PDA

View Full Version : My new DSL


Pages : [1] 2

Sycario
09-20-07, 10:08 AM
I had 10mbps from charter for $69 a month. I checked the DSL company's website and noticed they had 10mbps for $39 so I ordered it. They gave me $10 off for a year so I only pay $29.

DSL:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/186026619.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Cable:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/186027103.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Not bad...

retsam
09-20-07, 10:20 AM
sounds like adsl 2+ to me....not bad at all, just wish they had more upstream bandwidth...

chunkey
09-20-07, 03:54 PM
sounds like adsl 2+ to me....not bad at all, just wish they had more upstream bandwidth...

but the ping time is better: 17ms with DSL vs. 64ms with Cable...

Tr1cK
09-20-07, 05:27 PM
When I read the title, I thought these:
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/6754/lipslk0.jpg

nightmare beta
09-20-07, 05:30 PM
I didn't know dsl could be that fast.

retsam
09-20-07, 06:22 PM
but the ping time is better: 17ms with DSL vs. 64ms with Cable...
thats because the network itself is new, its not just an addon to the exsisting one. so you have a line from your modem back to whats called a dslam, well the old 24 port dslam connected back to the ISP infrastructure by means of a t-3(45 megabits per second)line, well the new dslam's connect back to the infrastructure by means of an OC (fiberoptics line) that can connect to the rest of the infrastructure by much higher speed rates( probably in the range of gigabits) so now you eliminated any bottlenecks of over subscription of the dslam.

Q
09-20-07, 07:59 PM
YO DISSLE IS DA SHIZZLE YO

retsam
09-20-07, 11:23 PM
but the ping time is better: 17ms with DSL vs. 64ms with Cable...sorry i didnt fully read what you said...im really sick this week and i missed it...

the reason your ping times are better is because cable has many households(ive heard as many as several hundred) on a single node thats shares 35 mbps..so it sounds like your node was overloaded...

chunkey
09-21-07, 02:58 PM
sorry i didnt fully read what you said...im really sick this week and i missed it...

the reason your ping times are better is because cable has many households(ive heard as many as several hundred) on a single node thats shares 35 mbps..so it sounds like your node was overloaded...

I know... BTW. don't forget different "error correction", "error prevention" techniques e.g. interleaving that can cause the big delta in the latencies. ;)



not bad at all, just wish they had more upstream bandwidth...


I just wanted to say something "pro" DSL.
You're totally right, the upstream is a bit low. But on the other hand the ping time is much better...

retsam
09-21-07, 03:20 PM
I know... BTW. don't forget different "error correction", "error prevention" techniques e.g. interleaving that can cause the big delta in the latencies. yep, but on a line that is either boarderline exceptable or close to the end of the loop length its a nessisary evil. fast path FTW!!

Sycario
09-21-07, 03:42 PM
I've been having problems with the cable lately. Random packetloss or high pings. Not always during the evening. The speed it consistent all day though. Most of the time the pings on the cable are better than the DSL. I don't think 15-20ms difference is a big deal. When I lived in Alabama and had Knology my pings spiked from 100-500 and 30% PL but i still played games. Of course I only played with my friends who live in orlando who had a lot of trouble with their cable (RoadRunner).

retsam
09-21-07, 03:44 PM
I've been having problems with the cable lately. Random packetloss or high pings. Not always during the evening. The speed it consistent all day though. Most of the time the pings on the cable are better than the DSL. I don't think 15-20ms difference is a big deal. When I lived in Alabama and had Knology my pings spiked from 100-500 and 30% PL but i still played games. Of course I only played with my friends who live in orlando who had a lot of trouble with their cable (RoadRunner).
try and do a pathping and post it here to see were the packets maybe dropping.

Monolyth
09-21-07, 03:52 PM
Nice speeds & ping, unfortunately I'm out of the CO range at this apartment and so far I've heard no word of them enabling the RT they have in my area (yeah it's sitting there collecting dust). I loved using my DSL for gaming & Cable for downloads at the same time. :)

Sycario
09-21-07, 10:51 PM
try and do a pathping and post it here to see were the packets maybe dropping.

It's mostly the first hop into qwest or level3. Nothing I can do about that.

retsam
09-21-07, 11:25 PM
It's mostly the first hop into qwest or level3. Nothing I can do about that.
you can call your service provider or flip off an email to those backbone providers and show them what you are seeing and provide a detailed log of what your seeing.

retsam
09-21-07, 11:28 PM
It's mostly the first hop into qwest or level3. Nothing I can do about that.
can you post your output minus your routers ip address?

Sycario
09-22-07, 01:08 PM
you can call your service provider or flip off an email to those backbone providers and show them what you are seeing and provide a detailed log of what your seeing.

I've tried this before, they are useless to say the least.

retsam
09-22-07, 02:50 PM
I've tried this before, they are useless to say the least.
your right, its a 50/50 crap shoot when it comes to providers, like you, i have had providers ignore me and ive had providers follow up, it doesn hurt to try.

wnd
09-24-07, 07:11 AM
sounds like adsl 2+ to me....not bad at all, just wish they had more upstream bandwidth...

You probably know this already, but just for the record: Plain ADSL2 with 12/1 Mb/s would suffice here, as ADSL2+ gives 24 Mb/s downstream. For better upsteam (~3.5 Mb/s) you'd have to use Annex-M.

retsam
09-24-07, 07:40 AM
You probably know this already, but just for the record: Plain ADSL2 with 12/1 Mb/s would suffice here, as ADSL2+ gives 24 Mb/s downstream. For better upsteam (~3.5 Mb/s) you'd have to use Annex-M.
alot of providers are using adsl2+ not so much for the speed improvements but for the distance improvements.

Annex-Mthere is also talk of aggrigating two or more dsl lines for faster throughput..ive never heard of Annex-M but from the wiki i did find on it sounds like the providers should just stick to implementing adsl2+ just for the reason of stearing clear of a propriatary or niche market.

wnd
09-24-07, 03:37 PM
alot of providers are using adsl2+ not so much for the speed improvements but for the distance improvements.

True, but the nitpicker I am, I just had to say that.

there is also talk of aggrigating two or more dsl lines for faster throughput..ive never heard of Annex-M but from the wiki i did find on it sounds like the providers should just stick to implementing adsl2+ just for the reason of stearing clear of a propriatary or niche market.

Aggregating existing physical media is an option if there's enough copper (or whatever the media would be) laid down already, but personally I don't see a problem in taking advantage of more efficient standards such as Annex-M. However, the problem with Annex-M is distance. For example, IIRC, I'm living ~1200 metres from the DSLAM, and my ISP considers anything over 1000 metres not to match their quality standard. As also stated in Wikipedia, Annex-M is an international standard which has already been deployed in number of places, so at worst it will be "niche market". It won't be the next big thing for sparsely populated areas, but I already know a couple of fellows who are quite glad such technology is available.

I'm reasonably sure my ISP would reconsider selling me ADSL2+M if I made it clear that I understood the limitations and consequences of the distance. Fortunately for me I'm quite happy with 12/1 Mb/s for time being -- especially now that they have finally announced IPv6-connectivity by the end of the year (until now they provided IPv6 only for customers who paid for public subnet). :-) IPv6-tunnel was a nice thing to have, but I won't miss it.

Sycario
09-24-07, 05:47 PM
Well, good news (kinda) and bad news. After a few days of having the DSL I noticed random disconnects. I called support and they sent someone out to test the lines, etc.. The tech said the distance limit is 10,000 feet and I'm 10,500 feet away. They did some testing and set it at 8mbps. The DSL provider is CenturyTel, they by FAR have the best techs/support I have ever had to deal with. I called them on Friday and they said it would take 24-48 hours to process the work order. The tech showed up at noon on saturday. He also told me that at almost all of the new subdivisions around here, CenturyTel wired with fiber and they provide TV service also.

Charter finally fixed the cable, no more packetloss and speeds/pings have improved a bit.

I'm living with my parents while saving up for a house but now I have to be picky about where I buy one. :D

Libertysyclone
09-24-07, 07:36 PM
That would be my first mistake when i bought my house.

I had cable (comcast) which was nice for Downloads 4100/768 with a 100ms latency (weak sauce)

But after they charged me $150 to come and fix THEIR equipment not only once but THREE DIFFERENT TIMES I told them to shove their internet and Cable up their ass sideways.

Now I am stuck with 256k dsl :(

If i would have moved 4 blocks west I would get teh 7mb from qwest.

Or I could have moved 40 miles south and got Qwest Fiber ( a lot like Verizons FiOS) 10mb/10mb stupid neighborhood.


The biggest complaint of mine is that through the wasatch valley in utah about 3 years ago the government proposed a "community network" all fiber based to hubs then to 10/100/1000 to homes.

They would allow ISPs to use this network as their backbone, but also allow those whom didnt want internet to have access to all Govt. like library utilities ect.. through a intranet.

I look at it as more competitive prices for me in the end. Well the great asshole mayor of SLC spoke up saying that it would just be a great system for people who pirate software/movies... and that our current systems were more than enough for the avg user. So it failed govt funding and the contracter went under. I=still pissed......

Capt. Picard
09-25-07, 11:55 AM
I had 10mbps from charter for $69 a month. I checked the DSL company's website and noticed they had 10mbps for $39 so I ordered it. They gave me $10 off for a year so I only pay $29.

DSL:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/186026619.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Cable:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/186027103.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Not bad...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/187350674.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Go ahead, please laugh. For I'm rolling on the floor laughing. :cry:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/187353468.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/187354062.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/187354533.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

breathemetal
09-25-07, 07:16 PM
Someone do some research and find the fastest cable provider in Michigan for me. ;)