PDA

View Full Version : Complete NOOB needs help...

callthecops
09-26-07, 01:34 AM
Ok. Like the title says, I know next to nothing when it comes to computer hardware. So please bear with my ignorance, i may sound stupid at times:(. anyways, here's my situation...
My dad just recently ordered a new graphics card for my comp. He said its the evga e-geforce 8800 gtx. Now all I want to do with that is to play some high-end games like bioshock, oblivion, and obviously crysis. None of that techie stuff like overclocking or whatnot.
I know some of the basic specs of my computer so I'll list them here.
motherboard (or mainboard or watever) ASUS m2a-vm
cpu amd athlon 64 x2 6000+
vista ultimate 64bit (genuine)
2gb ram
power supply (i am not sure but my case is called inwin z series)
ok so my question is, will the 8800 gtx work fine on my computer considering everything from the cpu to the motherboard to the power supply? o and btw my monitor is 17inches and my dad also said something about bottlenecking which i obviously dont know what it is (if someone could kindly explain to me what that means if bottlenecking even exists lol...)

thank you very much tech gurus. i appreciate any response.

buffbiff21
09-26-07, 01:42 AM
You may want to double check on the power supply. List the wattage output and the amperage ratings on the +12v rails.

Another thing, the word bottleneck is totally lame. I'm pretty sure your dad may have meant your X2 CPU will limit the card to a certain extent, but it will still kick ass, even without Allendale/Conroe/Kentsfield CPUs. Trust me.

ATOJAR
09-26-07, 01:48 AM
First off the PSU! .... if thats the psu that comes with the case i would say theres a 99% chance it wont have the juice to power the GTX! .... you need a good brand psu for a GTX, id say 550w - 600w at least with 30A on the 12V railings! ... I would say everything else looks ok!

buffbiff21
09-26-07, 02:47 AM
550-600 is overshooting a tad.