PDA

View Full Version : CPU identification ?


firthy
08-21-02, 10:45 AM
Just received my supposedly Atlon XP2000+ processor.

Top line on processor reads AX2100DMT 3C (last letter could be an O or G with a bit missing.

Is this possibly an XP2100+ because I'm sure all of the other Xp's that I have installed have had AX1800 or similar for XP1800+ etc.

I'd just like to know before I install it, because I will have to upgrade my Bios to recognise a 2100+.

Regards,

Firthy

/dev/evil
08-28-02, 05:10 PM
I would say upgrade the bios and give it a shot, because if it says on the chip that it is a 2100, then it really is a 2100+, and that would have been a mistake from where you bought it from. Even if it isn't at least you would have the most up to date bios, and that usually helps if there are any bugs in your mainboard.

pelly
08-28-02, 09:06 PM
Sounds like you scored an XP2100!!!

:D

Philibob
08-29-02, 05:28 AM
Where did you buy it from?
I'll ask for a GF3 and see what I get :D

firthy
08-29-02, 07:41 AM
Upgraded Bios and installed on auto settings and it is definitely a 2100+. Good result !!!

I bought it from microdirect.co.uk. I suppose you're hoping that they have a batch of these now, all the same.

Regards,

Firthy

Philibob
08-29-02, 08:32 AM
Originally posted by firthy
I bought it from microdirect.co.uk.
I bought my 1800+ from there in May but they gave me the right one :(