PDA

View Full Version : vista see 8800gts 256 mb solution ?


cefurkan
09-23-07, 11:47 AM
i need solution somebody opened a topic about this but i couldnt find it i searched a lot

msi 8800gts 320 mb
driver 163.69 whql

cefurkan
09-23-07, 12:10 PM
i need help :(

cefurkan
09-24-07, 12:08 PM
will somebody answer me

3DBrad
09-24-07, 06:28 PM
And?

320mb isn't all for vram, part of it is for physics.

cefurkan
09-24-07, 07:29 PM
And?

320mb isn't all for vram, part of it is for physics.

vista sees card 256 mb
and i get crappy performance
somebody managed to windows see 320mb
but i couldnt find that topic

cefurkan
09-27-07, 02:02 PM
up

wysiwyg
09-27-07, 02:24 PM
please stop spamming, and edit the posts, and try to type in clear sentences.

--------------

what memory, motherboard and CPU do you have also?

ATOJAR
09-27-07, 03:00 PM
I dont get it? does this only happen with the 320MB verisons?

spaceigg
09-27-07, 03:03 PM
so 64 mb differecne is making a huge performance drop? I dont think so..
post the rest of your system configuration if you want to get help.

XFX Support
09-27-07, 03:19 PM
Did you try applying the Vista Hotfixes? I have seen this before as it is Vista misreading the memory on the video card, however I havent seen this affect the performance of the video card.

cefurkan
09-27-07, 03:25 PM
well i made all update

here is my system


e4300 1800MHZ @ 3141 MHZ(349*9) || msi 8800 gts 320Mb 575/1700@660/2140 || ga 965p ds3p || Geil dual ddr 800@928 MHz 4.4.4.13 Latency || raid sata 1.1*2 ve 2.0=3*160 Gbyte || thermaltake 680 watt
3D mark 2003=37934, 2005=17642, 2006=11210 score 162.18 driver and xp sp 2
1 M pi testi 18.484 sn 32 M pi testi 16 min 45.343 sn xp sp2

3DBrad
09-27-07, 03:28 PM
Ok, still?

All of the vram advertised with any 8-series isn't all for vram, part of it is for physics.

cefurkan
09-27-07, 03:32 PM
Ok, still?

All of the vram advertised with any 8-series isn't all for vram, part of it is for physics.


what do u mean by this

and also my friend has 8800 ultra

he said that his wista was see his card 768 mb

right amount but at me it sees 256 mb :thumbdwn:

XFX Support
09-27-07, 03:45 PM
While the GPU is capable of physics computations, there is no memory specifically allocated for physics processing.

cefurkan
09-27-07, 04:14 PM
While the GPU is capable of physics computations, there is no memory specifically allocated for physics processing.


well so ?

i dont think so this explains why vista see my card 256 mb instead of 320m

ATOJAR
09-27-07, 04:16 PM
What does RivaTuner show your cards memory as?

XFX Support
09-27-07, 04:21 PM
well so ?

i dont think so this explains why vista see my card 256 mb instead of 320m

No but I did explain it before, this is a Vista issue that is sometimes resolved by the hotfixes:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938838

ATOJAR
09-27-07, 04:23 PM
SYMPTOMS
Windows Vista displays the incorrect dedicated video memory size for certain display adapters. The incorrect dedicated video memory size appears in the system display settings and in the Windows System Assessment tool (Winsat.exe).

This problem occurs if the dedicated video memory size is not a power of 2. For example, if a display adapter has 320 megabytes (MB) of dedicated video memory, Windows Vista shows that only 256 MB of dedicated video memory is available for the display adapter.

Sounds just like your problem, the above hotfix could sort it out for you! :rolleyes:

cefurkan
09-28-07, 12:33 AM
i already installed all updates and hot fixes :(

beardstroke
09-28-07, 01:16 AM
vista may see it as 256mb, but many games will see your full 320mb. it's still there.

cefurkan
09-28-07, 09:41 AM
i found the solution at last

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=238659&highlight=kb938838


thnx to XFX Support