PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty getting 1066Mhz stable, Corsair Ram.


[EOCF] Tim
09-20-07, 09:14 AM
Hi,

I have 2x1Gb TWIN2X2048-6400C4.

At stock memory settings I get can it stable for 10hrs, no errors.

That's on this configuration :

1600 FSB 400x9 : 3.6Ghz

vCore : 1.5v (droop mod done)
vFSB : 1.5v
vMem : 2.1v
vSPP : 1.50v
vMCP : 1.60v
vHT : 1.2v

Dram Linked/Syced 800Mhz : 4-4-4-12-2T 3-22-5-9-7.8uS


Now where I want to be is running Dram Linked/3:2 1066Mhz.

But it fails after about 5-6hrs, either freezes or BSOD's, but almost always freezes when running Prime95, also with Memtest86+ I get the same result, freezing or black screen.

Only change in voltages is 2.2v with a fan over it. Timings set to 5-4-4-4-12T. If I change anything in the advanced timings, windows doesn't even boot, and no matter what I change, I have to reset the CMOS.

I tried putting it to 2.3v, and within 10min, watching a divx movie, it bluescreened, so I reckon it's not the memory voltage, it would certainly bring errors up.

Now what should I do to get this stable?


Setup :

Intel C2Q Q6600 G0
eVGA nForce 680i SLI A1 P30
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
Corsair HX520w
D-Tek FuZion - Eheim 1048 - Thermochill PA 120x3

FastRedPonyCar
09-20-07, 10:04 AM
what video card are you running?

Seems like all you got going and pumping more voltage to the cpu and ram than normal, that PSU may be gasping for breath...

[EOCF] Tim
09-20-07, 10:08 AM
I have an 8800GTS 640mb. :)

Weird thing is that it did complete a 10hr loops, but that was just once, and couldn't get there any more, no matter what I tried.

FastRedPonyCar
09-20-07, 10:14 AM
how stable is it when not running prime 95? Like does it freeze or lock up during gaming or anything like that?

Remember that stress tests are just that. They beat the living piss out of the system to TRY and crash it. How often do you think you'll be pushing your system to the point of no return for 10 hours straight?

I think my money is still on the power supply.

Oc'd 680i board + 8800 + water cooling + however many drives you're running is a LOT for a 520 watt PSU to try and handle.

I had this debate with the forum guys back in march when I was considering the 520 and they all pretty much unanimously told me to get the 620. Most actually told me to get 700 or more.

Sycario
09-20-07, 10:16 AM
Try the memory voltage at 2.2v or 2.3v and put a fan on it. I have mine at 2.3v and put a 120mm case fan blowing onto the ram. If the fan isn't on it, it doesn't stay stable for very long.

[EOCF] Tim
09-20-07, 10:19 AM
Try the memory voltage at 2.2v or 2.3v and put a fan on it. I have mine at 2.3v and put a 120mm case fan blowing onto the ram. If the fan isn't on it, it doesn't stay stable for very long.

Did you read my post?

[EOCF] Tim
09-20-07, 10:38 AM
how stable is it when not running prime 95? Like does it freeze or lock up during gaming or anything like that?

Remember that stress tests are just that. They beat the living piss out of the system to TRY and crash it. How often do you think you'll be pushing your system to the point of no return for 10 hours straight?

I think my money is still on the power supply.

Oc'd 680i board + 8800 + water cooling + however many drives you're running is a LOT for a 520 watt PSU to try and handle.

I had this debate with the forum guys back in march when I was considering the 520 and they all pretty much unanimously told me to get the 620. Most actually told me to get 700 or more.

Sorry, I didn't see your post, I have 3 drives, one of them a raptor 74gb. With these clocks I haven't gamed really, I should probably try that aswell. Yea the 520w might have been a bit too weak for it. But it's just strange that it only fails after 6hr or so?

Btw, 6 120mm fans, 1 80mm fan, watercooling pump is AC.


eXtreme Power Supply Calculator gives me 538w at 3.6Ghz, bit rubbish perhaps that calculator, but gives an indication.

Sycario
09-20-07, 11:51 AM
Tim']Did you read my post?

Yes, I read your post. I said put a fan on it. It might be that it's running too hot. But apperently I read over the part where you said that.

Maybe the memory just wont go that high? if it's DDR2-800 not many sets of memory will run at 1066. Maybe try the latency at 5-5-5-12?

FastRedPonyCar
09-20-07, 03:10 PM
yeah just lowering the latency may work as well. My mobo won't let me take the ram speed as high as I wanted so I just dropped the latency down some and it got faster.

[EOCF] Tim
09-20-07, 05:11 PM
Well, at 5-5-5-15-2T 2.2v it simply just froze after encoding a video, literally a minute after starting.

I think it really is the PSU, well I ordered a HX620, so we'll find out. :D

FastRedPonyCar
09-21-07, 10:40 AM
WOOT! hopefully that will make it run more stable. If not, oh well, at least that removes that potential problem item out of any stability questions.

jcrox
09-21-07, 10:58 AM
I'd have to agree on the PSU issue. I had a OCZ 700w and OC to 3.6 easily, after it got fried I used a 550w Ultra while waiting for my new PSU and couldn't run @ 3.2 GHz stable, now I can do 3.6 again.

[EOCF] Tim
09-21-07, 06:27 PM
WOOT! hopefully that will make it run more stable. If not, oh well, at least that removes that potential problem item out of any stability questions.

Yea, and especially with getting a 8800GTX, or future card, that will be enough juice. Can't wait, might get a higher CPU overclock aswell. :)

[EOCF] Tim
09-22-07, 09:25 AM
I have some interesting PSU measurements, that I'd like to share with you.

Taken with DMM, at the ATX connector, 8 pin, PCIe, and Motherboard Molex.




Idle - 3DMark06 - Prime95 max heat/powerconsumption.


ATX

3.39v - 3.38v - 3.37v
4.95v - 4.94v - 4.92v
12.15 - 12.10 - 12.06v

8 Pin

12.15v - 12.09v - 12.01v

Motherboard Molex

4.94v - 4.93v - 4.91v
12.14 - 12.09 - 12.06v

PCI-E

12.14v - 12.08v - 12.05v





Quite interesting, without(!) stressing the Graphics card, but with Prime95 max powerconsumtion, the PSU takes quite a beating. Especially on the 5v+.

This does lead me to believe it is the PSU.....

[EOCF] Tim
10-05-07, 03:18 AM
Well it's not my PSU, sorry for the late reply but I was on holiday. Got the 620w, but it again restarted after about 6 hours, I'm just going to mess around with the timings I guess.

buffbiff21
10-05-07, 03:46 AM
Increase vSPP.

Revs
10-05-07, 03:58 AM
All your components are very heavy power users, it could still be a PSU issue. It may also be getting too hot in the case for the PSU to work efficiently, that could explain the 5-10 hr delay in problems appearing. Just out of interest, if ya set your timings to 'Auto', what does it set its-self to and is it stable. On my Striker, which is the same chipset as yours, it's very good at setting its own timings. I've given up setting them my self as it's always just about bang on, maybe a slight tweek over the 'Auto' settings.

[EOCF] Tim
10-05-07, 05:20 PM
Well I highly HIGHLY doubt it's the PSU, with 620w to spare, on one of the best PSU's out there.

Strange, Auto voltages are :

vCore : 1.44v from 1.50v
vFSB : 1.4v ,, 1.5v
vmem : 2.1v ,, 2.2v
vSPP : 1.4v ,, 1.5v
VMCP : 1.50v ,, 1.60v
vHT : 1.20v ,, 1.20v

Well, we'll see this night if it completes Prime for longer then six, just in case I re attached the 80mm fan directing flow to the memory.

Digital_Trans
10-06-07, 02:52 AM
If anyone's running an Intel QX6850 with CORSAIR Dominator 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Memory try these
great timing settings.....

Under FSB and Memory Configuration select

FSB-Memory Clock Mode: Unlinked
FSB-Memory Ratio: Auto
FSB (QDR) MHz 1,333 MHz
Actual FSB (QDR) 1,333 MHz
Mem (DDR) MHz 1066
Actual Mem (DDR) MHz 1066.7

Under Over Voltage select

Memory Voltage 2.200v
NB Core Voltage (1.40v)


Under Memory Timings Settings

TCL (CAS LATENCY)-5
TRCD-5
TRP-5
TRAS-15
Command per clock (CMD) 2 Clock


Under Advanced Memory timings settings select

TRC-24/ If unstable, up this a notch to 28 if running 4GB total system memory


Disable SLI-Ready Memory

If all else fails call Corsair Tech Support Toll Free: 1-800-205-7657

[EOCF] Tim
10-06-07, 06:03 PM
Thanks for the advice mate.

Well I did a primerun on auto voltages except Vcore and vFSB, on the previous stable settings :

800Mhz linked/synced, 4-3-3-12-2T 3-22-5-8 2.1v

And all the lower auto voltages as mentioned in the previous post, just completed a 14hr Prime run without problem. I'll try 1066 tonight with the lower voltages, should be interesting, might be that some voltages are a bit too high, interesting chipset the 680i. :)

[EOCF] Tim
10-07-07, 06:50 AM
Damn, no matter what I try it just doesn't work. I'm just going to start at the loosest timings possible, but I think I'd be much better off at 800Mhz and 4-3-3-12-2T. :o