3.jpg)
Crysis not coming to consoles my arse!!!! Hit the 'Start' button my my PC 360 controller and bingo, I'm right in the game. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

It aint coming to any consoles, they've just added gamepad-support. partly because they want consolegamers to feel at least a little bit at home when trying crysis, they might not be used to keyboard+mouse.

if i remember it correct cevat is talking a little about it in this podcast
http://www.incrysis.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=496

Destroy
10-02-07, 02:18 PM
It aint coming to any consoles,

Sort of like Halo3 not being on PC or Gears of War not on PC. ;) I know they deny it now.

I'll bet Crysis, like FarCry did, will eventually come out on console.

SH0DAN
10-02-07, 02:20 PM
Corrupt textures at the beginning. 'Replace Shader' yellow polys throughout. 1280x1024 with 4XaAA - GTX and Quad @ 3.2Ghz, 20 - 30 FPS. Laughable.


After playing about 10 mins which was all I could take. It looks like HL2 and F.E.A.R. except those play 1000x better. Glad I wasn't too excited about Crysis, I knew I'd be disappointed and I am. Also, extremely glad I don't pay for FilePlanet cause - my God what a waste of money this would have been to pay for Sub and get this POS from there. Gamespy wouldn't let me in using the correct username and PW so I had to screw with that for 20 mins before it worked... argh.. aweful!!

So to sum up, performance sucked, missing polys and 'replace shader' errors. Reminded me of playing the early leaked HL2 beta. Gamespy doesnt authenticate half the time. The goods - water looked great, under water looked great. The rest looks like stuff I can play already at much higher framerate. :rolleyes:


This pretty much sums it up for me ! And whats worse is I ordered an eVGA Ultra fom NCIX last night.My god I bought a Raptor X last week for this,and saved up for the Ultra for two paychecks for this !! I know its a Beta an all,but my god,performance is really,really bad on high,with NO aa and NO af at 19x12 on high........What the **** happened !? With Beta 1 performance was actually noticeably better ! :(

Maybe I am doing something wrong...I dont know :o I'm going to try a driver re install when I get back from study group tonight.

LORD-eX-Bu
10-02-07, 02:23 PM
what driver are you using? the yellow errors only happen once till they are all compiled.

Destroy
10-02-07, 02:26 PM
I'll venture to guess the reason HL2 and FEAR run so much better is cause they are 'indoors'. Neither of these 2 are rendering anything close to the area that Crysis is.

Need to more compare it to Quake Wars; which runs much faster but is not visually in the same league.

Subtestube
10-02-07, 02:27 PM
It aint coming to any consoles, they've just added gamepad-support. partly because they want consolegamers to feel at least a little bit at home when trying crysis, they might not be used to keyboard+mouse.

if i remember it correct cevat is talking a little about it in this podcast
http://www.incrysis.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=496

This is actually also a games for windows TCR (Technical Checklist Requirement) - games that support the 360 gamepad at all must provide all sorts of integration with it. I think technically all "Games for Windows" games have to provide 360 gamepad awareness and full UI navigation, but I think sometimes MS waives that - certainly it doesn't work with Civ 4: BTS, but then, you wouldn't expect it to!

JohnDio
10-02-07, 02:37 PM
You can't be possibly saying that FEAR or HL2 looks better than Crysis. I mean... LOL people, be serious for once :)

rHy0
10-02-07, 02:57 PM
Jonelo where eva you are! Can you tell me what kinda system you are using plz. Or even just your card.

Just looking at the screens you posted a few pages back and you got decent looking framerates there.

Thanks.

californian1
10-02-07, 03:00 PM
Sort of like Halo3 not being on PC or Gears of War not on PC. ;) I know they deny it now.

I'll bet Crysis, like FarCry did, will eventually come out on console.

Gears of WAR is comin to PC with like 3 more missions than the 360
http://kotaku.com/gaming/computing/cliffyb-talks-gears-of-war-pc-305308.php

according to that its in November

Gstop has it listed as well
http://www.gamestop.com/product.asp?product%5Fid=T000693

http://www.driverheaven.net/gamingreviews/crysisinterview/index.php
Gaming Heaven: Crysis is one of the few bastions of PC gaming. What were your main reasons to ignore consoles? Wouldn't the fixed architecture make them prime candidates for optimizations?

Cevat: Yes would be. But the original Crysis game as we designed wouldn’t be possible on consoles that’s why and our key reason to ignore other platforms is to focus on quality and the game.

so now if Crysis is comin to console, its gonna be watered down a lot... instead of a map with size of 10km x 10km... its prolly 1km x 1km constant stream bubble.. lower res texture ... etc

Jonelo
10-02-07, 03:05 PM
Jonelo where eva you are! Can you tell me what kinda system you are using plz. Or even just your card.

Just looking at the screens you posted a few pages back and you got decent looking framerates there.

Thanks.

8800 GTX + C2 2750mhz . But is the second beta, with some tweaks for to put the graphics in very high, more resolution in the shadows , sun shafts etc . This not is possible in this beta .

rHy0
10-02-07, 03:09 PM
8800 GTX + C2 2750mhz . But is the second beta, with some tweaks for to put the graphics in very high, more resolution in the shadows , sun shafts etc . This not is possible in this beta .
Ahh... I was hoping you had a GTS:o That would have got me excited.

Thanks for the quick response.

m3dude
10-02-07, 03:13 PM
Gears of WAR is comin to PC with like 3 more missions than the 360
http://kotaku.com/gaming/computing/cliffyb-talks-gears-of-war-pc-305308.php

according to that its in November

Gstop has it listed as well
http://www.gamestop.com/product.asp?product%5Fid=T000693

http://www.driverheaven.net/gamingreviews/crysisinterview/index.php


so now if Crysis is comin to console, its gonna be watered down a lot... instead of a map with size of 10km x 10km... its prolly 1km x 1km constant stream bubble.. lower res texture ... etc

ceveat yerli has stated that the only reason crysis isnt on the consoles is lack of memory, they have plenty of cpu/gpu power

Eliminator
10-02-07, 03:24 PM
ceveat yerli has stated that the only reason crysis isnt on the consoles is lack of memory, they have plenty of cpu/gpu power
im sure that could get optimized to work on consoles... wont look as good as on pc but should still be good

just got to play a bit more... i didnt get any more crashes and was actually able to log in to a game pretty fast... not too impressed so far... gfx are good but nothing mindblowing considering the poor performance...

EDIT: to disable motion blur set the post processing option to medium

Dreamingawake
10-02-07, 03:34 PM
Beta 3 runs great here ! Especially in XP.

I think the graphics are better in Beta 3 also.

There's notable difference; more vegetation, more random bits of scenery, ie. boats, misc. stuff lying around, and the water fall even looks better.

Not to mention, the frogs don't fly from the sky and that weird reflection on the water is gone.

Zeus666
10-02-07, 03:39 PM
Have you seen the new nuke explosion ?!

Look at this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heHpHecAZ5c :captnkill:



..................................................
For those few people, missed the news
ForceWare Release 163.71 (http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us) released
..................................................


EDIT