PDA

View Full Version : GeForce 8800 GTS with budget CPU


Maverickman
09-16-07, 06:38 PM
I was thinking of getting an Athlon 64 X2 system and using an 8800 GTS with it. The X2 is a 5600+. Now this CPU is not that great anymore, but I thought it would be enough to at least work with an 8800 GTS. I thought about the 6400+, but it would probably take too much juice. Can anyone using an Athlon X2 CPU let me know how it performs with the 8800 GTS? I'm not looking at any overclocking.

jeffmd
09-16-07, 11:47 PM
what can we say? all we can say is you will be losing performance over a more powerful cpu.

ATOJAR
09-17-07, 12:34 AM
all we can say is you will be losing performance over a more powerful cpu.

Exactly,..... why would you want to swap a C2D for a AMD X2?

I had a AMD X2 4200+ that i have overclocked to 2.6GHz, when i got my conroe i also overclocked that to 2.6GHz at first just to compare some benchies at the same speeds! .... the conroe won hands down! i know you say you dont want to overclock BUT you could very easily overclock your C2D to 2.8GHz(or over)if you wanted to..... it if was me(and i think almost everybody here will agree with me)i would just keep the conroe and overclock it slightly!

XxDeadlyxX
09-17-07, 12:56 AM
I'd say my CPU is limiting my card, not by HEAPS though, still works good.

CaptNKILL
09-17-07, 04:33 AM
I'm confused... if you have a core 2 why would you downgrade? :|

john19055
09-17-07, 01:44 PM
If you have a E6700 why would you even think about getting a AMD,the E6700 should overclock by alot ,I know the E6600 that I had did 3.6gig without any problems .I would think your E6700 should overclock to 3.2gig or more pretty easy even tho you would need a after market CPU cooler if you overclock it real high and have to increase the CPU core voltage .but I would think you could do 3gigs on stock voltage.

ATOJAR
09-17-07, 02:08 PM
He should be able to push that E6700 easily past 3.0GHz ..... I can get my E6600 to 3.5GHz stable and still have decent temps!

khellandros66
09-17-07, 06:45 PM
I think what he is saying is he wants a 2nd system but on a budget.

Yes the 5600+ and 8800GTS Mix very well. My friend just finished his system and my bro was so impressed he ordered a very similar system.

My Friend

Asus Crosshair
AM2 5600+
EVGA 8800GTS
2x1GB Gskil PC6400 4-4-4-12
Zalman 9700NT
74GB Raptor (left over from old gaming machine)
80GB Seagate SATA (left over from old gaming machine)
Philips DVD +/-RW
COOLER MASTER RC-690
OCZ 700w PSU

------------------------------------------------------------

My Bro

Gygabye 570 SLI
AM2 5600+
EVGA 8800GTS
2x1GB ADATAl PC6400 5-5-5-18
Scythe SCNJ-1100P
WD 320GB SATA 3.0
Asus DVD+/-RW
COOLER MASTER RC-690
XCLIO GREATPOWER 650W Modular PSU

PS: BTW For the money this is by far one of the best cases I have ever used.

trinibwoy
09-17-07, 07:16 PM
I have a 2.5Ghz X2 and my GTS-640 is the bottleneck at the settings I use - 16x10 4x/16x. If you run at lower res then you might see CPU limitations come into play.

Maverickman
09-20-07, 10:38 PM
The Athlon X2 is definitely CPU limited with even an 8800 GTS. The 600+ wouldn't even be worthwhile paired with an 8800 GTX!

joshua7
09-23-07, 06:54 AM
The Athlon X2 is definitely CPU limited with even an 8800 GTS. The 600+ wouldn't even be worthwhile paired with an 8800 GTX!

Not true. It depends on the settings, he uses. Using 1600x1200 or higher +AA and AF leads to the gpu (talking about the GTS) to be the bottleneck. Though in some of today's games it may be the case even on 1280x1024.

Maverickman
09-25-07, 07:56 PM
Any Athlon 64 X2 except for the 6400+ is really a "budget" CPU. I don't know why I bothered to think about getting one. The prices are attractice now, but the performance isn't.